Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
1st PC build. Is this correct? Also suggest good software!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:25 pm    Post subject: 1st PC build. Is this correct? Also suggest good software! Reply with quote

I assembled a PC in an old Lucky Star case. It has a turbo button, a reset button, and the power button is setup with four wires to break mains over both hot and neutral. Right now, the reset button is just attatched to the power pins on the motherboard.

Parts:
Tachyon platinum 550W PSU
Asrock z77m mobo
i53570k Proc
RipjawsZ 2x4gb DDR3 2400MHZ
Vertex 3 240gb SSD

Okay - Right now I am running Knoppix off a class 2 sd card in a usb reader. Can I use this to install Gentoo? It seems that I can.

I'm looking at this guide as a starting point. http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml
These notes should be helpful - http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/UEFI_Gentoo_Quick_Install_Guide

Are there any odd steps in regards to installing gentoo from a knoppix as opposed to a gentoo? I just need to get a build environment, gentoo code and dependencies...I've only installed gentoo once before, so, I know it works, lol.

I've got a Zalman all in one water cooling sitting on the table, to be installed later. First I want to get everything going with the stock cooler...that way I can compare them. What if this water cooler is stupid and worse than the stock cooler? It /was/ only $35. I have got to know. (The loosing cooler gets turned into a heatsink for power LEDs!)

Hopefully this install will go easy. I will be back to update my progress and ask actual /specific/ questions later.

cheers


Last edited by koopdi on Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

koopdi,

I use mint/debian for installations. If you have a term and internet connection you should be good to go :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jpc22
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Surely you can install gentoo from any running linux distro, never done it but folks have done it before.

As long as you have all the necessary utilities to perform the required commands during the installation, which should be the case on a rescue cd like knoppix, you should be fine.
Installing gentoo on that machine should not be so long with those specs.

here's a list of software i like to use on my machines.

openbox as a window manager
openbox-menu for dynamic menu
tint 2 as taskbar with tintwizard for config
feh to load background image
conky to show stats over background
volwheel to control volume
terminator as a terminals , has gnome dependencies tough
konqueror as file manager/browser , kde/dolphin dependencies
opera as my web browser/mail reader
firefox as a backup web browser
gnome-disk-utility and partitionmanager to manage/partition drives
k3b to burn discs
gedit, geany and libreoffice as text editors.
vlc as media player
gnash, lightspark, nsplugin and iceadtea for open source flash/java. goes only up to 480* on youtube tough.

With all of those i usually keep my whole system under 12gb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flamingnoms
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just came here to insert my two cents:
For a window manager (not desktop enviroment like Gnome or KDE) i usually go with a tiling option (such as dwm (c), which is my prefered wm). Options such as i3 (plain text), stumpwm (common lisp), awesome (lua), and xmonad (haskell) also exist. The language marked beside them denote what language they are customized in, and 3/5 of them are written in.
For a terminal emulator i personally use URxvt, Terminator is a nice one too. Tmux or GNU Screen are a nice addition to a virtual terminal too, or a plain console based install.
feh for image viewing and setting the background
I use luakit as my main webbrowser. Its nice and lightweight, and has vim keybindings.
For email I use mutt, which is a very nice terminal based email system. Takes a bit of learning though.
For text editing I use emacs (for bigger projects) and vim (for quick editing)
That's really all I have.... entire system is under 3 GB
_________________
Nurble nurble.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jpc22
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

3gb for a system is pretty lightweight. i will surely try luakit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^marcs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
openbox as a window manager
openbox-menu for dynamic menu
tint 2 as taskbar with tintwizard for config
feh to load background image
conky to show stats over background
volwheel to control volume
terminator as a terminals , has gnome dependencies tough
konqueror as file manager/browser , kde/dolphin dependencies
opera as my web browser/mail reader
firefox as a backup web browser
gnome-disk-utility and partitionmanager to manage/partition drives
k3b to burn discs
gedit, geany and libreoffice as text editors.
vlc as media player
gnash, lightspark, nsplugin and iceadtea for open source flash/java. goes only up to 480* on youtube tough.

OR, You could just use KDE and have most of above software nicely integrated.
You have pretty neat gear up there, so IMHO there is no need to be greedy.

My tailored KDE installation plus bunch of other software takes 5,5GB on SSD, I'm keeping /home, /var and various partage dirs on regular hdd.

And yea, there's that, You should read some Linux & SSD guide, it's even more important on distros like gentoo.

Quote:
It has a turbo button

Good old days :o
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jpc22
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not that i dont like kde but it was not as smooth as openbox in my case (encryption,hardened-sources/selinux/grsec/pax/...).


Libreoffice is a big package on my system, so that's what i would cut down if i wanted/needed a smaller system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Formatted disk as per uefi quick install quide. 500mb fat 32 bootable partition, the rest is ext4.

Shellx64.efi loads as expected when copied to the fat 32 partition.

Downloading stage3 tar.bz2 now...

Question - can I use Shellx64.efi to point the uefi loader to my kernel? Or do I need to get knoppix to boot into efi mode and set it from there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The idea witht the turbo button is that it should allow switching between performance profiles - like overclocked and underclocked.
As I understand it, the system will need a mild overclock to actually take advantage of 2400 ram. Haven't really looked into that much yet. Just happy that it boots so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2163

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

koopdi ...

If your intending to use UEFI then the boot medium (knoppix) must be booted efi, otherwise you can't use efivars (and so setup the efi boot). I'm not sure knoppix supports this, but other boot disks do (such as sysrescuecd).

There are work arounds but you'll probably want to use a disk that supports efi booting.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The archlinux wiki suggests that it is possible but not recommended. Why not recommended?
It seems the most direct route to use BCFG command to add gentoo as a boot entry. Otherwise, I could load the efi gentoo kernel from efi shell and run efibootmgr...

Just got off work. Going to hack more at it today.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Unified_Extensible_Firmware_Interface#Boot_Process_under_UEFI

Quote:
Important UEFI Shell Commands
UEFI Shell commands usually support -b option which makes output pause after each page. map lists recognized filesystems (fs0, ...) and data storage devices (blk0, ...). Run help -b to list available commands.
More info at http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/efi-shells-and-scripting/
bcfg
BCFG command is used to modify the UEFI NVRAM entries, which allow the user to change the boot entries or driver options. This command is described in detail in page 83 (Section 5.3) of "UEFI Shell Specification 2.0" pdf document.
Note: Users are recommended to try bcfg only if efibootmgr fails to create working boot entries in their system.
Note: UEFI Shell 1.0 does not support bcfg command.
To dump a list of current boot entries -
Shell> bcfg boot dump -v
To add a boot menu entry for rEFInd (for example) as 4th (numbering starts from zero) option in the boot menu
Shell> bcfg boot add 3 fs0:\EFI\arch\refind\refindx64.efi "Arch Linux (rEFInd)"
where fs0: is the mapping corresponding to the UEFI System Partition and \EFI\arch\refind\refindx64.efi is the file to be launched.
To remove the 4th boot option
Shell> bcfg boot rm 3
To move the boot option #3 to #0 (i.e. 1st or the default entry in the UEFI Boot menu)
Shell> bcfg boot mv 3 0
For bcfg help text
Shell> help bcfg -v -b
or
Shell> bcfg -? -v -b


Thank you for all the software suggestions. I have often drooled over the openbox desktop screenshots. I will surely give that a try.
I used to use awesome wm back on archlinux on an aging laptop - trying to maximize screen real estate for vim windows and stuff.
I just upgraded my $25 goodwill monitor to an asus vg24qe 1920x1080 @ 144hz. I am blown away by the workflow potential.
A future upgrade will be a graphics card. I am excited that steam is coming for linux.
Right now, I mostly play urban terror bomb mode. Never gets old. =D (but someone please suggest some other linux games!!!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2163

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

koopdi wrote:
The archlinux wiki suggests that it is possible but not recommended. Why not recommended? It seems the most direct route to use BCFG command to add gentoo as a boot entry. Otherwise, I could load the efi gentoo kernel from efi shell and run efibootmgr...

koopdi ... as I said, there are workarounds, I wasn't sure how familiar you were with EFI and so provided a warning. Basically, if your not booted efi, then you can't run efibootmgr and set the NVRAM to boot the kernel efi stub, or efi bootloader/bootmanager of choice. This can cause issues for some as they've never heard of efi shell and expect the they can run 'grub --install' or what-have-you and have it work.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

make.conf
USE="bindist mmx sse sse2"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
rsync.us.gentoo.org

I will run mirrorselect when gentoo is up. Using us.gentoo.org for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

running mount -o bind /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc

instead of

mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc

as per http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/altinstall.xml#doc_chap3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, now the first snag. I am following the alt install for this part:

Code:
root@Microknoppix:~# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/env -i TERM=$TERM /bin/bash
chroot: failed to run command `/bin/env': Exec format error


Quote:
Code Listing 3.4: Chrooting into the new environment

(Some LiveCDs use a funny environment setup, hence the -i option for
cleaning it up to a reasonable state.)
# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/env -i TERM=$TERM /bin/bash
# env-update
# source /etc/profile
# export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"


Thoughts on how to proceed?

similarly,
Code:
root@Microknoppix:~# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
chroot: failed to run command `/bin/bash': Exec format error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Chroot_from_a_livecd#Exec_format_error

Quote:
If the chroot command returns with the error "chroot: cannot run command `/bin/bash': Exec format error", this usually indicates that the live CD environment is not compatible with that of the installed system.


Aw. I guess I need to make a new boot media anyways.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another thing is that I don't have a cd reader. There is also only one flash drive and it contains the knoppix. There is an imac.
It looks like the plan of attack is to use the mac to write a 64 bit linux onto the flash drive. Boot this soon to be gentoo system with that flash drive and proceed with chroot as planned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, so what is the best distribution for installing over usb?

I am looking at porteus 64bit, I bet that will work.

Will report back later.


DL'ing

Install-amd64-minimal-20120110.iso (gentoo)
and
Porteus-v2.0-x86_64.iso

I don't expect to need to the former.

Plan of attack:
burn Porteus CD,
use porteus CD to write Porteus USB drive,
use Porteus USB drive to chroot into the extracted gentoo stage 3 base...

I really wish I could get away from CDs but it seems that they are still ubiquitous.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, I just noticed BillWho had recommended Linux Mint. I will try that if porteus fails.

I got some errors on running env-update, not sure what they mean;

porteus / # env-update
"/etc/portage/make.conf", line 15: Invalid token 'None' (not '=')
!!! Invalid PORTDIR_OVERLAY (not a dir): '/usr/portage'
!!! main-repo not set in DEFAULT and PORTDIR is empty.
"/etc/portage/make.conf", line 15: Invalid token 'None' (not '=')
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting from make.globals is invalid: 'bzip2'
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...


From http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/altinstall.xml#doc_chap3

Quote:


(Some LiveCDs use a funny environment setup, hence the -i option for
cleaning it up to a reasonable state.)
# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/env -i TERM=$TERM /bin/bash
# env-update
# source /etc/profile
# export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Turns out, I forgot to add the GENTOO_MIRRORS and SYNC variables to make.conf . There was just a line at the end with rsync.us.gentoo.org .

Code:
USE="bindist mmx sse sse2"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
SYNC="rsync.us.gentoo.org"
GENTOO_MIRROS="ftp://ftp.ucsb.edu/pub/mirrors/linux/gentoo/ http://mirror.mcs.anl.gov/pub/gentoo/"

That's better!

Edit: SYNC="rsync.us.gentoo.org"
changed to SYNC="rsync://rsync.namerica.gentoo.org"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
(chroot) porteus / # emerge --sync

!!! Your current profile is deprecated and not supported anymore.
!!! Use eselect profile to update your profile.
!!! Please upgrade to the following profile if possible:
        default/linux/amd64/13.0

...
Code:

@ERROR: Unknown module 'metadata'
rsync error: error starting client-server protocol (code 5) at main.c(1516) [Receiver=3.0.9]
>>> Retrying...
!!! Exhausted addresses for rsync.namerica.gentoo.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

koopdi,

Check your profile with
Code:
eselect profile list

You want it set to
Code:
laptop bill # eselect profile list|grep '*'
  [3]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop *

If you want just a default desktop profile.

If you intend to use the gnome desktop then use default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome

Use SYNC="rsync://rsync.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage" for syncing.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome! Thank you, that would have taking me a loooong time to troubleshoot.
The guide simply recommends using rsync.us.gentoo.org. It says nothing about SYNC= or /gentoo-portage.

I used the Desktop profile, it appeared that none of the profiles were selected initially.
I intend to use window managers as opposed to a full desktop suite, at least initially. I might experiment with KDE and GNOME later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel panic - not syncing: no init found.

Tried building again using a kernel seed. Now it just hangs when launched from the efi shell.

Will try again using genkernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koopdi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any reason /not/ to run make xconfig from porteus, rather than make menuconfig from the chroot?

root@porteus: cd /gentoo/usr/src/linux
root@porteus: make xconfig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum