Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel panic - not syncing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Segan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:57 pm    Post subject: Kernel panic - not syncing Reply with quote

Hi, I have a problem: I installed the system correctly following all the steps in the guide Handbook, but at boot I get these 3 errors: know that it can be? I've installed lilo.

Thanks :)

http://oi44.tinypic.com/ehlsn.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1411

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

please use your live cd, mount into your install and show the contents of /etc/fstab and the screen output of cfdisk
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Segan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
please use your live cd, mount into your install and show the contents of /etc/fstab and the screen output of cfdisk


Here photos from fstab and lilo config:

http://imgur.com/L9SX8Qj,YWYlmk3


in cfdisk i have two partitions: sda1, (boot), sda2 ( / )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32328
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Segan,

Welcome to Gentoo.

unknown-block(8,2) tells that you are trying to mount /dev/sda2 as root.
If you followed the handbook exactly, your root would be /dev/sda3 and /dev/sda2 will be swap.

There is no need to post /etc/fstab ... it might be wrong but it cannot be read until root is mounted, so thats another learning opportunity for later.

If you followed the handbook as you say, get back into your chroot, fix /etc/lilo.conf and rerun /sbin/lilo to update the block list.

It may be more complex than that. The kernel tried to list all the block devices it can see after the "here are the available partitions:" but none are listed.
Sight of your partition table would be useful.

You could have turned off MSDOS Partition table support (you will need that) or your hdd chipset driver is not built into your kernel, so the kernel has no way to communicate with your hard drive at all. That usually gets you unknown-block(0,0), so the evidence is conflicting right now.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Segan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, NeddySeagoon :)

Yes, but i dont have swap partition, so sda2 is / :)

Apparently I know what happens, I did not give support to "SCSI Disk" ... I will have to recompile kernel.

I follow the same steps of the handbook, and return to recompile, no?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32328
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Segan,

Yep - that will cause it. You only rebuild and reinstall your kernel. Everything else will be OK.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Segan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, indeed, I was grabbing kernel panic because I had enabled SCSI :) Now I have Gentoo installed, and have created a user. But now I have another thing: network card not work. What do I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexcortes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2011
Posts: 124
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may want to take a look on:

http://swift.siphos.be/linux_sea/ (Configuring a Linux Kernel topic)
http://www.kernel-seeds.org/

Cheers! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32328
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Segan,

Check to see if the interface exists with
Code:
ifconfig -a

What interfaces do you have?
You should have lo and and at least one other. sit0 does not count.

Your wired interface may be eth0 or sXpY where X and Y are numbers. These are two different default naming schemes.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum