Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Black screen on resume from suspend.[SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Budoka
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 338
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:45 am    Post subject: Black screen on resume from suspend.[SOLVED] Reply with quote

Whenever I suspend my machine and then resume, the screen is inactive/black. But the box has definitely come out of suspend because if I enter my password and then hit the Fn key to LOWER the screen brightness, the screen will switch to full brightness. It is kind of odd behavior because 1) one would think it should be the Fn button to increase brightness, and 2) Th Fn key doesn't work before logging in.

Not even sure how to begin troubleshooting this. Ideas?


Last edited by Budoka on Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 605
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a number of quirks (like switching to a console before suspending) that are commonly executed at suspend in order to work around video driver and BIOS issues which can cause problems like that which you descrive. Take a look a pm-utils; they handle suspend and resume and are configurated via /etc/pm --- there you can setup the various quirks (which themselves are located in /usr/lib/pm-utils).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2185

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka, DirtyHarry ...

with sys-power/hibernate-script the default is to switch to text mode:

Code:
# grep SwitchTo /etc/hibernate/common.conf
SwitchToTextMode yes

So, this may not be the issue, more likely is the graphics driver itself.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 605
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@khayyam : I know, but depending on the way Budoka suspends, hibernate-script may not be involved. If you suspend from KDE or Gnome, pm-utils is utilized. On my laptop, hibernate-script is not even installed ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2185

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DirtyHairy wrote:
[...] depending on the way Budoka suspends, hibernate-script may not be involved. If you suspend from KDE or Gnome, pm-utils is utilized. On my laptop, hibernate-script is not even installed ;)

DirtyHarry ... right, and no information was provided either way, nor about the driver in use, which is why I stated "this may not be the issue", not because of hibernate-script or pm-utils, but because there may be an issue which occurs with the driver regardless. So, *should* hibernate-script be in use, and so SwitchToTextMode active, and the issue still occurs, that particular quirk can be ruled out.

With so little information to go on, I was adding to what you had said regarding the possible cause.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8845

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OP: please post the output of emerge --info, the manufacturer of your machine, and its model.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 338
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
OP: please post the output of emerge --info, the manufacturer of your machine, and its model.


http://bpaste.net/show/93087/

Samsung Series 7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gabriel_Blake
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Sep 2007
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same issue!
"Samsung Series 5 Ultra"

Probably some weird hardware solution by Samsung :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 338
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something came down in an update or in the kernel upgrade, 3.10.7, that resolved this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum