Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE-4.11.0: plasma-desktop crashes on startup
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:26 pm    Post subject: KDE-4.11.0: plasma-desktop crashes on startup Reply with quote

After updating from kde-4.10.5-r1 to kde-4.11.0 upon starting the DE (I use
startx, no kdm here) plasma-desktop immediately crashes leaving a black screen.
Fortunately yakuake still works so I can start plasma-desktop manually from the
konsole, whereby the desktop appears again and it works normally.
This happens consistently every time.

The same happens if I start kde from a new user with a clean home directory
only worst. i.e. black screen and empty taskbar. The taskbar remains empty
after starting plasma-desktop manually.

I rebuild again all $(qlist -IC dev-qt), kdelibs, libworkspace, plasma-workspace and
kdeplasma-addons to no avail.

Can anyone shed some light on this problem?
Shall I file a bug report?

P.S. I run an ~x86 system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Location: Cali - Colombia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 2:50 pm    Post subject: Re: KDE-4.11.0: plasma-desktop crashes on startup Reply with quote

Hello,

Does it occurs the same if you start your session from kdm?
_________________
abe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. The same thing happens if i start the session with kdm.
The kde crash handler reports plasma-desktop segmentation fault.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naschramon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Location: Aθήνα

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello
I have the same problem. This message returns the console after:

Code:
galex@pappous ~ $ plasma-desktop
:
Code:
QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""                                                                       
plasma-desktop(2585)/libplasma Plasma::isPluginVersionCompatible: unversioned plugin detected, may result in instability                                                                                     
QGraphicsLinearLayout::insertItem: cannot insert null item
link MoonMaster hasn't been detected!
galex@pappous ~ $ ========================>  3 0
plasma-desktop(2585)/kdecore (KConfigSkeleton) KCoreConfigSkeleton::writeConfig:
static bool QDeclarativeMetaType::isModule(const QByteArray&, int, int) Qt 4.7 import detected; please note that Qt 4.7 is directly reusable as QtQuick 1.x with no code changes. Continuing, but startup time will be slower.
plasma-desktop(2585)/kdecore (KConfigSkeleton) KCoreConfigSkeleton::writeConfig:
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/SONY____DVD_RW_AW_G170A_SONY_DVD_RW_AW_G170A" : property "Drive" does not exist
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/Floppy_Drive" : property "Drive" does not exist
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/ExcelStor_Technology_J8160S_PVB300Q409URKA" : property "Drive" does not exist
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/HL_DT_STDVD_RAM_GSA_H58N_HL_DT_STDVD_RAM_GSA_H58N" : property "Drive" does not exist
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/WDC_WD20EARX_00PASB0_WD_WCAZAE840719" : property "Drive" does not exist
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/Floppy_Drive" : property "DeviceNumber" does not exist
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/Floppy_Drive" : property "Device" does not exist
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/Floppy_Drive" : property "Table" does not exist
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/ExcelStor_Technology_J8160S_PVB300Q409URKA" : property "DeviceNumber" does not exist
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/WDC_WD20EARX_00PASB0_WD_WCAZAE840719" : property "DeviceNumber" does not exist
file:///usr/lib/kde4/imports/org/kde/plasma/components/SectionScroller.qml:103: TypeError: Result of expression 'listView' [null] is not an object.
file:///usr/lib/kde4/imports/org/kde/plasma/components/SectionScroller.qml:175: ReferenceError: Can't find variable: sectionsRepeater
file:///usr/lib/kde4/imports/org/kde/plasma/components/SectionScroller.qml:103: Error: Cannot assign [undefined] to QString
file:///usr/share/apps/plasma/plasmoids/notifier/contents/ui/devicenotifier.qml:224:13: QML QDeclarativeListView_QML_81: ÃÂ.....etc
link MoonMaster hasn't been detected!
galex@pappous ~ $ libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile                                                     
plasma-desktop(2585)/plasma StatusNotifierItemSource::refreshCallback: DBusMenu disabled for this application                                                                                                 
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/block_devices/fd0" : property "Name" does not exist                         
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/HL_DT_STDVD_RAM_GSA_H58N_HL_DT_STDVD_RAM_GSA_H58N" : property "DeviceNumber" does not exist                                                                                 
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/HL_DT_STDVD_RAM_GSA_H58N_HL_DT_STDVD_RAM_GSA_H58N" : property "Device" does not exist                                                                                       
plasma-desktop(2585) KSambaSharePrivate::testparmParamValue: We got some errors while running testparm "Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf                                                       
Error loading services.                                                                               
"                                                                                                     
plasma-desktop(2585) KSambaSharePrivate::findSmbConf: KSambaShare: Could not find smb.conf!           
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/SONY____DVD_RW_AW_G170A_SONY_DVD_RW_AW_G170A" : property "DeviceNumber" does not exist                                                                                       
"/org/freedesktop/UDisks2/drives/SONY____DVD_RW_AW_G170A_SONY_DVD_RW_AW_G170A" : property "Device" does not exist                                                                                             
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3                                                       
  Major opcode: 18 (X_ChangeProperty)                                                                 
  Resource id:  0x8a0e                                                                                                                               
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3                                                       
  Major opcode: 20 (X_GetProperty)                                                                     
  Resource id:  0x1c00012                                                                                                                                               
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 18 (X_ChangeProperty)
  Resource id:  0x886d
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 18 (X_ChangeProperty)
  Resource id:  0x886d
^C

And after Ctrl+C:
Code:
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 18 (X_ChangeProperty)
  Resource id:  0x8943
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 18 (X_ChangeProperty)
  Resource id:  0x88e7
plasma-desktop(2585)/plasma StatusNotifierItemSource::refreshCallback: DBusMenu disabled for this application

:(

I watch it :?
_________________
Not with so buried, I'm still alive. (Let's watch out)


Last edited by Naschramon on Sun Aug 18, 2013 5:47 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If plasma crashes and you end up with an empty black screen,
do not add or change anything.
Kill X (killall X) and put this in an executable in your ~/.kde4/Autostart/
Code:
#!/bin/bash
sleep 5
/usr/bin/plasma-desktop


This will retrieve the configuered desktop of an existing user.

You may need to adjust the sleep parameter to a higher/lower value.

Note. This worked for when starting KDE with startx. It is not tested with kdm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 2767
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

proteusx,
Doesn't seem to work with kdm, See my post here for another work-around that works with kdm on 32bit installs:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-967554.html
_________________
Main box- Gigabyte GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ rev.-4.0
Amd FX 8320, 3.5 GHz, 16GB GSkill DDR3 1866mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD 6570 2GB DDR3
Gentoo ~x86, ~amd64, glibc-2.19, gcc-4.9.0, kernel 3.16.1-gentoo (USE=experimental "native")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@wrc1944

Good research.

The tip from SUSE forum is a lot better.
It worked for me. No more segfaults.
In /usr/share/autostart/plasma-desktop.desktop, however, I set:
Code:
Exec=sleep 10 && plasma-desktop

it still works and startup is quicker.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 2767
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeh- I was wondering about that 30 sec. kdm screen startup wait. :roll:

Thanks for the tip
_________________
Main box- Gigabyte GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ rev.-4.0
Amd FX 8320, 3.5 GHz, 16GB GSkill DDR3 1866mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD 6570 2GB DDR3
Gentoo ~x86, ~amd64, glibc-2.19, gcc-4.9.0, kernel 3.16.1-gentoo (USE=experimental "native")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstorm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 2467
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please try that fix: https://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/112073/
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@genstorm

They suggest to change the line:
Code:
X-DBUS-StartupType=unique
to:
Code:
X-DBUS-StartupType=multi

I tried it but the problem persists.
I get the black screen and no task bar.
The crash reporter, however, did not pop up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another workaround without introducing delay in the startup.

Edit /usr/share /autostart/plasma-desktop.desktop.
Replace
Code:
Exec=plasma-desktop
with
Code:
Exec=LANG=C plasma-desktop

I tested it and it works.

Source:
https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=829298
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=481200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 2700
Location: Hamburg/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

proteusx wrote:
Another workaround without introducing delay in the startup.

Edit /usr/share /autostart/plasma-desktop.desktop.
Replace
Code:
Exec=plasma-desktop
with
Code:
Exec=LANG=C plasma-desktop

I tested it and it works.

Source:
https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=829298
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=481200
helped at a 32 bit stable Gentoo - Thx !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vespaman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Aug 2002
Posts: 253
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm. For me, none of the above suggestions work.
I tried
Exec=LANG=C plasma-desktop
Exec=sleep 10 && plasma-desktop
Exec=sleep 20 && plasma-desktop

and
X-DBUS-StartupType=multi

and combination
Exec=sleep 10 && plasma-desktop
X-DBUS-StartupType=multi

Plasma crashes, and then restarts, and then crashes again.

But if I then start plasma-desktop from one of the open shells, it works. :(

This is on my ~x86 laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 2700
Location: Hamburg/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just for the record: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=322283 and just try this patch : https://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/112241/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum