Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cannot display this video mode[solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:43 pm    Post subject: cannot display this video mode[solved] Reply with quote

I was initially using the kernel OSS drivers for my ati-radeon, I then removed those drivers and emerged the ati-drivers, I then followed the steps in 'http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Fglrx' to setup my xorg with my video card, then I rebooted
I got the error:
Cannot display this video mode
optimum resolution 1280*1024 60HZ
I know this probably has nothing to do with gentoo but can someone help me adjust the resolution from the command line? (this is all I have atm)


Last edited by blakdeath on Fri Apr 26, 2013 6:07 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32320
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

Make friends with wgetpaste and post your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file and your xorg.conf.
There is a line near the top of the log that tells where the xorg.conf file in use is located.
Code:
[    64.507] (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Thu Apr 25 17:56:44 2013
[    64.508] (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"


How is your display connected to the PC?
HDMI, DVI, 15 pin D ?
That may matter, since display resolution has been reasonably well auto detected for a long time now.

Is your display CRT or a flat panel?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here's my log file: http://pastebin.com/qFwRe7qH
and here's that conf line: (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"

my screen's connected using a 15 pin d cable, and it's a flat panel screen
it's a crappy screen though, so I'm wondering if the resolution is too high for hte screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32320
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

Your display is advertising that it can do from "1600x1200"x60.0 and all lower resolutions.
I would have expected 1600x1200 to be chosen.

It also says
Code:
[     8.334] (II) fglrx(0): Cannot get EDID information for CRT2

As you use the 15 pin analogue connector, that message often means that the connectors are not full home.

Can you post the content of /etc/X11/xorg.conf please.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trismo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

edit your xorg.conf to force mode, but first try fix the cable
Quote:
....

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
# Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
# Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
# Option "DPMS" "true"
Modeline "1280x1024_60" 108.00 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
Option "PreferredMode" "1280x1024_60"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver "fglrx"
# BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "Monitor-CRT2" "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
EndSection

....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks both of you
that configuration works :D
I can finally see my gnome DE

thanks :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32320
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

In what resolution?
Some displays lie to xorg in their EDID data.

What display do you have ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1280x1024

I have some Dell monitor, can't find the model number though, and the gnome can't detect the model
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32320
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

It may be in the Xorg.0.log file.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i found this:
Display (Chi Mei Optoelectronics corp. (DFP-0))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32320
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

Thats the display manufacturer and it tells that its Digital Flat Panel 0, which is the first/only display.
The model number is usually close to there in the log file too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't seem to find the monitor
the monitor says the model is: E177FPf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32320
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

Its a Dell.
That data sheet says 1280x1024 is as good as it gets.

Dell never made monitors, so its a rebadged something else. Dell generally chose good stuff to put their name on.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah I guess, it's a cheap monitor though so Im not disappointed
thanks for ur help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum