View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Beelzebub_
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 4:05 pm    Post subject: +encryption +LVM [solved] Reply with quote

Hi,

i have installed gentoo a long time ago, without any encryption and without a LVM.
I dont want to install gentoo and all my stuff once again. Therefore i am looking for a way to change my installation in some steps. The problem is i have no experience in that topic.

I have one SSD and one HDD.
At the SSD is my /boot / and some free space about the half. - 50GB
At the HDD is my /more partition which i use for my stuff (videos, dokuments..) - 400GB

I think i should start to make a new partition with a encrypted LVM at my sdb (HDD) and copy my stuff over to a /more partition at the LVM, but how can i prozess that i get a complete encrypted system?

Do you have any ideas?

Last edited by Beelzebub_ on Fri Mar 22, 2013 10:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
jpc22
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To get a fully encrypted system like you asked, if you really require and want the best security, means you will need an external drive to backup your data.

There are many ways to set up a such system, depending on your needs / level of paranoia.

Tell us what you want to acheive with crypto and we will know beter what to reccomend you.

Like if it's a laptop and you want to protect data if it is stolen, or you want the device to be protected against high profile attacks including physical acess to your machine, like keyloggers / van eck phreacking , cold boot attacks , tampering with your bootloader and ultimately a tree letter agency breaking in when the computer is running pushing you away from it and dumping it in a liquid nitrogen vat and taking it to a lab.