Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] Xfce4 and Xinerama not working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eponymous
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:48 pm    Post subject: [solved] Xfce4 and Xinerama not working Reply with quote

Hi,

I've just installed the xfce4-meta by following the guide at: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xfce-config.xml

Which amongst other things installed:

Code:

xfce-base/xfce4-meta-4.10
xfce-base/xfwm4-4.10.0
xfce-base/xfdesktop-4.10.0


However, I can't get xinerama working for my dual monitors. I have the USE flag in my /etc/portage/make.conf and I've just finished removing GNOME which worked fine with my dual monitors.
However I can't see any of the above packages are actually looking at the xinerama use flag :S

Am I missing something?


Last edited by eponymous on Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quilosaq
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Dec 2009
Posts: 840

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Verifies that you've built the package gtk+ with the use xinerama.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 277
Location: St Thomas Ontario

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

perhaps x11-misc/arandr would do what you require .. I've used it with a dual monitor set-up for quite some time .. with xfce4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eponymous
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gtk+ seems to be built with xinerama:

Code:

~ $ emerge -pv gtk+

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/gtk+-3.4.4:3  USE="X cups introspection xinerama (-aqua) -colord -debug -examples (-packagekit) {-test} -vim-syntax (-wayland)" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB


Is there some menu option in Xfce to enable that I've missed? I did have a look in the obvious places but couldn't find anything...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2868
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Under the desktop menu (right-click on the root window) under "Settings" there should be an entry called "Display". In there you can configure your display configuration as you would xrandr from the commandline.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eponymous
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've checked the display and it shows both monitors and lets me do stuff like rotate each one individually - but there are no options to make it one big desktop. I'm very confused....

Also I don't have XRandR installed - I don't think I had this installed with Gnome.

I do have x11-libs/libXrandr installed though so it must be pulled in by XFCE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 277
Location: St Thomas Ontario

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

uncheck mirroring on the monitors .. btw the arandr gui to xrandr offers a few more options than the current display settings app in xfce4 .. and makes it easier to fix your issues

also position the "setting app (arandr)" images of the monitors .. they are drag-able if you have not already done so
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2868
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is an informative blog post on this topic, which explains that proper multi-monitor support doesn't show up in XFCE until version 4.12, which is not yet in Portage.

Your best bet is probably to follow derk's suggestion to use arandr; the steps are described in the blog post.

You could also use the xrandr commandline tool, with the steps described here.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eponymous
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys, that worked. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum