Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R600_rlc.bin"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:12 pm    Post subject: r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R600_rlc.bin&q Reply with quote

I've had this problem before but was able to fix this using the second to last post here.
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-938702-postdays-0-postorder-asc-start-25.html
I tried this solution again but it didn't work this time.

Here's my .config
http://bpaste.net/show/87832/

Here's my dmesg
http://bpaste.net/show/87830/

I tried unmerged xorg graphic drivers but then I couldn't startx so I emerged them again and was able to startx. Here are my Xorg.0.logs.
Xorg.0.log
http://bpaste.net/show/87833/

Xorg.0.log.old
http://bpaste.net/show/87834/


Sorry to keep spamming the forum. i just kinda dunno what to do. Thanks.


Last edited by Kas_ on Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:47 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have:
Code:
[    1.649822] Switching to clocksource tsc
[   60.692777] r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R600_rlc.bin"

So maybe the delay is with radeon rather than tsc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know it is radeon. I just don't know how to fix it. I already told it that I was using radeon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you seen previous thread, and linuxquestions thead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you seen previous thread, and linuxquestions thead.

Your thread title, mentioning tsc and not radeon, is worse than useless because it's misleading - change it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4198
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kas_ wrote:
I know it is radeon. I just don't know how to fix it. I already told it that I was using radeon.
To be fair you didn't, if you treat this thread as atomic
_________________
A free press is the unsleeping guardian of every other right that free men prize; it is the most dangerous foe of tyranny. Where men have the habit of liberty, the Press will continue to be the vigilant guardian of the rights of the ordinary citizen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did everything mentioned in those two threads.
[code]
CONFIG_FW_LOADER=y
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL=y
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/R600_rlc.bin radeon/R700_rlc.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"
[/code]

Here's dmesg;
[code]
[ 0.716831] [drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
[ 0.716884] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
[ 0.718468] radeon 0000:01:05.0: VRAM: 256M 0x00000000C0000000 - 0x00000000CFFFFFFF (256M used)
[ 0.718534] radeon 0000:01:05.0: GTT: 512M 0x00000000A0000000 - 0x00000000BFFFFFFF
[ 0.719530] [drm] radeon: 256M of VRAM memory ready
[ 0.719577] [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
[ 0.719808] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
[ 60.692949] r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R600_rlc.bin"
[ 60.693048] radeon 0000:01:05.0: disabling GPU acceleration
[ 60.694181] radeon 0000:01:05.0: ffff8800ab893000 unpin not necessary
[ 60.694229] radeon 0000:01:05.0: ffff8800ab893000 unpin not necessary
[ 60.695502] WARNING: at drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/r600.c:3014 r600_irq_set+0x64a/0x660()
[ 60.696583] [<ffffffff81488425>] radeon_irq_kms_enable_hpd+0x65/0x90
[ 60.696677] [<ffffffff81480f17>] radeon_modeset_init+0x307/0x7c0
[ 60.696727] [<ffffffff8145f6a0>] radeon_driver_load_kms+0xf0/0x170
[ 60.696821] [<ffffffff8181b30e>] radeon_pci_probe+0xac/0xb4
[ 60.697569] [drm] radeon: power management initialized
[ 60.798639] fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[ 60.844940] fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
[ 60.845140] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.24.0 20080528 for 0000:01:05.0 on minor 0
[/code]

here's it in Xorg.0.log...
[code]gentoo log # cat Xorg.0.log | grep 'radeon'
[ 78.518] (**) | |-->Device "radeon"
[ 78.721] (II) LoadModule: "radeon"
[ 78.721] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so
[ 78.787] (II) Module radeon: vendor="X.Org Foundation"[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
navry
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is R600_rlc.bin in /lib/firmware/radeon ? If not, you must install radeon-ucode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1691
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Verify in /proc/config.gz after boot that your kernel actually has the CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE set.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum