Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Not all progs shown in the systray with KDE 4.10.0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
deranonyme
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2005
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:41 pm    Post subject: Not all progs shown in the systray with KDE 4.10.0 Reply with quote

Hi

I have updated to KDE 4.10.0 and compiled qt-core-4.8.4-r2 with -Os. Plasma-workspace is rebuild, but I can't see any running programs like kontact or dolphin in the systray. Other like console or firefox are seen in the systray. Any hints?

Thank

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^marcs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem, maybe with sightly different programs (for me chromium, konsole and dolphin aren't showing).

Atm I found temporary workaround (very temporary), if You go to system settings, desktop effects, advanced and switch qt graphics system to opposite, then refresh this change triggers, will fix task manager for a while (until You log off).

That sux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deranonyme
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2005
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey

Thank you. It works (temporary) for me. Hope for a finally solution.

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deranonyme
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2005
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should be fixed in 4.10.2 https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=314830. Waiting for april. :twisted:

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstorm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 2476
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need to wait that long. For a start, download that patch and place it into

Code:
mkdir -p /etc/portage/patches/kde-base/kwin-4.10.1


It is required to be named `<somename>.patch`. Re-emerge kwin and watch for the patch to be applied right at the beginning.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deranonyme
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2005
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. It works great. I didn't know this way to apply patches. Thanks for the hint.

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dilfridge
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 45
Location: Regensburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've added the fix in kde-base/kwin-4.10.1-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum