Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Change volume Gnome command line
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
UnoSD
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2011
Posts: 273

PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 8:01 am    Post subject: Change volume Gnome command line Reply with quote

Hi there.

Is there a way to change the volume in Gnome from the terminal?

I have to have the feedback as well (the nice box with volume status), so I can't use just amixer.

Maybe a dbus command?

I'd like to have multiple keyboard shortcuts for manipulating the volume and, of course, I'm aready using the common one. If there's a way to give multiple shortcuts to the same event, I won't need an answer to the above question.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UnoSD,

alsamixer, or am I missing something?
It uses ncurses for its display.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UnoSD
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2011
Posts: 273

PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
$ volumeup


Has to show this and turn the volume up:

https://a248.e.akamai.net/camo.github.com/8935875dc05db624ce755a570d91f72dbd90222c/687474703a2f2f696d616765736861636b2e75732f612f696d673832312f363937372f6f7364636f6c6f72732e706e67

or: both F12 and F11 button have to be set to turn the volume up.

Explanation if anyone's interested:

I have a remote for my PC, it has the VolUP and VolDW buttons, these are linked to the VolUP/DW on the keyboard, so, when I press these on the remote, it simulate a keyboard button press. The remote it's fine, the issue is that, the keyboard has the most awful (capacitive/resistive/boh) switch. So, I want to be able to turn up and down the volume with other keys without losing the chance of using the remote.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UnoSD ...

there are various methods, alsamixer being one, but you can also use amixer to raise/lower the volume, mute the channel, etc ... for example to lower the volume by 3%, then raise by 10%, and then toggle mute (note your 'channel' may be 'PCM' rather than 'Master').

Code:
% amixer -q -c0 set Master 3-%
% amixer -q -c0 set Master 10+%
% amixer -q -c0 set Master toggle

As amixer is scriptable you can write a scripts to adjust the volume with smooth increments, mute and pause the audio player, etc, etc.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UnoSD
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2011
Posts: 273

PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
UnoSD ...

there are various methods, alsamixer being one, but you can also use amixer to raise/lower the volume, mute the channel, etc ... for example to lower the volume by 3%, then raise by 10%, and then toggle mute (note your 'channel' may be 'PCM' rather than 'Master').

Code:
% amixer -q -c0 set Master 3-%
% amixer -q -c0 set Master 10+%
% amixer -q -c0 set Master toggle

As amixer is scriptable you can write a scripts to adjust the volume with smooth increments, mute and pause the audio player, etc, etc.

best ... khay


Thanks anyway for the answer khayyam, but you didn't read well my question:

Quote:
I have to have the feedback as well (the nice box with volume status), so I can't use just amixer.


Of course, I'm talking about the Gnome one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 4565

PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gnome uses pulseaudio, so:
https://github.com/falconindy/ponymix
https://github.com/cdemoulins/pamixer

Probably someone wants to write an ebuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UnoSD wrote:
Thanks anyway for the answer khayyam, but you didn't read well my question:

UnoSD ... thats true, but in part thats to do with how you worded your question, "from the terminal" will generally involve interacting with the terminal, and so a command. Anyhow, sorry for any distraction.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum