Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
CUPS problems since recent upgrade to KDE 4.9.5 [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
geeksheik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:15 am    Post subject: CUPS problems since recent upgrade to KDE 4.9.5 [solved] Reply with quote

I'm having problems seeing my CUPS printers in various apps. I think the problem started after an upgrade to KDE on Jan 31 2013 from 4.9.3 to 4.9.5.

I have 2 gentoo-installed PCs and both are showing the same behavior.

gimp - the print dialog shows only "Print to file" or "Print with LPR". LPR does not send anything to my CUPS printers. Can't print.

chromium - attempting "Print..." does not bring up the print dialog, but renders the chromium useless until it's restarted...it's not really frozen, but I can't scroll, can enter item in fields, new tabs and windows will not display web pages

firefox - same as gimp

OpenOffice - shows the CUPS printers in the print dialog (similar print dialog to gimp and firefox) and prints fine

okular - shows a different print dialog than those above, but displays the CUPS printers; it will probably work fine
kwrite - same as okular
konqueror - same as okular

Could this be something related to gtk+?


Last edited by geeksheik on Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geeksheik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

...ah, found a relevant message that I overlooked in the emerge logs

Quote:
* Messages for package x11-libs/gtk+-2.24.12:

* Please install app-text/evince for print preview functionality.
* Alternatively, check "gtk-print-preview-command" documentation and
* add it to your gtkrc.


evince was indeed not installed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I confirm what you experience with The Gimp / OpenOffice / Chromium /... All my GTK+ apps (apart from... Bluefish... :lol: )
And also confirm that all my Qt apps work as usual with regards to printing.

I'll add to your observation that my FLTK apps also only suggest the "print to file" option.

BTW, I do not think this is in anyway related to the KDE update or evince missing.

The point is that I experience this only if the cups demon is not running.
If the cups daemon is running, I get no problem at all. => First make sure that your cups daemon is running. (ps -efl | grep cupsd)

Of course, there is indeed a bug in chromium which should not become totally unusable if one picks the [print...] option from the menu when cupsd is not running.

EDIT : I think that this is the bug : http://code.google.com/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=160574
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geeksheik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Next pieces of the puzzle:

Yes, the cups daemon *is* running.

root 13136 0.0 0.0 9124 2580 ? Ss 09:12 0:00 /usr/sbin/cupsd -C /etc/cups/cupsd.conf

I was always able to open the web page (http://localhost:631) and view my printers; cupsd appears to be required for this, even to show a static page.

However, I just discovered that I do not have gtk+ built with the cups use flag. gtk+ is slotted for 3 different versions. Versions 2 and 3 have a cups use flag option and it appears to *not* be enabled by default. I've just added it globally and I'm recompiling now...

Additionally, I see that these packages were rebuilt on my system in mid-January with the cups flag newly-disabled. It seems that this is a new default option with gtk+, versions 2 and 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geeksheik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This was due to the cups use flags becoming disabled by default in gtk+:2 and gtk+:3

Once I enabled them (which I did globally in make.conf), I can print in the problem apps again. No more problems with chromium as well. :)

Thanks for the prompt feedback, aCOSwt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum