Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] No sound - AMD Azalia
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JuszR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Nov 2010
Posts: 134
Location: Tlv

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:54 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] No sound - AMD Azalia Reply with quote

Code:
# lspci | grep -i audio
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6250/6310]
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller (rev 01)

At the matrix site i just see one module (interwave)...


Last edited by JuszR on Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PabloEsc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2009
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the audio output - speakers / via HDMI ?
What audio system do You use - pulseaudio / alsa ?
The more info You give, the quicker and more precise You get your response.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JuszR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Nov 2010
Posts: 134
Location: Tlv

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Speakers, HDMI i don't really need.
I use Alsa.

Code:
$ uname -a
Linux nat-pc 3.6.11-gentoo #5 SMP Mon Feb 18 21:06:37 IST 2013 x86_64 AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 192
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, maybe giving some more info can help:

Did you run alsaconf ?
Look at alsamixer, are the outputs there and configured, and is the volume nonzero ?

Also, what are you trying to do, i.e. what application are you using to produce a sound, and what are the setting in that application ?

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5621

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which driver is in use according to 'lspci -k' ?
Minor note: alsaconf is pointless.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JuszR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Nov 2010
Posts: 134
Location: Tlv

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already turned up the volume so that's not a problem, and i'm trying to play a youtube clip (through firefox using html5) and an *.ogg file (wikimedia site).
Code:
lspci -k
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6250/6310]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Device 397f
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller (rev 01)
   Subsystem: Lenovo Device 397f
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1241
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pulse audio gave me problems with youtube html5 videos. i wrote up what fixed it in the pulse audio asoundrc wiki. http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/PulseAudio#Flash.2FHTML5.2Fother_ALSA_users_not_giving_sound

i know if your not using pulse audio and running some other funky alsa settings that something similar will help. if your using something other than HDMI you might just be adjusting the muting unmuting of the hdmi and not the actual device you are trying to control. my /etc/asound.conf file has declarations to use my external usb card rather than the internal card. (when the usb card is plugged in.) you will probably need to setup something to say that the default card is the amd onboard sound rather than hdmi.

Code:

cat /etc/asound.conf
pcm.!default { type hw card MobilePre }
ctl.!default { type hw card MobilePre }

pcm.pulse {
    type pulse
}
ctl.pulse {
    type pulse
}
pcm.!default {
    type pulse
}
ctl.!default {
    type pulse
}


first section to use the external sound card on my system.... pulse sections fixed my html5 audio problem in firefox & seamonkey browsers.

just a shot in the dark guess

Code:

pcm.!default { type hw card snd_hda_intel }
ctl.!default { type hw card snd_hda_intel }

_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
https://wiki.gentoo.org/index.php?title=Special:Contributions/666threesixes666&offset=&limit=500&target=666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5621

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@666threesixes666: :roll: that guide, you've referenced is not really up to date.

@JuszR: perhaps a few simple tests first:
- 'aplay < /dev/urandom' should produce noise
- 'paplay --raw /dev/urandom' ditto

If not, pastebin:
- 'pacmd info'
- 'amixer' and 'amixer -c X' for all of the cards alsa sees (check /proc/asound/)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JuszR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Nov 2010
Posts: 134
Location: Tlv

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
$ aplay < /dev/urandom
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
aplay: main:682: audio open error: No such file or directory

pacmd info
bash: pacmd: command not found

# amixer
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5621

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, for the moment, that just tells you don't have pulseaudio installed yet.
What does 'aplay -l' return ?
What's the content of '/proc/asound/cards' ?
Actually, perhaps you should just make use of 'alsa-info' ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JuszR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Nov 2010
Posts: 134
Location: Tlv

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic_1 [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: CONEXANT Analog [CONEXANT Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Code:
$ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [Generic        ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
                      HD-Audio Generic at 0xf0344000 irq 41
 1 [Generic_1      ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
                      HD-Audio Generic at 0xf0340000 irq 16


alsa-info: http://pastebin.com/p1rTKWHh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5621

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@JuszR: it seems, that a part of 666threesixes666' post was on the spot - it looks like it's a problem of order.

Your next move depends on whether you're going to use pulseaudio or not.
Quite a few people on this forum are strongly opposed to pulseaudio - personally, I'm almost indifferent, though I tend to see it as a natural, if a bit inconvenient at times, solution.

As a quick test, take a look at 'aplay -L' pick a reasonable device referring to card 1 (Azalia) and test with 'aplay < /dev/urandom' as '-D' argument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1241
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ive dealt with these sorts of problems across several linux distributions. other distributions im staunch against pulse audio.... here though, especially as a gnome user, it gets a + from me, its well built and integrated for gentoo. if you do not use gnome, id try to work with out pulse for as long as possible.

this page has the answer to your problem....
http://alsa.opensrc.org/FAQ026

how to select the order of your card..... get your card running before deciding to pulse or not to pulse.


less of a shot in the dark /etc/asound.conf system wide fix.... ~/.asoundrc just your user fix.... (but overrides system so id remove .asoundrc, and just use /etc/asound.conf)
Code:

pcm.!default {
    type hw
    card Generic_1
}
ctl.!default {
    type hw
    card Generic_1
}


restart, and all should be well =D shalom
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
https://wiki.gentoo.org/index.php?title=Special:Contributions/666threesixes666&offset=&limit=500&target=666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JuszR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Nov 2010
Posts: 134
Location: Tlv

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

pcm.!default {
    type hw
    card Generic_1
}
ctl.!default {
    type hw
    card Generic_1
}


Great!! That worked, Thanks u so much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lightsalt2011
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is my problem:
[root@sunplusedu /home]#aplay
aplay: main:682: audio open error: No such file or directory

i have read http://alsa.opensrc.org/FAQ026 , it tell me that 'real soundcards always have an irq'
this is my 'cat /proc/asound/cards '
0 [SMDK ]: WM9713 - SMDK
SMDK (WM9713)
there is not a irq! i wonder
and 'aplay -l' it show me
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SMDK [SMDK], device 0: AC97 PCM Playback AC97 HiFi-0 []
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SMDK [SMDK], device 1: AC97 PCM Capture AC97 HiFi-1 []
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

how can i solve this problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum