Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Gentoo on HP ProLiant DL360 G5
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 1:25 am    Post subject: Installing Gentoo on HP ProLiant DL360 G5 Reply with quote

Hi,
I am having problems installing gentoo on my server. I keep getting a kernel panic after reboot. I am following the "Gentoo Linux x86 Quick Install Guide" just with the amd64 stage 3.
The server has a HP Smart Array p400i Raid controller with a raid 6 setup. I set the module "Compaq Smart Array 5xxx support" to be built-in the kernel, its under block devices in the menuconfig. If you need the debug info off the screen when the kernel panic's let me know, I don't want to type it all if I don't have to.
I think it is one of 2 things. Either I have the wrong driver module selected for the raid controller. Or I have the wrong device path set in the fstab and/or my grub.conf
Here is my fstab:
Code:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed); notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# The root filesystem should have a pass number of either 0 or 1.
# All other filesystems should have a pass number of 0 or greater than 1.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>          <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/cciss/c0d0p1               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime  1 2
/dev/cciss/c0d0p3               /               ext3            noatime         0 1
/dev/cciss/c0d0p2               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,ro       0 0
/dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto          0 0

And here is my grub.conf:
Code:
# This is a sample grub.conf for use with Genkernel, per the Gentoo handbook
# http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10#doc_chap2
# If you are not using Genkernel and you need help creating this file, you
# should consult the handbook. Alternatively, consult the grub.conf.sample that
# is included with the Grub documentation.

default 0
timeout 10
#splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo 3.8.13
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-3.8.13-gentoo root=/dev/cciss/c0d0p3

#title Gentoo Linux 2.6.24-r5
#root (hd0,0)
#kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.24-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/sda3
#initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.24-gentoo-r5

# vim:ft=conf:


What could be the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 4399

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We would agree to see a screencap/photo/picture of the screen if you want saved your fingers :)

Typical error when :
Drivers missing : no disk and partition are shown in the error
Wrong partition/disk/mistake in grub... : partitions and drives are output in the error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, sorry its been a few days. Been busy at work. Here is a link to a picture of the kernel panic screen:
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0BzwQauhvZ5ZoUDlvS242N1otYTg&usp=sharing&tid=0BzwQauhvZ5ZoNFVUWmJQdUNBdHc
I am assuming it is a driver issue since the kernel panic does not show any disk or partition. What other drivers would I need, or which one is the right one?

Everything works with the live cd. I am using system rescue cd v3.4.1 (network cards didn't work with gentoo live cd)
the lspci output is:
Code:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 5000P Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev b1)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset PCI Express x4 Port 2 (rev b1)
00:03.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset PCI Express x4 Port 3 (rev b1)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset PCI Express x8 Port 4-5 (rev b1)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset PCI Express x4 Port 5 (rev b1)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset PCI Express x4 Port 6 (rev b1)
00:07.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset PCI Express x4 Port 7 (rev b1)
00:10.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset FSB Registers (rev b1)
00:10.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset FSB Registers (rev b1)
00:10.2 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset FSB Registers (rev b1)
00:11.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset Reserved Registers (rev b1)
00:13.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset Reserved Registers (rev b1)
00:15.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset FBD Registers (rev b1)
00:16.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 5000 Series Chipset FBD Registers (rev b1)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 631xESB/632xESB/3100 Chipset UHCI USB Controller #1 (rev 09)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 631xESB/632xESB/3100 Chipset UHCI USB Controller #2 (rev 09)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 631xESB/632xESB/3100 Chipset UHCI USB Controller #3 (rev 09)
00:1d.3 USB controller: Intel Corporation 631xESB/632xESB/3100 Chipset UHCI USB Controller #4 (rev 09)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 631xESB/632xESB/3100 Chipset EHCI USB2 Controller (rev 09)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev d9)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 631xESB/632xESB/3100 Chipset LPC Interface Controller (rev 09)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 631xESB/632xESB IDE Controller (rev 09)
01:03.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI ES1000 (rev 02)
01:04.0 System peripheral: Compaq Computer Corporation Integrated Lights Out Controller (rev 03)
01:04.2 System peripheral: Compaq Computer Corporation Integrated Lights Out  Processor (rev 03)
01:04.4 USB controller: Hewlett-Packard Company Integrated Lights-Out Standard Virtual USB Controller
01:04.6 IPMI SMIC interface: Hewlett-Packard Company Integrated Lights-Out Standard KCS Interface
02:00.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom EPB PCI-Express to PCI-X Bridge (rev c3)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme II BCM5708 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 12)
04:00.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom EPB PCI-Express to PCI-X Bridge (rev c3)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme II BCM5708 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 12)
06:00.0 RAID bus controller: Hewlett-Packard Company Smart Array Controller (rev 03)
09:00.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6311ESB/6321ESB PCI Express Upstream Port (rev 01)
09:00.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6311ESB/6321ESB PCI Express to PCI-X Bridge (rev 01)
0a:00.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6311ESB/6321ESB PCI Express Downstream Port E1 (rev 01)
0a:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6311ESB/6321ESB PCI Express Downstream Port E2 (rev 01)
0a:02.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6311ESB/6321ESB PCI Express Downstream Port E3 (rev 01)

and the lsmod output is:
Code:

Module                  Size  Used by
video                  16669  0
i5000_edac             12438  0
edac_core              31525  3 i5000_edac
iTCO_wdt               16534  0
iTCO_vendor_support    12640  1 iTCO_wdt
ipmi_si                33077  0
serio_raw              12440  0
i5k_amb                12438  0
coretemp               12441  0
ipmi_msghandler        34087  1 ipmi_si
hpilo                  12438  0
shpchp                 29606  0
hpwdt                  12438  0
microcode              20803  0
raid10                 32930  0
raid456                53468  0
async_raid6_recov      12506  1 raid456
async_pq               12535  2 raid456,async_raid6_recov
raid6_pq               82623  2 async_pq,async_raid6_recov
async_xor              12482  3 async_pq,raid456,async_raid6_recov
xor                    12426  1 async_xor
async_memcpy           12418  2 raid456,async_raid6_recov
async_tx               12625  5 async_pq,raid456,async_xor,async_memcpy,async_raid6_recov
raid1                  28847  0
raid0                  16516  0
multipath              12391  0
linear                 12391  0
hpsa                   37116  0
radeon                714912  1
ttm                    54082  1 radeon
drm_kms_helper         26398  1 radeon
drm                   183652  3 ttm,drm_kms_helper,radeon
i2c_algo_bit           12478  1 radeon
i2c_core               22165  4 drm,drm_kms_helper,i2c_algo_bit,radeon
bnx2                   65814  0
cciss                  94445  0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any ideas? Anyone? :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvaterlaus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 157
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have selected the right driver for your hardware. Since you have configured it as a module, do you use an initrd? If not, you have to use one which includes the module for the array controller. If you don't want to use an initrd, compile the driver in to the kernel (not as a module). This is needed, because the kernel needs the driver to mount your partitions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
root=/dev/cciss/c0d0p3


Verify that this is correct, make sure that the relevant file systems and RAID options in the kernel are built-in (=Y) and that you installed and thus replaced the kernel.

Also make sure that you have CONFIG_TMPFS=Y, CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=Y and CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=Y to ensure /dev is actually properly mounted.

Failure to mount root block (as shown in your panic) is often the result of a missing built in option...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I got it to boot successfully. But it worked out a little strange. I made sure CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=Y and CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=Y were set (They were not). I couldn't find CONFIG_TMPFS=Y, but I compiled and rebooted anyway. After rebooting, I had a new error. It said I set a invalid root and the kernel panicked again. It said my choices were:
cciss/c0d0p1
cciss/c0d0p2
cciss/c0d0p3

So now there was something wrong with my grub.conf? I had seen on a different thread that if you replace the / with a ! in the dev/cciss/c0d0p3 it would fix it. I tried it before with no luck, but I figured... why not, I'll try it again.
This is my new grub.conf that worked:
Code:

# This is a sample grub.conf for use with Genkernel, per the Gentoo handbook
# http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10#doc_chap2
# If you are not using Genkernel and you need help creating this file, you
# should consult the handbook. Alternatively, consult the grub.conf.sample that
# is included with the Grub documentation.

default 0
timeout 10
#splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo 3.8.13
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-3.8.13-gentoo root=/dev/cciss!c0d0p3

#title Gentoo Linux 2.6.24-r5
#root (hd0,0)
#kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.24-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/sda3
#initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.24-gentoo-r5

# vim:ft=conf:


Why on earth does a ! make it work. What is changing the / to a ! supposed to signify? I would very much like to know this for future reference.

NOW though I have a different issue. I don't know if it still falls in this thread, I assume it does, its still a problem with my install.
The problems now is my network cards are not recognized. They are Broadcom Netextreme II and the module for them is bnx2. I made it built-in the kernel (I also tried it as a module). But when I boot, a error fly's by that "interface eth0 does not exist". And ifconfig just shows the lo interface.
When I enter lsmod it lists nothing
And I noticed in my lspci that it has a entry:
Code:

02:00.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom EPB PCI-Express to PCI-X Bridge (rev c3)

I wonder if I need a module for that as well, what module would it be?
Or if that's not the problem what is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
czytom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got the same issue after upgrading kernel to version 3.8.13. Replacing / to ! works in my case too. Probably there are some undocumented changes in cciss driver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I found my problem with the network interfaces on the server. Looks like bug #377865 is still active.

I start my server with the 64 bit Gentoo minimal cd(32bit minimal cd has the same results). No network interfaces are shown by ifconfig (besides lo)
This was all done with the minimal live cd.
I type:
Code:

modprobe bnx2

With no output.
Then I typed "dmesg | grep bnx2" and this is the output:
Code:

[52.900601] bnx2: can't load firmware file "bnx2/bnx2-mips-06-6.2.3.fw"
[52.901212] bnx2: can't load firmware file "bnx2/bnx2-mips-06-6.2.3.fw"

I looked in the /lib/firmware/bnx2 folder on the live cd and it shows the firmware files
Code:

bnx2-mips-06-6.2.1.fw
bnx2-mips-06-6.2.1a.fw

So it is trying to load the wrong firmware?

Whatever the problem is, I think it is transferring to my installation. What do I need to install or add to make the interfaces work? Where can I find the right firmware?
And how do I re-open a bug if that applies?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6710
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge linux-firmware


ls /lib/firmware/bnx2
bnx2-mips-06-4.6.16.fw bnx2-mips-09-6.2.1a.fw
bnx2-mips-06-5.0.0.j3.fw bnx2-mips-09-6.2.1b.fw
bnx2-mips-06-5.0.0.j6.fw bnx2-rv2p-06-4.6.16.fw
bnx2-mips-06-6.0.15.fw bnx2-rv2p-06-5.0.0.j3.fw
bnx2-mips-06-6.2.1.fw bnx2-rv2p-06-6.0.15.fw
bnx2-mips-06-6.2.3.fw bnx2-rv2p-09-4.6.15.fw
bnx2-mips-09-4.6.17.fw bnx2-rv2p-09-5.0.0.j10.fw
bnx2-mips-09-5.0.0.j15.fw bnx2-rv2p-09-5.0.0.j3.fw
bnx2-mips-09-5.0.0.j3.fw bnx2-rv2p-09-6.0.17.fw
bnx2-mips-09-5.0.0.j9.fw bnx2-rv2p-09ax-5.0.0.j10.fw
bnx2-mips-09-6.0.17.fw bnx2-rv2p-09ax-5.0.0.j3.fw
bnx2-mips-09-6.2.1.fw bnx2-rv2p-09ax-6.0.17.fw
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, "emerge linux-firmware" fixed the error in dmesg. But ifconfig still lists only the lo interface. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6710
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ifconfig -a
?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh my freaking god. :evil:
here is the output of ifconfig -a:
Code:

enp3s0: flags=4098<broadcast,multicast> mtu 1500
     ether 00:1c:c4:a9:4f:62
     RX...
     RX...
     TX...
     TX...

enp5s0: flags=4098<broadcast,multicast> mtu 1500
     ether 00:1c:c4:a9:4f:5e
     RX...
     RX...
     TX...
     TX...

lo:  the usual

sit0: flags=128<NOARP> mtu 1480
     sit txqueuelen 0 (ipv6-in-ipv4)
     RX...
     RX...
     TX...
     TX...

I would like to apologize before hand as this has me a little annoyed...
Why the hell does Gentoo change the wording for the interfaces. The MAC addresses for enp3s0 and enp5s0 match, so they are the interfaces. I had this happen before when a ide hard drive controller was at /dev/hda in the live cd, and then it was /dev/sda in the system. This seems like a issue that should be fixed...

Now how the heck do I reconfigure my system for the different interface name? Everything works if I manually configure the network. But now what do I have to change to make it start at boot? I went through the "Configure networking" section of the Gentoo quick install, I would think that would do it, but when I enter: "rc-update add net.enp3s0 default" it says the service does not exist?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6710
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
touch /etc/udev/rules.d/80-net-name-slot.rules
to create a blank file which will tell udev to leave the interface names alone. then reboot and look for the kernel named interfaces. you must remember that linux is produced by a herd of cats.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you to everyone on this thread. Donahue, the command "touch /etc/udev/rules.d/80-net-name-slot.rules" did the trick. I changed all my config files back to eth0 and rebooted and I now have a working ssh connection to my server.
I think I should be all set now.
Thanks again. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aquabear
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jul 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 10:26 am    Post subject: Bug on Live CD with this issue Reply with quote

This post has final helped me get the livecd to work. install-amd64-minimal-20130725.iso does not have the correct version of the file. I did a copy of one of the older versions to get me going.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum