Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] grub not updating MBR
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cgmoller
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:37 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] grub not updating MBR Reply with quote

Hello

Just rebuilt my system but having an issue with grub. I followed the handbook instructions to the letter. When it came to grub-install, the command takes nearly 9 minutes to complete though it did report success. When I reboot though, the grub menu and kernel listed are from the install I just blew away. I did repartition with fdisk and changed from using LVM to not using it. I formatted the filesystems and did the bad block search for good measure (it is an older drive).

So I tried the alternative below - but with the same result. I suspect that the embed is failing. Any thoughts. Any way I can wipe it clean before I try again?

Quote:
[root@localhost ~]# grub
grub> find /boot/grub/stage2
(hd0,0)
grub> root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
grub> setup (hd0)
Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... yes
Checking if "/boot/grub/stage2" exists... yes
Checking if "/boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5" exists... yes
Running "embed /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0)"... 22 sectors are embedded.
succeeded
Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 (hd0) (hd0)1+22 p (hd0,0)/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/menu.lst"... succeeded


Last edited by cgmoller on Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1407

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grub is Working Fine, try
mount /boot
nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf
Edit Grub.conf to point to your new Kernel/Ramdisk Image etc

Re-initializing Grub does not update the boot menu. If you were to use genkernel that would, but most users don't....
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cgmoller
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
Grub is Working Fine, try Re-initializing Grub does not update the boot menu. If you were to use genkernel that would, but most users don't....


Ah, that is a problem. While I normally build my own kernel, I used genkernel this time as I was busy on a 5 hour conf call and other things and just wanted to get it back up and running. I was also thinking that it would pick up stuff like the embedded wireless card and that I would yank out the unnecessary drivers later.

I will get back in on the livecd and provide some additional detail (grub.conf and the grub-install output)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1235
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lilo still works flawlessly....

check out grub2, it works really good for me.... i switched everything i have to grub2 and i didn't like grub 0.97 on other linux distros. i like grub2 because i can just drop new kernels into the /boot and run my script to load everything automatically.

i made a script for grub2 to make "grub" install everything automatically.
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
https://wiki.gentoo.org/index.php?title=Special:Contributions/666threesixes666&offset=&limit=500&target=666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cgmoller
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

666threesixes666 wrote:
lilo still works flawlessly....

check out grub2, it works really good for me.... i switched everything i have to grub2 and i didn't like grub 0.97 on other linux distros. i like grub2 because i can just drop new kernels into the /boot and run my script to load everything automatically.

i made a script for grub2 to make "grub" install everything automatically.


well I figured it out. Of course nothing to do with grub. User error. Over the course of owning this box (which had a SATA drive in it to begin with on /dev/sda) i had added an ide drive. Then when I encountered an error a couple of weeks ago I did not realize that during the live CD boot up the IDE drive was assigned to /dev/sda and the SATA to /dev/sdb. Argh. When I did figure that out I was able to fix the problem on sdb (LVM2 had to be updated) and I could now boot directly to my new system on sda using grub2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum