Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Genkernel insists on x86_64 kernel for 486 build
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FastTurtle
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2002
Posts: 409
Location: Shake & Bake

PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 5:11 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Genkernel insists on x86_64 kernel for 486 build Reply with quote

Anyone got an idea how to force Genkernel to quit changing the cpu type to x86_64 when I need the generic 486 build?

Alternative is link to creating an initramfs from scratch since genkernel insists on a 64bit kernel when I need the 32bit for a system w/o networking

another option is vanila-source kernel (need 486 support)


Last edited by FastTurtle on Sat May 18, 2013 5:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logical_guy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2007
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about compiling the manual way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FastTurtle
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2002
Posts: 409
Location: Shake & Bake

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried that and the same blasted problem. Keep getting a message that kernel doesn't suppor x86_64 when selecting the p4 kernel (I thought a P4 was 32bit only).

Not sure what's going on unless it's linked to the initramfs. Anyone have an idea how to find what's insisting on 64bit support? Needs to be CLI as there's not gui as yet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7851
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That may be the genesis of the problem: P4 isn't 32-bit only in some incarnations; just in some of the earlier ones. Why aren't you selecting 486 for the processor type if you're building for a 486?

Edit: Wait. Are you building on a 64-bit system? I don't believe it is possible to directly build a 32-bit environment on a 64-bit system. You can set up a 32-bit chroot and do your build in that, though.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 605
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm pretty sure that on 64bit, building a 32bit kernel is essentially crosscompiling, using a 32bit toolchain built e.g. with crossdev. This way, it should work ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2418
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
I don't believe it is possible to directly build a 32-bit environment on a 64-bit system.

It is, just use "make ARCH=i386". I've used this for building embedded x86 stuff a few times.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FastTurtle
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2002
Posts: 409
Location: Shake & Bake

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John: Because the kernel sources have droped anything prior to the P4 as an option.

According to Intel, there are no 64bit P4's (never were/never will be) as Intel didn't introduce the EMT64 extensions until the Core architecture was relased. There may be some chips that were 64bit but they aren't P4's according to Intel.

All:
What I ended up doing was used the i486 installer on the system I was attempting to build the 32bit kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7851
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FastTurtle wrote:
John: Because the kernel sources have droped anything prior to the P4 as an option.
Actually, they're still there, but menuconfig does appear to hide them from you if you're not running in a 32-bit environment. Here's the full list of processors from "make menuconfig" in the latest stable gentoo-sources (3.8.13 as of this writing):
Code:
( ) 486
( ) 586/K5/5x86/6x86/6x86MX
( ) Pentium-Classic
( ) Pentium-MMX
( ) Pentium-Pro
( ) Pentium-II/Celeron(pre-Coppermine)
( ) Pentium-III/Celeron(Coppermine)/Pentium-III Xeon
( ) Pentium M
( ) Pentium-4/Celeron(P4-based)/Pentium-4 M/older Xeon
( ) K6/K6-II/K6-III
( ) Athlon/Duron/K7
( ) Opteron/Athlon64/Hammer/K8
( ) Crusoe
( ) Efficeon
( ) Winchip-C6
( ) Winchip-2/Winchip-2A/Winchip-3
( ) AMD Elan
( ) GeodeGX1
( ) CyrixIII/VIA-C3
( ) VIA C3-2 (Nehemiah)
( ) VIA C7
( ) Core 2/newer Xeon
( ) Intel Atom
Hmm. These also appear to show up if you include the ARCH= option recommended by Ant P. and select a 32-bit architecture. I didn't know you could do that. :oops: That said, I've always used a 32-bit environment to build for 32-bit systems.

FastTurtle wrote:
According to Intel, there are no 64bit P4's (never were/never will be) as Intel didn't introduce the EMT64 extensions until the Core architecture was relased. There may be some chips that were 64bit but they aren't P4's according to Intel.
This also turns out not to be the case. Here's just one example of many from Intel's web site. :wink:

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum