Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ibus doesn't work in skype and opera
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Moult
Developer
Developer


Joined: 31 Mar 2008
Posts: 111
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:55 am    Post subject: ibus doesn't work in skype and opera Reply with quote

ibus works for most programs such as kwrite, quassel, and firefox, but oddly enough in opera and in skype even though the character selection window pops up, when i press space the characters aren't written. any ideas why?

I've got this in my .xinitrc

Code:
export XMODIFIERS="@im=ibus"
export GTK_IM_MODULE="ibus"
export QT_IM_MODULE="ibus"

# Eyecandy until your brain hurts
exec startkde


Any ideas? Skype and opera seem to have in common that they do their own thing in terms of GUI toolkit, but i'm not sure exactly what.

Note that the characters _are_ rendered properly if copied from another program into skype/opera, or if a webpage has it in opera, so I don't think it's a font problem.
_________________
thinkMoult - blog and stuff
WIPUP - share your works-in-progress for long-term, ambitious projects.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 386
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://code.google.com/p/ibus/issues/detail?id=613

http://9oe.me/blog/?p=1170
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum