GRUB2 EFI Console video hangs, but system boots [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dopow
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:18 pm    Post subject: GRUB2 EFI Console video hangs, but system boots [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hello,

This is my first time working with grub2 and an EFI system, and I'm stumped.

The system boots fine up until the point that OpenRC would start (http://sinewam.com/public/gentoo-efi-openrc-boot.png), and then I lose video on the console. However, the serial console continues to work, and the system does boot, and I can ssh it.

I've tried booting grub in "console" mode (no framebuffer), but that doesn't seem to change anything. I'm pretty sure that I have all of the kernel modules needed, but can't be sure. I'm running hardened sources 3.8.2 (also tried 3.8.0). I know these are both masked, but 3.7.5-r1 was causing all sorts of problems.

Has anyone seen this before?

Thanks!

Last edited by dopow on Sun Mar 10, 2013 1:23 am; edited 1 time in total
srs5694
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote