Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Optimus new nvidia drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2957
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great guide, GenBlack. Bookmarked for when I upgrade video-cards :-)

Can I ask, would you mind changing use of nano to nano -w as it's important to get newcomers who are wrestling with an install into using safe commands. It means nano won't truncate long lines.
Dr.Willy wrote:
Which in turn means until you log in your screen is black.

That's a bit worrying. Is that a temporary issue, or does something need to happen in early init/initrd?

I know Nvidia warn about anything other than default console, which people with wider experience have said doesn't matter, but perhaps it might with newer stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jms.gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dcd94 wrote:

Hi got the same kernel as you I found out about my previously error and wrote wrong bus id and now I got the same error as you but I don't have VGA_SWITCHEROO built in


Well removing VGA_SWITCHEROO didn't have any impact (this would have been too easy).
Nevertheless from what I read I would advise removing it when using proprietary drivers.

Well I wonder if the following has anything to do with my problem and maybe yours my dear fellow dcd94.
from end of dmesg
Code:

[   10.479141] vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device
[   10.792870] vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device
[   82.715413] vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device
[   82.767100] vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device

Indeed would this have anything to do with the fact that I have
Code:
lspci | grep 'VGA\|NVIDIA'
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF117M [GeForce 610M/710M / GT 620M/625M/630M/720M] (rev a1)

NVIDIA appear has 3D controller and not something like VGA compatible controller:
?
I read something about a patch for vgaarb to allow it to recognize 3D controller. I don't know if this has been implemented in kernel.

I don't know if this is a good lead or not.

Maybe dcd94 if you can post the result of lspci | grep 'VGA\|NVIDIA' , check if your demsg got something like " vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device".
Also
If someone with a NVIDIA card showing up as 3D controller in lspci result got it working using proprietary optimus config from NVIDIA I appreciate if you can do a quick post to let me know that this is not an issue.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrzejk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jms.gentoo wrote:


If someone with a NVIDIA card showing up as 3D controller in lspci result got it working using proprietary optimus config from NVIDIA I appreciate if you can do a quick post to let me know that this is not an issue.

thanks


My lspci | grep VGA is looking like this:
Code:

lspci | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108M [GeForce GT 540M] (rev a1)

and my dmesg | grep vgaarb is looking like this:
Code:

dmesg | grep vgaarb
[   12.218381] vgaarb: device changed decodes: PCI:0000:01:00.0,olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=none:owns=none
[  129.701637] vgaarb: device changed decodes: PCI:0000:01:00.0,olddecodes=none,decodes=none:owns=none



But I run into exactly same issue as you did, xorg is seagfoulting in the very same moment, my Xorg.0.log is looking almost the same as yours one.
Also on amd64 arch. If anyone know how to deal with this please let me know.
_________________
Dell XPS Gentoo 3.12.2 GCC 4.8.2 KDE 4.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr.Willy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 353
Location: NRW, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

steveL wrote:
Dr.Willy wrote:
Which in turn means until you log in your screen is black.

That's a bit worrying. Is that a temporary issue, or does something need to happen in early init/initrd?

What issue? You just need to run the xrandr commands. Until you do your screen is black.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrzejk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dr.Willy wrote:
What issue? You just need to run the xrandr commands. Until you do your screen is black.

I wrote clearly segfault, after startx, the X server is crushing in the very same moment that jms.gentoo reported earlier.
_________________
Dell XPS Gentoo 3.12.2 GCC 4.8.2 KDE 4.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr.Willy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 353
Location: NRW, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andrzejk wrote:
Dr.Willy wrote:
What issue? You just need to run the xrandr commands. Until you do your screen is black.

I wrote clearly segfault, after startx, the X server is crushing in the very same moment that jms.gentoo reported earlier.

What exactly makes you think I was responding to you …?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrzejk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dr.Willy wrote:
What exactly makes you think I was responding to you …?

I wrote "same issue" just above your msg, and you asked What issue? :D :D. My mistake srry.
_________________
Dell XPS Gentoo 3.12.2 GCC 4.8.2 KDE 4.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jms.gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well I am not sure what could be the cause.
I don't think the 3D controller in showing in lspci has anything to do with that.

andrzejk you have a different nvidia card(GeForce GT 540M vsGT 620M ) than me and a different intel VGA contoller (second generation vs 3 generation).
but we both have the same X segfault
We should have something in common that make X segfault but what?

I think this should have to do with a config option somewhere (kernel?)or a wrong set-up from our part.

laptop is an asus u47vc
I use EFI

Code:
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-base/xorg-server-1.14.1.901:0/1.14.1.901  USE="ipv6 nptl suid udev xorg -dmx -doc -kdrive -minimal (-selinux) -static-libs -tslib -xnest -xvfb" 0 kB
emerge -p @x11-module-rebuild
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev-2.8.0
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel-2.21.9
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-drivers/xf86-input-synaptics-1.7.1
[ebuild   R    ] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-319.23
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-drivers/xf86-video-modesetting-0.7.0
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-drivers/xf86-video-vesa-2.3.2-r1


/etc/X11/xorg.conf
/root/.xinitrc

/usr/src/linux/.config
emerge --info
I also have
Code:
####ABI_X86
ABI_X86="64 32"
####for  X ##############
VIDEO_CARDS="intel vesa nvidia"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
#INPUT_DEVICES=" evdev keyboard mouse synaptic"


Something to to with VGA?
Code:
 grep VGA /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_VGA_ARB=y
CONFIG_VGA_ARB_MAX_GPUS=6
# CONFIG_VGA_SWITCHEROO is not set
# CONFIG_VGASTATE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SVGALIB is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VGA16 is not set
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=128
# CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_VGA16 is not set
# CONFIG_USB_SISUSBVGA is not set

with Frambuffer(not using UVESA)?
Code:

CONFIG_FB=y
# CONFIG_FB_DDC is not set
CONFIG_FB_BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
# CONFIG_FB_CFB_REV_PIXELS_IN_BYTE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SYS_FILLRECT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SYS_COPYAREA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SYS_IMAGEBLIT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_FOREIGN_ENDIAN is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SYS_FOPS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_WMT_GE_ROPS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SVGALIB is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MACMODES is not set
# CONFIG_FB_BACKLIGHT is not set
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y
CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING=y
# CONFIG_FB_VGA16 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_UVESA is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_FB_EFI=y



with EFI (I have CONFIG_FB_EFI)?
Code:
CONFIG_EFI_PARTITION=y
CONFIG_EFI=y
CONFIG_EFI_STUB=y
CONFIG_FB_EFI=y
CONFIG_EFI_VARS=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrzejk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine configuration is looking like this:
Xorg:
xorg.conf

Kernel:
.config

Emerge --info:
emerge --info

If someone with working configuration could paste his kernel config we could then diff it, to find the difference
_________________
Dell XPS Gentoo 3.12.2 GCC 4.8.2 KDE 4.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jms.gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andrzejk for your xorg you did try theses pci
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Driver "nvidia"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
#    Option          "UseEDID"               "off"
EndSection

Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier "intel"
    Driver "modesetting"
    BusID       "PCI:00:02:00"
EndSection


Also are your sure you blacklisted nouveau nv, and other potentialy conflicting modules in your kernel as you have
Code:
 VIDEO_CARDS="fbdev intel i915 i965 vesa nvidia nouveau nv modesetting"


As for me I didn't have modesetting in VIDEO_CARDS will give it a go.

Also andrzejk by the way what the your output of lspci?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrzejk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jms.gentoo wrote:
andrzejk for your xorg you did try theses pci

Also andrzejk by the way what the your output of lspci?


same result - same seagfoult with "need to create shared pixmap" at the end.

My lscpi:
lspci

Other nvidia drivers are blacklisted.
_________________
Dell XPS Gentoo 3.12.2 GCC 4.8.2 KDE 4.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2957
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dr.Willy wrote:
What issue? You just need to run the xrandr commands. Until you do your screen is black.

So your screen is black from startup til you run a command?

That issue, you numpty ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joeklow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2011
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Much to my disappointment, randr support thus multi-monitor support is awful in these drivers.

Running 3.9.1 kernel, 319.23 drivers, after selecting nvidia via .xinitrc, I can't switch back to intel:

Code:
>> xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 2
Provider 0: id: 0x2b0 cap: 0x1, Source Output crtcs: 0 outputs: 0 associated providers: 1 name:NVIDIA-0
Provider 1: id: 0x45 cap: 0x2, Sink Output crtcs: 2 outputs: 4 associated providers: 1 name:modesetting


Code:
>> xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting modesetting
X Error of failed request:  BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  139 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  35 ()
  Value in failed request:  0x45
  Serial number of failed request:  16
  Current serial number in output stream:  17



Also, I can't enable external display. The following worked flawlessly with Intel, but doesn't work now:
Code:
xrandr --output VGA-0 --right-of LVDS-0 --mode 1360x768


TwinView is greyed in nvidia-settings (which attempts to generate a weird pre-optimus aged xorg.conf for static setups), so I have no options to connect the display, and I *suspect* that it still would require to restart X server to change display config with NVIDIA graphics -- so bad for the laptop mode.
_________________
Commit code back to ALSA, save your latency and CPU: rm /usr/bin/pulseaudio;touch /usr/bin/pulseaudio;chattr +i /usr/bin/pulseaudio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
legacy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi
also in my mac mini (linux3.8.13) i see this

# lspci
Code:

00:00.0 Host bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 Host Bridge (rev b1)
00:00.1 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 Memory Controller (rev b1)
00:03.0 ISA bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 LPC Bridge (rev b2)
00:03.1 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 Memory Controller (rev b1)
00:03.2 SMBus: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 SMBus (rev b1)
00:03.3 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 Memory Controller (rev b1)
00:03.4 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 Memory Controller (rev b1)
00:03.5 Co-processor: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 Co-processor (rev b1)
00:04.0 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev b1)
00:04.1 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev b1)
00:06.0 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev b1)
00:06.1 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev b1)
00:08.0 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 High Definition Audio (rev b1)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 PCI Bridge (rev b1)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 Ethernet (rev b1)
00:0b.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 SATA Controller (rev b1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
00:15.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
00:16.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C79 [GeForce 9400] (rev b1)
03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4321 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 05)
04:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): LSI Corporation FW643 [TrueFire] PCIe 1394b Controller (rev 07)


# lspci | grep VGA
Code:

02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C79 [GeForce 9400] (rev b1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mac Tzu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2007
Posts: 42
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Guys,

I need a quick hand trying to get this working.
I am running macbook pro retina with GT 650M

this is my xorg log
Code:

        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
[    10.237] Initializing built-in extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
[    10.383] (EE) Screen 1 deleted because of no matching config section.
[    10.850] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to assign any connected display devices to X screen 0
[    10.868] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failing initialization of X screen 0
[    10.902] (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.
[    10.902] (EE)
[    10.902] (EE) no screens found(EE)
[    10.902] (EE)
[    10.902] (EE) Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
[    10.902] (EE)
[    10.918] (EE) Server terminated with error (1). Closing log file.


This is the xorg.conf I used
Code:

   Section "ServerLayout"
     Identifier "layout"
     Screen 0 "nvidia"
     Inactive "intel"

 EndSection
 
 Section "Device"
     Identifier "nvidia"
     Driver "nvidia"
     BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
 EndSection
 
 Section "Screen"
     Identifier "nvidia"
     Device "nvidia"
     # Uncomment this line if your computer has no display devices connected to
     # the NVIDIA GPU.  Leave it commented if you have display devices
     # connected to the NVIDIA GPU that you would like to use.
     #Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none"                                                                                                         
 EndSection                                                                                                                                     
                                                                                                                                               
 Section "Device"                                                                                                                               
     Identifier "intel"                                                                                                                         
     Driver "modesetting"                                                                                                                       
#     BusID "PCI:0:2:0"                                                                                                                         
 EndSection                                                                                                                                     
                                                                                                                                               
 Section "Screen"                                                                                                                               
     Identifier "intel"                                                                                                                         
     Device "intel"                                                                                                                             
 EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holysword
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 808
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2013 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jms.gentoo wrote:

If someone with a NVIDIA card showing up as 3D controller in lspci result got it working using proprietary optimus config from NVIDIA I appreciate if you can do a quick post to let me know that this is not an issue.

thanks


Here:
Code:
jarvis holysword # lspci | grep 'VGA\|NVIDIA'                                                                                             
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 06)
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK208M [GeForce GT 740M] (rev a1)
jarvis holysword #             


Just got it working (even though you already know its not particular to the 3D controller thing).

Do you have this
Code:
Device Drivers --->
  <*> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) --->
    <*>  Intel 440LX/BX/GX, I8xx and E7x05 chipset support
  <*> Intel 8xx/9xx/G3x/G4x/HD Graphics
  [*]   Enable modesetting on intel by default

in your kernel?
_________________
"Nolite arbitrari quia venerim mittere pacem in terram non veni pacem mittere sed gladium" (Yeshua Ha Mashiach)
Who will save us from pulseaudio and systemd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Witos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

andrzejk
jms.gentoo

Did you figure out how to get rid of segfault? I have exactly the same with the GF650M.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Witos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've managed to solve crash on my gentoo:
X: 1.14.3
kernel: 3.10.7-gentoo
xrandr: 1.4.1
nvidia-drivers: 331.13
xf86-video-modesetting: 0.8.0

Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout"
    Screen 0 "nvidia"
    Inactive "intel"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Driver "nvidia"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Device "nvidia"
    Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "intel"
    Driver "modesetting"
    BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "intel"
    Device "intel"
EndSection

and ~/.xinitrc
Code:

xrandr --setprovideroutputsource 0x46 0x2b4
xrandr --output LVDS-0 --off
xrandr --auto
exec startxfce4


Starting X using startx, not /etc/init.d/xdm[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joeklow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2011
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Black screen returned with =nvidia-drivers-331.13.

xorg.conf:
Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout"
    Screen  0 "nvidia"
    Inactive "intel"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Driver "nvidia"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Device "nvidia"
    Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
    Option      "TwinView"  "on"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "intel"
    Driver "modesetting"
    BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "intel"
    Device "intel"
EndSection


.xinitrc
Code:

...
xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0
...


The configuration above worked for ~325.08.

X: 1.14.3-r1
libXext: 1.3.2
_________________
Commit code back to ALSA, save your latency and CPU: rm /usr/bin/pulseaudio;touch /usr/bin/pulseaudio;chattr +i /usr/bin/pulseaudio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Witos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

joeklow

Try replacing Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none" with Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joeklow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2011
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Witos wrote:
joeklow

Try replacing Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none" with Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration"


Black screen.
Code:

Section "Module"
    Load "fb"
    Load    "extmod"
    SubSection  "extmod"
       Option    "omit xfree86-dga"
    EndSubSection
    Load    "i2c"
    Load    "ddc"
    Load    "vbe"
    Load    "dri"
    Load    "glx"
    Load    "dbe"
    Load    "bitmap"
    Load    "freetype"
    Load    "synaptics"
    Load    "record"
EndSection


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout"
    Screen  0 "nvidia"
    Inactive "intel"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Driver "nvidia"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Device "nvidia"
    Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "intel"
    Driver "modesetting"
    BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "intel"
    Device "intel"
EndSection

Any suggestions?

(it's laptop, video @ LVDS-0)
_________________
Commit code back to ALSA, save your latency and CPU: rm /usr/bin/pulseaudio;touch /usr/bin/pulseaudio;chattr +i /usr/bin/pulseaudio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Witos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

joeklow

Try in your .xinitrc:

xrandr --setprovideroutputsource 0x45 0x2b0
xrandr --output LVDS-0 --off
xrandr --auto
exec startxfce4 (or other desktop environment)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joeklow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2011
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Witos wrote:
joeklow

Try in your .xinitrc:

xrandr --setprovideroutputsource 0x45 0x2b0
xrandr --output LVDS-0 --off
xrandr --auto
exec startxfce4 (or other desktop environment)


no effect (blackscreen).
_________________
Commit code back to ALSA, save your latency and CPU: rm /usr/bin/pulseaudio;touch /usr/bin/pulseaudio;chattr +i /usr/bin/pulseaudio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Witos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joeklow, please post your /var/log/X.0.log of your startx with NVIDIA enabled,maybe I'll figure out sth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joeklow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2011
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Witos wrote:
Joeklow, please post your /var/log/X.0.log of your startx with NVIDIA enabled,maybe I'll figure out sth

Thanks, but I got it already solved.. took few emerge -uDn's, I guess.
nvidia-drivers-331.13,

xorg.conf - note, no modules section here!
Quote:

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout"
Screen 0 "nvidia"
Inactive "intel"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "nvidia"
Device "nvidia"
Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "intel"
Driver "modesetting"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "intel"
Device "intel"
EndSection


.xinitrc:
Code:

...
        xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0
        xrandr --setprovideroutputsource 0x45 0x2b0
        xrandr --output LVDS-0 --on
        xrandr --auto
...

_________________
Commit code back to ALSA, save your latency and CPU: rm /usr/bin/pulseaudio;touch /usr/bin/pulseaudio;chattr +i /usr/bin/pulseaudio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum