Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Quick Install Guide - Emerge suddenly gone
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cynagen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:03 am    Post subject: Quick Install Guide - Emerge suddenly gone Reply with quote

This merits some explanation for anyone interested...

Following http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-quickinstall.xml so I can get my 2600SC online quick, I used the minimal install disc as marked in the guide. I have followed every step of the way exactly to the T on every step besides one, but for some reason I highly doubt any of these commands screwed this up this magnificently. Everything's smooth as silk until 2.19 of the guide.

Instead of following the guide to a T here only:
Quote:
livecd linux # time make -j2

(Elapsed time depends highly on the options you selected)
real 3m51.962s
user 3m27.060s
sys 0m24.310s

livecd linux # make modules_install
livecd linux # cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel


I summarized:
Quote:
livecd linux # time make -j2 && make modules_install && cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel


After this following the steps up to 2.26 is smooth, no problems as well.

Then 2.26:
Quote:
livecd conf.d # time emerge syslog-ng vixie-cron
-bash: emerge: command not found

real 0m0.001s
user 0m0.000s
sys 0m0.000s


No more emerge... Now, I will say this, from the time of running 2.19 until getting to this point I left the machine on overnight waiting at prompt, however that doesn't appear to be an issue as the SSH session has not closed itself meaning either side terminated, or went dead from power/network loss, none of which happened, machines were on all day no problem. Do I need to re-wget portage? Or start all over and do Stage 3 again?

-Hapless fool diving too far in, with hopes of a fantastic machine being the result,
Cynagen

Gentoo for a reason: The core system doesn't change all that often, making it a perfect candidate for a highly optimized, compiled-explicitly-for-its-configuration-and-duties OS, aka Gentoo.

Any direction (I'm sure I screwed this up somewhere and got lost,) would be helpful. Machine is literally still in it's initial boot from the minimal liveCD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Developer
Developer


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4412
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My guess is you are not inside the chroot of the unpacked stage3.
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cynagen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yngwin wrote:
My guess is you are not inside the chroot of the unpacked stage3.


Step already completed, chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7938
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, but you may have inadvertently exited. Post the output of
Code:
ls /mnt/gentoo
please.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 999 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cynagen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
Yes, but you may have inadvertently exited. Post the output of
Code:
ls /mnt/gentoo
please.

- John


*facepalms* Thank you for pointing out that I'm an idiot... I have no idea how I exited from the chroot, but yeah... and I hosed the installation so I started over and NOW I can't get make menuconfig to work for kernel compiling... so the entire compile has been worthless, third time I've started over now, almost ready to throw the server out the window.

P.S. This isn't my first time doing Gentoo, and I'm very familiar with linux environments, but it's been a LONG time since I last touched Gentoo, and now I'm paying for that in spades as nothing seems to effin work.

... 2nd Edit: It appears one of the drives in my RAID5 array has crashed and now the system is rebuilding with the hotspare, so no effin install for me tonight! When it rains, it POURS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1710

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rough check I use for chroot is the df command - since /etc/mtab doesn't
usually get copied into the chroot, df outside the chroot works normally and
df inside the chroot complains.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7938
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cynagen wrote:
... and I hosed the installation so I started over...
Starting over is a bad habit you got into while running another operating system. Next time, post details of your issue and we'll help you fix it, just like last time. :wink:

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 999 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10127
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some people just do

Code:
PS1="(chroot) $PS1"


Or a variant, you get the idea. That way you'll notice immediately when you are on the bootstrapped system and when you are in the live CD.

I'll tell you the same: there's no point in restarting the installation, you can pick it at any moment from where you left. You can even shut it off, go on holidays and continue the installation two months later if you wish.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cynagen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that I know this... When I try to boot, I'm getting VFS: Cannot open root device "sda3" or unknown-block(2,0) when trying to boot, no clue what I did wrong... Maybe compiled too many drivers into the kernel? I was thinking to use the live CD, and chroot onto the drive and rebuild the kernel with fewer options.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
When I try to boot, I'm getting VFS: Cannot open root device "sda3"

Sounds more like a grub error than compiling too many drivers into the kernel.

Check the menu.list or grub.cfg (I forget what the .97 grub menu list file is named) entries.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cynagen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
Quote:
When I try to boot, I'm getting VFS: Cannot open root device "sda3"

Sounds more like a grub error than compiling too many drivers into the kernel.

Check the menu.list or grub.cfg (I forget what the .97 grub menu list file is named) entries.


Actually, I found out what it was... and I was just about to post that I had fixed it with some research... I didn't compile a kernel driver needed to support the RAID controller... MegaRaid support. Recompiling the kernel now with support and removing all the unneeded crap to reduce kernel size.

Well, that ended up in an 'emerge genkernel' as I finally gave up trying to guess what freakin drivers I needed installed, so now I have to find out what I need loaded so I can compile that stuff into the kernel so I don't spend time with modprobe on boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linux84601
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:28 pm    Post subject: cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel Reply with quote

I'm new to gentoo and am having problems with the install step that wants you to copy the kernel you configured from "make modules_install" I am using esxi vmware and I used the default values in that were presented in "make modules_install". When I try to copy the bzImage file over, the copy fails. I went into the arch directory and noticed that there was no i386 directory. It seems to me that I must be missing something in the make modules process. I look forward to getting passed this step.

Thanks in advance



----------------------
Anwser:

Ok, so I now see that the i386 directory is for a 32bit install and I'm doing a 64bit install. The bzImage file is located in the x86_64 directory! Hope this helps someone avoid the frustration I went through
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum