Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cannot emerge grub [discontinued]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:55 am    Post subject: cannot emerge grub [discontinued] Reply with quote

So, I basically cp all the files of gentoo on my other drive to gentoo on my new drive but grub did not work as planned. I tried to install grub but got an error that said /lib/grub did not exist. Here are some logs:

http://bpaste.net/show/86588/ emerge --info

http://bpaste.net/show/86589/ full log

Thanks.


Last edited by Kas_ on Thu Mar 28, 2013 12:26 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kas,

Exactly how did you copy the files :?:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, I mounted both and was like cp -a /mnt/gentoo/old /mnt/gentoo.

Then, a guy in the IRC told me to try to rsync everything so I was like
rsync -av /mnt/gentoo/old/ /mnt/gentoo

--I don't exactly remember where the / were.
I first actually ran the rsync command with --progress but then it ran for like 4 hours so i ctrl-c it and ran it without progress.

Anyway, it doesn't matter because grub still won't emerge. I think I should just install new since it would probably just be faster to do that anyway but I'm not sure.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32320
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kas_,

What profile are you using?

You cannot use grub on /no-multilib as grub is a 32 bit program. On /no-multilib you must use grub-static and to run grub-static, to install it to the MBR, your kernel needs to support 32 bit binaries.

--- edit ---
Code:
Portage 2.1.11.55 (default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop ....

Forget it, that's a multilib profile
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop

lol, nvm. So should I just install it like normal? If i do that, do I need to delete all the stuff on the drive first?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32320
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kas_,

Just fix grub. There is no need to reinstall everything.

Does your kernel have support for running 32 bit binaries?

Code:
checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc... (cached) x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -m32
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
checking for suffix of executables...
checking whether we are cross compiling... configure: error: in `/var/tmp/portage/sys-boot/grub-0.97-r12/work/grub-0.97':
configure: error: cannot run C compiled programs.

The test program was compiled but could not be run. We need to
Code:
See `config.log' for more details


Can you post that log file?
Its in /var/tmp/portage/sys-boot/grub-0.97-r12/... somewhere
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kas_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's kinda unfortunate...I already did re-install everything.

But thanks for helping.

--edit--
actually. there's more of a problem than that. I did re-install but grub but I have this same problem as this guy. http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-828186-start-0.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum