Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't get IP using Broadcom BCM4318
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:34 am    Post subject: Can't get IP using Broadcom BCM4318 Reply with quote

I am running Gentoo sources 3.5.7, I have b43 compiled as module and loading on startup, I have wpa_supplicant installed and able to associate to my wireless network but it can not pull an IP. ifconfig shows it's transmitting data but is not receiving anything. Here is some info:

Code:
lspci -v:
        06:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 64, IRQ 10
        Memory at c0200000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
        Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge

iwconfig:
          wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"zNetwork"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: 00:13:10:B8:32:77
          Bit Rate=36 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=70/70  Signal level=-21 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:548   Missed beacon:0

uname -a:
Linux compaq 3.5.7-gentoo #9 Sun Feb 10 15:26:09 EST 2013 i686 AMD Turion(tm) 64 Mobile Technology ML-40 AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

ifconfig wlan0:
        wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 169.254.248.57  netmask 255.255.0.0  broadcast 169.254.255.255
        ether 00:14:a5:ec:55:2a  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 34  bytes 11436 (11.1 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

dmesg | grep -i b43:
[    5.744621] b43-phy0: Broadcom 4318 WLAN found (core revision 9)
[    6.301326] Registered led device: b43-phy0::radio
[   16.707082] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)

log from kernel:
Feb 11 00:03:21 localhost kernel: [   16.707082] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
Feb 11 00:03:21 localhost kernel: [   18.570758] wlan0: authenticate with 00:13:10:b8:32:77
Feb 11 00:03:21 localhost kernel: [   18.579341] wlan0: send auth to 00:13:10:b8:32:77 (try 1/3)
Feb 11 00:03:21 localhost kernel: [   18.581288] wlan0: authenticated
Feb 11 00:03:21 localhost kernel: [   18.582047] wlan0: associate with 00:13:10:b8:32:77 (try 1/3)
Feb 11 00:03:21 localhost kernel: [   18.603709] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:13:10:b8:32:77 (capab=0x611 status=0 aid=9)
Feb 11 00:03:21 localhost kernel: [   18.604473] wlan0: associated
Feb 11 00:03:23 localhost dhcpcd[1933]: wlan0: using IPv4LL address 169.254.248.57
Feb 11 00:03:23 localhost dhcpcd[1933]: forked to background, child pid 2051
Feb 11 00:03:28 localhost dhcpcd[2051]: wlan0: broadcasting for a lease


eth0 can pull an IP but wlan0 can not, any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 189
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does seem to get an IP address:

Code:
inet 169.254.248.57

Is this the range your router is supposed to distribute to your wireless devices?

You might consider trying to set a static IP to test if that works.

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3205

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lexflex wrote:
It does seem to get an IP address:

Code:
inet 169.254.248.57

Is this the range your router is supposed to distribute to your wireless devices?
It's probably dhcpcd automatically setting a fake IP when it can't get a proper IP address.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 189
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppurka wrote:
It's probably dhcpcd automatically setting a fake IP when it can't get a proper IP address.


Ah , I see, you are right ( 'using IPv4LL' means the "fake"-IP ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I set a static IP, I can not ping a local PC or an internet IP. I don't see anything strange in /var/log/messages but I still see TX bytes increasing but RX stays at 0KB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 189
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If a fixed IP doesn't work and still doesn't allow you to 'ping' a local machine's IP address on the same subnet then something device specific might be going on

You might need to upgrade the firmware of your device:
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Broadcom_43xx
( Guess you might already have tried some of those options).

Otherwise maybe this page has some more information:
http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43?action=show&redirect=en%2Fusers%2FDrivers%2Fbcm43xx#Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using the latest ~x86 firmware for my device and I have followed the linuxwireless.org page as well to no dice.

I'm going to try the linuxwireless mailing list to see what I can gather
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks wpa_supplicant does not want to connect to my WEP network. I found this on http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Documentation/wpa_supplicant:

Quote:
The Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS; originally Wi-Fi Simple Config, or WSC) 2.0 specification added explicit requirement that disallows use of WEP. wpa_supplicant complies with that requirement and rejects WEP networks if WPS 2.0 is enabled. It should also be noted that there has been a number of interoperability issues with WEP and WPS 1.0 since this combination has never been tested in WFA certification programs.


I turned on the hotspot feature on my phone and setup wpa_supplicant to connect to it and voila, wireless is working! So I will have to upgrade my AP since it doesn't support WPA/WPA2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum