Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why AHCI driver Used When Sata Controller is in IDE mode?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 757

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:12 am    Post subject: Why AHCI driver Used When Sata Controller is in IDE mode? Reply with quote

If my Sata Controller is in IDE mode, why is the ahci driver being used?

Code:

        *-storage
             description: SATA controller
             product: SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [IDE mode]
             vendor: ATI Technologies Inc
             physical id: 11
             bus info: pci@0000:00:11.0
             version: 00
             width: 32 bits
             clock: 66MHz
             capabilities: storage pm ahci_1.0 bus_master cap_list
             configuration: driver=ahci latency=32
             resources: irq:22 ioport:ff00(size=8) ioport:fe00(size=4) ioport:fd00(size=8) ioport:fc00(size=4) ioport:fb00(size=16) memory:fe02f000-fe02f3ff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4656
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because you are lucky? I have a box here that has no AHCI choice in BIOS because of some stoopid patent issue (although hardware is AHCI capable).
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 757

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's good to hear :) But I'm trying to figure out the logic/contradiction in this....the mode is IDE and the driver is not IDE...the driver being used is ACHI. Shouldn't the ATA driver be applied and used?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4656
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Basically, it may be possible your BIOS tells the controller is IDE (needed for Windows installs) but still leaves AHCI mode available.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31991
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dman777,

Switch the BIOS to use AHCI mode. IDE mode is intended to be used once only, by Windows users that need to install the AHCI driver.
As such, the performance in IDE mode is often dreadful. e.g, no DMA.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum