Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Failed to determine the layout of your Qt installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
unixj
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 7:27 am    Post subject: Failed to determine the layout of your Qt installation Reply with quote

So the initial ease of installing Gentoo Prefix (on OSX) gave way to obstacle when trying to install something else. The most time-sensitive thing I need to install is PyQt4:

Code:
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies  ... done!
[ebuild  N    *] dev-python/sip-4.14.2:0/9::gentoo  USE="-debug -doc" 729 kB
[ebuild  N     ] x11-libs/qt-core-4.8.4-r4:4::gentoo  USE="aqua exceptions glib ssl -c++0x -debug -iconv -icu -pch -qt3support" 231,048 kB
[ebuild  N     ] x11-libs/qt-script-4.8.4:4::gentoo  USE="aqua exceptions -c++0x -debug -iconv (-jit) -pch" 0 kB
[ebuild  N    *] dev-python/PyQt4-4.9.4-r1::gentoo  USE="-X -assistant -dbus -debug -declarative -doc -examples -kde -multimedia -opengl -phonon -sql -svg -webkit -xmlpatterns" 9,572 kB

Total: 4 packages (4 new), Size of downloads: 241,349 kB


The first 3 worked, but PyQt4 fails with this error:

Code:
 * Configuration of dev-python/PyQt4-4.9.4-r1 with CPython 2.7...
python2.7 configure.py --confirm-license --bindir=/opt/gentoo/usr/bin --destdir=/opt/gentoo/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages --sipdir=/opt/gentoo/usr/share/sip --assume-shared --no-timestamp --qsci-api --enable=QtCore --enable=QtNetwork --enable=QtScript --enable=QtXml --no-designer-plugin CC=x86_64-apple-darwin12-gcc CXX=x86_64-apple-darwin12-g++ LINK=x86_64-apple-darwin12-g++ LINK_SHLIB=x86_64-apple-darwin12-g++ CFLAGS=-march=nocona -O2 -pipe CXXFLAGS=-march=nocona -O2 -pipe LFLAGS=-Wl,-dead_strip_dylibs
Determining the layout of your Qt installation...
Error: Failed to determine the layout of your Qt installation. Try again using
the --verbose flag to see more detail about the problem.


Adding --verbose to the configure.py shows this for the last line:

Code:
g++ -headerpad_max_install_names -headerpad_max_install_names -Wl,-dead_strip_dylibs -mmacosx-version-min=10.5 -o qtdirs qtdirs.o   -F/opt/gentoo/usr/lib/qt4 -L/opt/gentoo/usr/lib/qt4 -framework QtCore -F/opt/gentoo/usr/lib/qt4 -L/opt/gentoo/usr/lib/qt4 -lgthread-2.0 -lglib-2.0 -lintl
Error: Failed to determine the layout of your Qt installation. Try again using
the --verbose flag to see more detail about the problem.


But when I run that line by hand, it seems to work. It creates qtdirs.

Any ideas? I also tried PyQt4-4.9.6-r2 with the same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unixj
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I realize I'm probably talking to myself, but I got a little farther by debugging the configure.py. For details see:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=458630

But then it failed at the last step when linking. Turns out there's an earlier bug about this:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=437214

Has anyone ever managed to compile PyQt4 on Gentoo Prefix?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unixj
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nevermind, I just hacked the ebuild:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=437214
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum