Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] No Sound
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 6:55 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] No Sound Reply with quote

Hi All

I am having some problems with the sound with all the applications. Mplayer, vlc, etc. Mplayer says":
Code:
MPlayer 1.1-4.5.4 (C) 2000-2012 MPlayer Team
MMX2 supported but disabled

Playing 1.mp3.
libavformat version 53.32.100 (external)
Audio only file format detected.
Load subtitles in ./
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [mpg123] MPEG 1.0/2.0/2.5 layers I, II, III
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 192.0 kbit/12.50% (ratio: 24000->192000)
Selected audio codec: [mpg123] afm: mpg123 (MPEG 1.0/2.0/2.5 layers I, II, III)
==========================================================================
AO: [alsa] 48000Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Video: no video
Starting playback...
A:   0.0 (00.0) of 1566.0 (26:06.0)  1.6%
Audio device got stuck!
A:   0.2 (00.1) of 1566.0 (26:06.0)  1.6%
Audio device got stuck!
A:   0.3 (00.2) of 1566.0 (26:06.0)  1.6%
Audio device got stuck!
A:   0.4 (00.3) of 1566.0 (26:06.0)  1.6%
Audio device got stuck!
A:   2.0 (01.9) of 1566.0 (26:06.0)  0.8%
[AO_ALSA] Unable to find simple control 'PCM',0.
[AO_ALSA] Unable to find simple control 'PCM',0.


Vlc:

Code:
 qt4 interface error: Unable to load extensions module


I have
Code:
 lspci |grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)


Everything is compiled in the kernel. I am not sure about the codecs, but I selected all the codecs in the kernel.

Alsaconf reports there are no legacy drivers available.

Alsamixer ->cards I have HDA Intel PCH
Alsamixer ->F6->Select sound card there are 2 options there to select: default or HDA Intel PCH. Not sure what to select. It appears the card is pulseaudio and the chip pulseaudio too.

I also have pulseaudio installed. I am in the audio group.

Code:

ls -l /proc/asound/
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 5 Nov 18 08:53 PCH -> card0
dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root 0 Nov 18 08:53 card0
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Nov 18 08:53 cards
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Nov 18 08:53 devices
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Nov 18 08:53 hwdep
dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root 0 Nov 18 08:53 oss
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Nov 18 08:53 pcm
dr-xr-xr-x 2 root root 0 Nov 18 08:53 seq
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Nov 18 08:53 timers
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 Nov 18 08:53 version


Alsamixer looks fine. Regarding selecting the card, I am not sure if I selected correctly. Once I selected default, 2nd time I selected Intel PCH

Kernel settings:

Code:
grep -i SND .config
CONFIG_SND=y
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM=y
CONFIG_SND_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER=y
# CONFIG_SND_SEQ_DUMMY is not set
CONFIG_SND_OSSEMUL=y
CONFIG_SND_MIXER_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS_PLUGINS=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER_OSS=y
# CONFIG_SND_HRTIMER is not set
CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
CONFIG_SND_SUPPORT_OLD_API=y
# CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PROCFS is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PRINTK is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_SND_VMASTER=y
CONFIG_SND_KCTL_JACK=y
CONFIG_SND_DMA_SGBUF=y
# CONFIG_SND_RAWMIDI_SEQ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OPL3_LIB_SEQ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OPL4_LIB_SEQ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SBAWE_SEQ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1_SEQ is not set
CONFIG_SND_VX_LIB=m
# CONFIG_SND_DRIVERS is not set
CONFIG_SND_PCI=y
# CONFIG_SND_AD1889 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALS300 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALS4000 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALI5451 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ASIHPI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP_MODEM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8810 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8820 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8830 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AW2 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AZT3328 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_BT87X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CA0106 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CMIPCI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OXYGEN is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS4281 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS46XX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS5530 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS5535AUDIO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CTXFI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DARLA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GINA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LAYLA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DARLA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GINA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LAYLA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MONA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ECHO3G is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGOIO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGODJ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGOIOX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGODJX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ENS1370 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ENS1371 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1938 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1968 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_FM801 is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=2048
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_JACK is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_ENABLE_REALTEK_QUIRKS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
# CONFIG_SND_HDSP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDSPM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ICE1712 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ICE1724 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0M is not set
# CONFIG_SND_KORG1212 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LOLA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LX6464ES is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MAESTRO3 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MIXART is not set
# CONFIG_SND_NM256 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_PCXHR is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RIPTIDE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME32 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME96 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME9652 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SONICVIBES is not set
# CONFIG_SND_TRIDENT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIA82XX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIA82XX_MODEM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIRTUOSO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VX222 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_YMFPCI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB is not set
CONFIG_SND_PCMCIA=y
CONFIG_SND_VXPOCKET=m
CONFIG_SND_PDAUDIOCF=m
# CONFIG_SND_SOC is not set


Any help will be appreciated.


Last edited by queen on Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
queen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I solved the problem. Removed everything related to pulseaudio. Package, USE flags.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had similar problems and followed your advice to get rid of pulseaudio. Apparently I have a pale ghost of it left over, because now sound starts with errors:
Code:
/etc/init.d/alsasound start
 * Restoring Mixer Levels ...
ALSA lib conf.c:3314:(snd_config_hooks_call) Cannot open shared library /usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_conf_pulse.so
ALSA lib control.c:951:(snd_ctl_open_noupdate) Invalid CTL hw:0
alsactl: set_controls:1485: snd_ctl_open error: No such file or directory       [ ok ]

and alsamixer won't start:
Code:
alsamixer
ALSA lib conf.c:3314:(snd_config_hooks_call) Cannot open shared library /usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_conf_pulse.so
ALSA lib control.c:951:(snd_ctl_open_noupdate) Invalid CTL default
cannot open mixer: No such file or directory

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 368
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a similar problem: On login sound in VLC does not work (but strangely in Firefox). Killing and restarting pulseaudio makes sound work again:

Code:
pulseaudio --kill; pulseaudio --start


But only for about 5 starts of vlc. Then sound is dead again and needs one or multiple restarts of pulseaudio.

This could be correlated to my latest updates, or to setting the following in /etc/pulse/default.pa:
Code:
load-module module-udev-detect tsched=0


(that was needed to get rid of aggravating static noise from pulse… )
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArneBab
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 368
Location: Graben-Neudorf, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I now fixed my problem. For some reason I had been using the live ebuild of pulseaudio. I reverted back to the stable pulseaudio (keeping tsched) and everything works again.

Sorry for the noise…
_________________
Being unpolitical means being political without realizing it. - Arne Babenhauserheide ( http://draketo.de )

pkgcore: So fast that it feels unreal - by doing only what is needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum