Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
tmpfs umount failure preventing shutdown
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
balfa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:15 am    Post subject: tmpfs umount failure preventing shutdown Reply with quote

I have inherited and updated a diskless Gentoo system recently. As it is a diskless system tmpfs has been used for/tmp, /var/log etc. Since the update shutdown/rebooting is freezing when it tries to umount the tmpfs /var/run mount.

Unfortunately the logs are fairly useless in this case as they are themselves in a tmpfs.

The umount simply fails with:
Code:
Unmounting /var/run...


fstab entry is:
Code:
none                                    /var/run                                                tmpfs   mode=1755       0 0


My speculations so far are that as eth.0 is still up at this point as the root is mounted over the network and therefore there are still eth0 process identifiers in /var/run that are preventing the umount. Can anyone confirm that this would be the case?

I am considering modifying the RC scripts to prevent /var/run being unmounted at all.

Any solutions or suggestions welcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pegasus87
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 369

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using /tmp with tmpfs too. But I'm using it for several month and this problem occurs since I installed Pulseaudio. Do you use Pulseaudio on your system? Maybe there is a connection between the installation of Pulseaudio and tmpfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bastibasti
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 493

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get this regularily, but for my /home which is encrypted
I guess the root cause is that something within this folder is mounted, and the init script cannot determine the order, or it cannot unmount this secondary mount.

I was going to investigate on theis and open a bug, but I didnt have time yet.

BTW: Whats your conf.d/net ? did you set eth0 to noop? in that case there should be no no file to /var/run

I'll give it a try on my 2 diskless clients tonight
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum