Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot burn DVD+Rs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1529
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2013 7:16 pm    Post subject: Cannot burn DVD+Rs Reply with quote

Hi,

I recently replaced a faulty DVD+RW with a new DVD+/-RW DL from Samsung. It is recognized and I have burned a single layer DVD with it. Anyway, here is the error I am getting:

Code:

$ growisofs -dvd-compat -Z /dev/sr1=dvd.iso
Executing 'builtin_dd if=dvd.iso of=/dev/sr1 obs=32k seek=0'
/dev/sr1: splitting layers at 1892800 blocks
:-[ SEND DVD+R DOUBLE LAYER RECORDING INFORMATION failed with SK=3h/POWER CALIBRATION AREA ERROR]: Input/output error


The DVDs in question are Verbatin 8x speed. I have tried to slow down the burn speed, but that doesn't work, either.

Any help would be appreciated.

Best,

Alex


Last edited by evoweiss on Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1529
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Power calibration area error when burning dual layer DVD Reply with quote

Update on this... the problem is still around, though it was not just dual layer DVDs.

It's a new drive, so doubt it's dust, and my old one worked fine until it gave up the ghost.

What is going on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1529
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yet another update, also in the hope that somebody will answer... I can burn CD-ROMs but not DVD roms. It's a fairly new burner, too.

Help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 2471

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe these things have multple laser diodes for the different types of reading/burning. If so, it's fully possible that you would be able to do CDs but not DVDs. It's also entirely possible that the read and write devices are different. Assuming this is true, it's entirely possible for only one particular mode to fail.

Can you try it on a Windows or Mac - one of the "approved solutions"? If it fails there they will be more likely to accept a return.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2284
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might google the particular brand of dvds that you are trying to burn with the model of dvd burner and see if others are having problems.
I've seen reports (in the past) that some burners didn't like some manf's dvds (even name brand).

Edit to add: sometimes companies like samsung will put out new firmware for their burners, you might check on that also.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31878
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

depontius is correct.

There is a 'cluster of lasers in the read write head. They are all formed on the same piece of semiconductor and share the same optics.
There is usually a single read laser that covers everything and a write laser per dot size.

The lasers are not eye safe and most of them are invisible too. Don't even think of operating a open optical drive.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1529
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all,

Thanks for your insights. Does it help to know that the computer itself is fairly old (c. 2002) and I believe the drive was connected via an old style ribbon cable? In other words, might something be wrong in a kernel setting?

Best,

Alex

NeddySeagoon wrote:
depontius is correct.

There is a 'cluster of lasers in the read write head. They are all formed on the same piece of semiconductor and share the same optics.
There is usually a single read laser that covers everything and a write laser per dot size.

The lasers are not eye safe and most of them are invisible too. Don't even think of operating a open optical drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31878
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

evoweiss,

That only matters if you are running an equally old kernel :)

dmesg should show
Code:
[    1.952184] sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 40x/40x writer dvd-ram cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray

The -mmc is the important bit. The rest is info about your drive.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1529
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
evoweiss,

That only matters if you are running an equally old kernel :)

dmesg should show
Code:
[    1.952184] sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 40x/40x writer dvd-ram cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray

The -mmc is the important bit. The rest is info about your drive.


Here's the relevant stuff in dmesg

Code:

 [    1.312739] ata2.00: ATAPI: LITEON  DVD-ROM LTD163, GDHG, max UDMA/33
[    1.312906] ata2.01: ATAPI: SAMSUNG DVDRW, PS01, max UDMA/66
[    1.364906] scsi 1:0:0:0: CD-ROM            LITEON   DVD-ROM LTD163   GDHG PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[    1.369433] scsi 1:0:1:0: CD-ROM            SAMSUNG  DVDRW SH-S222A   PS01 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[    1.366049] sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 0x/48x cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
[    1.375469] sr1: scsi3-mmc drive: 48x/48x writer cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray


Kernel is up to date :-).

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31878
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

evoweiss,

Long shot ...
Code:

[    1.364906] scsi 1:0:0:0: CD-ROM            LITEON   DVD-ROM LTD163   GDHG PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[    1.369433] scsi 1:0:1:0: CD-ROM            SAMSUNG  DVDRW SH-S222A   PS01 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
shows you have a DVD ROM (Read only device) and a writer on the same IDE channel.

Maybe you or the kernel are getting them mixed up. Does the writer work if you unplug the LITEON ?

Maybe the kernel is confused by the master/slave jumpering.
If you use a 40 wire ribbon cable you must jumper one drive as Master, the other as Slave.
If you use an 80 wire ribbon cable then cable select might work. It might not too. It must be supported bf the motherboard and both drives. Further, both ends of an 80 wire IDE cable look the same but there is a correct way to fit them.
Look at tho two end connectors, then down the ribbon. The end that goes to a drive has one conductor cut. This is the Master, the other end is the Motherboard, the middle being the Slave.
This conductor is not fitted in 40 wire ribbons.

Just because you have an 80 wire coble does not mean the motherboard supports it. Your DVD-ROM may not as it only does UDMA-33. So check the ribbon is fitted the right way round, jumper the drive at the end of the cable Master and the one in the middle as slave.

Lastly, an IDE bus runs as fast as the slowest device, so you DVD-RW will only run at UDMA-33 but its capable of UDMA-66
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1529
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Neddy,

I won't be able to get to this, probably until January as I'll be out of town until then. Nonetheless, here's all I know of the present set-up.

The drive that's failing is a replacement for the slave drive. I didn't change the cable or how it was plugged in, though perhaps I got the jumpers wrong.

One thing I am fairly certain about is that the former set-up was that the master/slave configuration was based on the cable.

Best,

Alex

NeddySeagoon wrote:
evoweiss,

Long shot ...
Code:

[    1.364906] scsi 1:0:0:0: CD-ROM            LITEON   DVD-ROM LTD163   GDHG PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[    1.369433] scsi 1:0:1:0: CD-ROM            SAMSUNG  DVDRW SH-S222A   PS01 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
shows you have a DVD ROM (Read only device) and a writer on the same IDE channel.

Maybe you or the kernel are getting them mixed up. Does the writer work if you unplug the LITEON ?

Maybe the kernel is confused by the master/slave jumpering.
If you use a 40 wire ribbon cable you must jumper one drive as Master, the other as Slave.
If you use an 80 wire ribbon cable then cable select might work. It might not too. It must be supported bf the motherboard and both drives. Further, both ends of an 80 wire IDE cable look the same but there is a correct way to fit them.
Look at tho two end connectors, then down the ribbon. The end that goes to a drive has one conductor cut. This is the Master, the other end is the Motherboard, the middle being the Slave.
This conductor is not fitted in 40 wire ribbons.

Just because you have an 80 wire coble does not mean the motherboard supports it. Your DVD-ROM may not as it only does UDMA-33. So check the ribbon is fitted the right way round, jumper the drive at the end of the cable Master and the one in the middle as slave.

Lastly, an IDE bus runs as fast as the slowest device, so you DVD-RW will only run at UDMA-33 but its capable of UDMA-66
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1529
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, so I manually jumpered one drive as the master and the other as the slave. That didn't work. I am still seeing the two drives in dmesg as before.

Code:

[    1.369097] scsi 1:0:0:0: CD-ROM            LITEON   DVD-ROM LTD163   GDHG PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[    1.370381] cdrom: Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
[    1.370806] sr 1:0:0:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr0
[    1.373255] scsi 1:0:1:0: CD-ROM            SAMSUNG  DVDRW SH-S222A   PS01 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[    1.379708] sr 1:0:1:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr1


The error message related to the burn is:

Code:

[  781.549153] warning: `growisofs' uses 32-bit capabilities (legacy support in use)
[  846.095939] ata2.01: exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x0 action 0x6 frozen
[  846.095949] sr 1:0:1:0: [sr1] CDB:
[  846.095951] cdb[0]=0x2a: 2a 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 10 00
[  846.095969] ata2.01: cmd a0/01:00:00:00:80/00:00:00:00:00/b0 tag 12 dma 32768 out
         res 40/00:02:00:08:00/00:00:00:00:00/b0 Emask 0x4 (timeout)
[  851.138382] ata2: link is slow to respond, please be patient (ready=0)
[  856.122734] ata2: device not ready (errno=-16), forcing hardreset
[  856.122744] ata2: soft resetting link
[  857.052828] ata2.00: configured for UDMA/33
[  857.092836] ata2.01: configured for UDMA/66
[  861.703343] ata2: EH complete


Thoughts and suggestions? I suppose the next thing to try is unplugging the original drive and just using the writer.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1529
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm personally willing to bet it has something to do with my kernel configuration. A lot of things have happened since between having trouble and no trouble, so there may be a change that I missed so that my old system would keep running. Of course, my hunch may be BS.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31878
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

evoweiss,

That the error handler was invoked suggests a hardware error of some sort.
Power, motherboard chipset, data cable, optical drive, media, trying to burn off the end of the media ...
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum