Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wireless connection lost again
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:47 am    Post subject: Wireless connection lost again Reply with quote

hi All
I had problem in establishing a wireless connection and this problem was solved with the help of the community through this thread previously.

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-952338-highlight-.html

How ever I continued installation added some packages etc and made an
Code:
emerge --deepclean


and wireless connection is lost since then.

I get the "Error wlan0 not found"

Could you please provide a check list for me. I did the things in the thread that I gave the link above but didn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6499
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge --depclean (typo corrected) is dangerous as you now know.
Recommend emerge -pv depclean and read the cautions on the screen.
boot gentoo
Code:
ifconfig -a > /ifca
ifconfig > /ifc
lspci -k > /lsp
ls -l /boot > /lsl
uname -a > /una
reboot to sysrescd and mount the gentoo partitions then run
Code:
wgepaste /mnt/gentoo/ifca
wgepaste /mnt/gentoo/ifc
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/lsl
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/lsp
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/una
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/log/dmesg
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/log/rc.log
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/.config
and post the url's returned.

sounds like you have lost the driver or firmware for the nic or the nic's name has changed
ifca will give us the names of every interface the kernel creates
ifc will give us the name of every interface that has a driver and is up
lsl will give us the available kernel names and the time of their creation
lsp will give us device names and assigned modules and drivers for those devices
una will give us the name of the running kernel
dmesg will give us the actions taken and results during kernel booting
rc.log will give us the actions taken after the kernel is booted during system initialization.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE
I should tell that sometimes
Code:
ifconfig -a
shows wlan0 and sometimes it doesn`t show. I thought of modem being on or off but I`m sure it was on all the time.
Therefore I wanted to produce the outputs when ifconfig -a didn`t show wlan0. I rebooted several times and powered off etc but today ifconfig -a shows wlan0.

The outputs are below
http://bpaste.net/show/82287/
http://bpaste.net/show/82288/
http://bpaste.net/show/82289/
http://bpaste.net/show/82290/
http://bpaste.net/show/82291/
http://bpaste.net/show/82292/
http://bpaste.net/show/82293/
http://bpaste.net/show/82295/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6499
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up
ifconfig
does ifconfig output show wlan0 ?
Code:
rfkill list
any blocked? If blocked
Code:
 rfkill unblock all
rfkill list

_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

today yes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6499
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ifconfig -a showed wlan0 in your paste ifca available interfaces
but ifconfig did not show wlan0 in paste ifc running interfaces
if you just booted gentoo and ran ifconfig wlan0 up followed by ifconfig and wlan0 showed up in the ifconfig output we know that the interface did not start at boot but will start manually
assuming that to be the case
with gentoo booted:
Code:
 ifconfig wlan0 down
then
Code:
 ls -l /etc/init.d/net.wlan0
Does /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> net.lo appear in the output?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the output is:
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Mar  1 19:33 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> net.lo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6499
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
iwlist wlan0 scan
Did it scan? Did it see your network?
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
Did it appear to start?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both are yes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6499
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ping -c2 8.8.8.8
ping -c2 google.com
Both work?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes both work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6499
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
nano /etc/rc.conf
make sure it contains
Quote:
rc_parallel="NO"
and that the line is not commented
Code:
nano /etc/conf.d/net
if you are still using
Quote:
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
#wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211"
recommend switch to
Quote:
#wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211"
If the trouble still occurs try
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked and made the suggested changes and rebooted.

Connection didn't appear and I made
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart


the result is:

bahost yavuz # /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
* Bringing up interface wlan0
* ERROR: interface wlan0 does not exist
* Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
* ERROR: net.wlan0 failed to start

and then I hit enter repeatedly after these commands randomly
Code:
ifconfig, ifconfig -a, iwconfig,...etc

there apperaed
Code:
bahost yavuz # iwconfig
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=0 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
         
sit0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

and I made
Code:
 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
again and pinged and now it's connected.

Not being able to establish connection is a problem but the inconsistency is a HUGE problem. :) This is computer and it's supposed to "behave" the same way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6499
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a workaround:
Code:
nano /etc/local.d/wlan0.start
Edit to
Quote:
#!/bin/sh
ifconfig wlan0 up
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
Then
Code:
 chmod +x /etc/local.d/wlan0.start

To start the local.d scripts at boot time, add its init.d script to your default runlevel:
Code:
 rc-update add local default

Now you can start the service by making OpenRC check for stopped services in the default runlevel
Code:
rc
or start it explicitly
Code:
rc-service local start

make the changes and reboot to check it.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE
before applying the workaround I had a chance to produce the outputs with wlan0 not showing in ifconfig command

Remeber
Quote:
I should tell that sometimes
Code:
Code:
ifconfig -a

shows wlan0 and sometimes it doesn`t show. I thought of modem being on or off but I`m sure it was on all the time.
Therefore I wanted to produce the outputs when ifconfig -a didn`t show wlan0. I rebooted several times and powered off etc but today ifconfig -a shows wlan0.


The new outputs are
http://bpaste.net/show/82473/
http://bpaste.net/show/82474/
http://bpaste.net/show/82475/
http://bpaste.net/show/82476/
http://bpaste.net/show/82477/
http://bpaste.net/show/82478/
http://bpaste.net/show/82479/
http://bpaste.net/show/82480/

respectively/
Edit: When checked the urls I realised that in http://bpaste.net/show/82473/ wlan0 appears although it shouldn`t. I booted gentoo and did
Code:
ifconfig -a > /ifca
followed by
Code:
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/ifca
the result is: http://bpaste.net/show/82486/

I don`t know whether I should post the output of remaining 7 wgetpastes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6499
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

everything looks good except wlan0 is not being started by the net.lo/net.wlan0 script.
does
Code:
 rc-update show
produce
Quote:
net.lo boot
net.wlan0 default
indicating that net.lo starts in boot runlevel and net.wlan0 in the default runlevel?
Code:
wgetpaste /etc/init.d/net.lo
ls -l /etc/init.d/net* | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /etc/rc.conf
and post the url's
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
net.lo boot
net.wlan0 default

both are yes
Code:
wgetpaste /etc/init.d/net.lo

there`s no net.lo file
Code:
ls -l /etc/init.d/net* | wgetpaste

http://bpaste.net/show/82493/
Code:
wgetpaste /etc/rc.conf

http://bpaste.net/show/82494/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6499
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where did /etc/init.d/netconfig2 come from? netconfig seems to belong to redhat/fedora. Are you dual booting redhat/fedora?
Code:
rc-update show
does netconfig appear in any runlevel? If so delete it. Default gentoo style networking does not work well with other network managers installed, in fact installing more than one network manager seems to cause trouble universally.
I have wgetpasted a copy of net.lo at http://bpaste.net/show/82500/ You can download that or get a copy of net.lo from the cd. Move the net.lo file to /etc/init.d/ and make it executable.
Code:
chmod +x /etc/init.d/net.lo
Then
Code:
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.wlan0
rc-update add net.lo boot
rc-update add net.wlan0 default
reboot


edit: netconfig2 also appears on system rescue cd could you be accidentally booting the sysresccd from time to time?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
/etc/init.d/netconfig2

When I checked back I couldn't see it and also it doesn't appear in the rc-update show. I don't know what caused that.

I have only one OS on my PC.
I did
Code:
nano -w /etc/init.d/net.lo

a blank file opened and I copy/pasted the file that you wgetpasted and saved.

Then I did the rest of the things and rebooted. No success.

Because the commands
Code:
ln -s net.lo net.wlan0
rc-update add net.lo boot
rc-update add net.wlan0 default

produced "...already exists" outputs I wanted to remove and redo the commands but could only remove the

Code:
....6 Mar  9 20:47 net.eth0 -> net.lo

I rebooted. It's still the same. wlan0 not found.

I think problem is caused by remnants or drops from my previous trials .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6499
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I booted sysresccd here and ran ls -l /etc/init.d/net* and received a response containing netconfig2 but not net.lo or net.wlan0
I think it is confirmed that sometimes gentoo has booted and sometimes sysresccd thus accounting for at least some of the erratic behavior.
Put the sysresccd in a desk drawer :) and boot gentoo. If network does not start, run
Code:
 ls -l /etc/init.d/net*
The output should include only
Quote:
/etc/init.d/net.lo
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> net.lo
/etc/init.d/netmount
if
Quote:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> net.lo
is not present, remake the symlink and ensure net.lo is still executable
Code:
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.wlan0
chmod +x /etc/init.d/net.lo
Try starting the network
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.lo restart
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
If that fails try
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
let me know how each step goes.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I put the systemrescuecd away :)
I booted gentoo
output of
Code:
ls -l /etc/init.d/net*

shows only:
Quote:
/etc/init.d/net.lo
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> net.lo
/etc/init.d/netmount


Quote:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> net.lo
was present so I did
Code:
cd /etc/init.d
chmod +x /etc/init.d/net.lo

to ensure that net.lo is executable
then I did
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.lo restart
result is:
http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=wb5hzq&s=6
I did
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart

[url] http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=34gkn7s&s=6[/url]

[url] http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=1z2dtnb&s=6[/url]
since it didn't fail
I rebooted (I got wlan0 not found). I did "poweroff" and restarted the pc still wlan0 not found.
The result after reboot
http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=11iijcy&s=6
By the way When I turn the computer on I login as a user on the lxdm screen. When I'm in I open the terminal and "su root" and do the things there.
http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=263k1z8&s=6
In this picture I didn't do anything between the two
Code:
 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
commands but as you see first fails, second doesn't
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krenshala
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jan 2006
Posts: 81
Location: Austin TX, NorAm, Sol III

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is your WLAN card something you can reseat? Not sure if it will help, but I have seen intermittent behavior like this before if its not seated properly (in notebook computers).

Its almost like the driver loads, but takes long enough that the system thinks it failed to load.
_________________
krenshala
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krenshala it`s a usb dongle.


Code:
dmesg


http://bpaste.net/show/84156/

look at line 596. The usb dongle "doesn`t accept address". That also explains why "waiting for uevents to be processed" takes too much time.

Still no stable connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum