Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Could not find root block device in .
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
z3lionking
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Indore

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:22 pm    Post subject: Could not find root block device in . Reply with quote

Hi...

I am a new user... I have been trying to Installing Gentoo for a past few weeks(months.. If I be honest.)...
I am totally unable to install it.... I am installing it on a fakeRAID RAID0...

1. OS install fine... but when I try to install grub on the RAID Array it gives me "Error 22 : Partition not found" in the very last step of its installation. Which on googling I found was a bug. (using "genkernel --dmraid --lvm all" and dodmraid and dolvm in grub.conf).

2. So I thought I would install Grub on a External Sata Drive (USB Interface). and thats what I did... Grub installed fine.. manual config done... same kernel build options..... and In middle of booting it stops. and tells me...............

!! Block device /dev/mapper/dgaefgabp5 is not a valid root device...
!! Could not find root block device in .


WHY? :( WHY GOD WHY? :( WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME? :(

Any help is appreciated....
_________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32443
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

z3lionking,

Welcome to Gentoo.

As you are using fakeraid, your initrd must include dmraid to start the fakeraid volume before you can mount root.
fakeraid devices vary too. They are all still variations on software raid, but a few are now managed by mdadm and the kernel raid drivers.
So it matters what hardware you have and how its set up.

Code:
!! Block device /dev/mapper/dgaefgabp5 is not a valid root device...
!! Could not find root block device in .

Your error message is valuable for what it does not say. Your kernel has loaded, we can tell that as the message is from the kernel.
After the word 'in' and before the full stop the kernel printed a list of all of the block devices it can see. In this case, there are none.
This suggests that the kernel is missing the driver for the hard drive controller chip set that hosts your fakeraid.

Linux will show all of the underlying drives as well as the fakeraid, once all is well.

The first step is to identify your hardware and the driver it needs. Right now, it looks like genkernel does not provide it.
Please post the output of the
Code:
lspci
command run on your target hardware.

What version of grub are you using?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z3lionking
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Indore

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:56 pm    Post subject: LSPCI & grub.conf Reply with quote

Although I can mount the raid partitions in maintenance shell... so probably not a driver thing...!

lspci -

Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD790 Northbridge only dual slot PCI-e_GFX and HT3 K8 part
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port A)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port B)
00:07.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port D)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port E)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx1 port A)
00:11.0 RAID bus controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [RAID5 mode]
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3c)
00:14.1 IDE interface: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Control
01:00.0 USB controller: NEC Corporation uPD720200 USB 3.0 Host Controller (rev 03)
02:00.0 SATA controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88SE9128 PCIe SATA 6 Gb/s RAID controller (rev 11)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Radeon HD 4770 [RV740]
05:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV710/730 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 4000 series]
06:0e.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB23 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)


grub.conf -

Code:
# This is a sample grub.conf for use with Genkernel, per the Gentoo handbook
# http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10#doc_chap2
# If you are not using Genkernel and you need help creating this file, you
# should consult the handbook. Alternatively, consult the grub.conf.sample that
# is included with the Grub documentation.

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo 3.7.10
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.7.10-gentoo root=/dev/mapper/pdc_dgaefgabp5 dodmraid dolvm
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.7.10-gentoo

#title Gentoo Linux 2.6.24-r5
#root (hd0,0)
#kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.24-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/sda3
#initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.24-gentoo-r5

# vim:ft=conf:


Here.... pls let me know if I can supply you with more information to help you debug... :)
_________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jpc22
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps, you could try using an initramfs with dmraid, if it supports your fakeraid device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z3lionking
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Indore

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fake raid is supported... works with all other operating systems and with gentoo livecd too!!!...

Already tried dmraid with initramfs ....but no luck!!1
_________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32443
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

z3lionking,

Code:
00:11.0 RAID bus controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [RAID5 mode]
02:00.0 SATA controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88SE9128 PCIe SATA 6 Gb/s RAID controller (rev 11)
00:14.1 IDE interface: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 IDE Controller


What a selection of hard drive controllers. The first one, 00:11.0 RAID bus controller: needs to be underpinned by the AHCI SATA support option, which genkernel provides.
The second one, 02:00.0 SATA controller: probably wants AHCI too.
The old IDE bus needs the ATI PATA support kernel option.

Did you allow Genkernel to configure your kernel, or just build it?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z3lionking
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Indore

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey there...

I did allow genkernel to configure before building....

00:11.0 needs to be underpinned? Sorry, English is not my primary language... What do I need to do?!

I guess maybe this will help you a little...
Mobo is Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5... AMD 790FX NB + SB750.

The AMD SB750 southbridge does not have any functionality for Sata 3... so the Marvell controller is for the 2x SATA 3 ports on which a single SATA 3 HDD is plugged in... Which is not in RAID...

SB750 provides 6 SATA 2 ports out of which port 5 & 6 are set to IDE mode in the BIOS... otherwise my DVD drive wont work.. :(

Port 1 & 3 have the 2x SATA 2 drives that are in RAID 0..... (Why does 00:11.0 say RAID 5??? I dont get it...)
Ports 1-4 can be set to AHCI/RAID/IDE mode in the BIOS.... they are set to RAID... for fakeRAID...

Please tell me where am I going wrong and how can I rectify the problem?!
_________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32443
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

z3lionking,

What command did you use to start genkernel?
It should still be in your command history in your chroot.
In your chroot type genk then press the PageUp key. The system will look through your command history for the last time you started a command with genk. Further presses of PageUp search further back in your command history.
Post your genkernel command when you find it.

Underpinned means requires or needs ... in this case the AHCI option in the kernels menuconfig.

Why are you using fakeraid?
Fakeraid is only required if Windows and Linux are to share the same raid set.

Fakeraid and kernel raid are both forms of software raid. Kernel raid has several advantages over fakeraid, but as I say, it cannot be used if Windows is to be installed on the same raid set.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z3lionking
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Indore

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy...

Thanks for replying..

I get it now... I did genkernel --lvm --dmraid all not a custom file... Anyway... I'll make a configfile with "make menuconfig" recompile and then get back to you in a few hours!!! :)

using fakeRAID coz once Gentoo Is installled I will install Windows too for playing games...! :P
_________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32443
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

z3lionking,

For fakeraid, you must have dmraid in your initrd, as your raid must be started before you can mount root.
The command you gave to genkernel should have made your kernel and initrd correctly.

Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.7.10-gentoo root=/dev/mapper/pdc_dgaefgabp5 dodmraid dolvm

Should be kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.7.10-gentoo real_root=/dev/mapper/pdc_dgaefgabp5 dodmraid dolvm as Code Listing 2.4: GRUB snippet for initramfs-enabled kernel build

You can add the -menuconfig (--menuconfig?) option to genkernel, so you can look around or change the kernel configuration before genkernel builds it.

--- edit ---

The missing real_ explains why the kernel found no block devices at all in your first post. All of the drivers are made as modules and stored in the initrd but the kernel did not use your initrd as a temporary root filesystem - it went for the real thing, which was bound to fail as none of the drivers for your hardware were loaded.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z3lionking
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Indore

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:12 pm    Post subject: Stumped! Reply with quote

Hi Neddy...

I re-installed Gentoo from scratch and then did "real_root" thing as you suggested above.... still the same error message...

I also installed Gentoo i686 on my Intel Atom based laptop with a single hard drive... Thinking that maybe it could help me figure things better... and BAMMMM!!!!!!!!!! Same error! What is happening... I don't understand...!!!!!

Could it be something wrong with the images I am using?!


Please tell me what information I can provide you with to figure this?!
_________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32443
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

z3lionking,

Sorting out your laptop will be easiest.

Post its
Code:
lspci
output.
Post its
Code:
fdisk -l
and tell what each partition is used for.
From inside the chroot, post the output of
Code:
ls -l /boot

Post the /boot/grub.grub.conf file

Tell how you configured, compiled and installed the kernel.
Post the content of
Code:
/usr/src/linx/.config
That won't fit in a post, so make friends with wgetpaste.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z3lionking
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Indore

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy.... :) We have some good news!!!! :)

The Laptop got sorted out with scandelay argument to kernel in grub!!!
I got terminal! :D Wheeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!

So after adding "real_" to root=/dev/mapper/pdc_dgaefgabp5

Now when I get stuck at that place during booting I just enter "/dev/mapper/pdc_dgaefgabp5" and the booting process continues!!! :D
I got terminal on my PC too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

but scandelay doesn't appear to be working for me on the PC as the delay happens first and then the RAID array is mounted.... I will give post a screenshot here so you can understand better...!!!!

Please tell me how to fix this... and Thank You so much for all your support.... I'm a big fan of Gentoo! :)
_________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32443
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

z3lionking,

Well, I would fix this by adding a sleep 3 or something like that into the initrd init file, just before it mounts root so that dmraid has time to do its stuff.
That means unpicking your initrd, doing the edit, then putting it back together.

You could also file a bug at bugs.gentoo.org and wait for a fix.
File the bug anyway, then it will get fixed for others.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z3lionking
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Indore

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy...

Sorry for the delayed response... I had some Internet issues so I could not reply earlier... I'll file the bug report and edit the initrd and make it again... :)

Thanks for helping man!!! :)
_________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum