Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
monitor sharing under vnc is no longer working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:29 am    Post subject: monitor sharing under vnc is no longer working Reply with quote

I have setup screen sharing on vnc by using the libvnc.so xorg module
everything was working fine then it just stopped working
I try starting tigervnc:
* Caching service dependencies ... [ ok ]
* Please define $DISPLAYS in /etc/conf.d/tigervnc
* ERROR: tigervnc failed to start

I did not specify displays before, but if i do:
Display :0 appears to be already in use because of /tmp/.X11-unix/X0
* Remove this file if there is no X server localhost:0
* ERROR: tigervnc failed to start

I still have the same config file in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-vnc.conf
Section "Module"
Load "vnc"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Option "PasswordFile" "/home/adel/.vnc/passwd"
EndSection
__________________________________________________________________

I recall changing the xorg.conf because my monitor was not working :
# Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
# Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option "DPMS" "false"
# the next 2 lines are the new config
Modeline "1280x1024_60" 108.00 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
Option "PreferredMode" "1280x1024_60"

Section "Device"
Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver "fglrx"
# BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
# the next line is the experimental config
Option "Monitor-CRT2" "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0" #changed conf
EndSection



there are comments to show the new config options and the old config options are commented out
and tigervnc works on other non-shared displays, so I'm guessing it's not a tigervnc problem
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

help! anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The tigervnc service is for virtual displays, you shouldn't start it if you want to share the real display.

As for sharing the real display, use pastebin to post /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here's my log file:
http://pastebin.com/J1F7zQ6J

so what's the daemon sharing my screen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would there need to be a daemon? It's all in the vnc module.

There's no mention of vnc in that log. It's possible the crappy, outdated xorg.conf is to blame. Reduce xorg.conf to just the Device and Monitor sections, then check the log if the vnc module is getting loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, that kinda worked
I can vnc now but the problem is I cannot see anything, on my desktop I can see the mouse moving but on my laptop(the client) I can only see blurry colours
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8852

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some proprietary driver versions and configuration combinations are known to cause problems. The nVidia drivers with compositing enabled cause problems with VNC sharing because they bypass the layer that VNC uses. Can you reproduce the problem with the open driver for your card? What do you mean by "blurry"? Are the colors correct but the image indistinct? Is the image initially correct but slowly deviates from what it should be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well it's possible that the issue began when I switched to the ati-drivers
what I meant was :
I can't see anything, I can tell if the screen is gray or white..etc but I can neither read nor tell what is on the screen, colors are scrambled( im not sure Im using the right words)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

help anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logs, man. Logs! :)

Besides Xorg.0.log, also post xorg.conf and other xorg config files you have. Also, what desktop environment are you using? Did you try a different one? Always post as much info as possible, there's no other way you can get help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here's ,my log file:
http://pastebin.com/hek1WBzQ

and here's my config
#Section "ServerLayout"
# Identifier "aticonfig Layout"
# Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
#EndSection

#Section "Module"
#EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
# Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
# Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option "DPMS" "false"
# the next 2 lines are the new experimental config
Modeline "1280x1024_60" 108.00 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
Option "PreferredMode" "1280x1024_60"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver "fglrx"
# BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
# the next line is the experimental config
Option "Monitor-CRT2" "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection


and I am using gnome as my default and only DE
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I said "Did you try a different [desktop environment]?", that of course implied "try other desktop environments". Particularly one that is not composited (openbox or something like that).

And you still have an unnecessary Screen section in your xorg.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and when I said gnome is my only DE I implied that I do not intend to use another de :D
ok I've commented out that section
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Umm, the point is to *test* things. To see whether there's a general vnc problem or if it's specific to Gnome. Because I can very well imagine that exporting a composited environment via vnc might not go well, especially if the compositor is using the composite overlay window instead of the root window.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh sorry I didn't mean to come off as a jerk
I cant install another DE coz Im close to my bandwidth limit :(

and I see openbox is only 500kb download, working on it

you are correct, everything is working fine on openbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8852

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you disable compositing, does the problem still manifest in GNOME?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2013 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't find how to disable compositing for gnome, im using gnome 2.32.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamapii
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 528

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2013 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If libvnc.so really stopped working, you might try x11vnc. This lets you connect to an existing X session.

It works for me with nvidia. I also used vino / Gnome's screen sharing in the past, but it seems to have a few rough edges.

I have a few related scripts:

vncsrv_0
Code:
#!/bin/sh

DISPLAY=:0.0 x11vnc


You might want to edit this one after reading "man x11vnc", for options like -shared, -forever, to make it serve the screen all the time or just once, and -passwdfile, or else everything is unprotected.

vncsrv_0_screen
Code:
#!/bin/sh

if [ "$1" ]; then
  ssh $1 vncsrv_0_screen
else
  screen -d -m vncsrv_0
fi


Put the scripts on the client and the server. If you want to share the screen all the time, call vncsrv_0_screen in a X startup script. Or you can share it on demand, then call "vncsrv_0_screen server-hostname" on the client just before you connect with a vnc viewer.

You need the packages "screen" and "x11vnc" for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bash: vncsrv_0_screen: command not found
i tried copying the script to /bin and I can get the command with tab completion but I'm still getting the error

any help with disabling compositing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

after trying vnc and reading about it, my conclusion is that's a fucked up protocol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

actually, asu much trouble as I'm having with vnc
the performance was excellent and it was very easy to implement before this whole mess just happened
got any P2P alternatives?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8852

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

_______0 wrote:
after trying vnc and reading about it, my conclusion is that's a ... protocol.
I have used VNC in a variety of circumstances for many years, and while it has not always been perfect, I think you are vastly overstating the negatives, especially since you provide neither citations nor anecdotes explaining why you think it is such a terrible protocol. Could you elaborate on why you think it is so bad?

blakdeath: could you explain what you mean by P2P alternatives? Are you wanting to share screens with some unpredictable user elsewhere on the planet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no what i meant was I want a direct connection, I do not want to use team viewer or any similar protocols, I also do not want to use the internet as I have a bandwidth limit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8852

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VNC is a direct connection protocol. You must take special steps with it if you want an indirect connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes that was exactly what I meant :D we are on the same page, I meant I wanted something similar to vnc and I'm not willing to try team viewer(thats what everyone recommends)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum