project organization with git. Some advice needed
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Rhiakath
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:26 am    Post subject: project organization with git. Some advice needed Reply with quote

Hi there.

I code for a living and for a hobby ( I know, i know, I should get a life ).

So, I frequently have a pet project in which i use some.... modules. For example, I have a folder called Utils, with general utility code which i'm always using. Also a folder for a logging system. And another for a OpenGL Framework, etc etc.

So, i created a git repo for each of these. So far so good.

now, I'm trying to get some of this together to build a graphics engine. The opengl framework uses the logging system, so i added the logger as a git submodule of opengl framework. As for utils.
Also, since the graphics engine is supposed to show something, I've written some code to load models from some data files.
But, this code, as I see it, is not supposed to be part of the graphics engine. Whoever loads the models, should have it, right? And then pass the models in an internal object to the graphics engine.

So, I have a Test application, which loads models, and displays them using the graphics engine. As such, the Test application has them as submodules.

So, this tree is the final result:
Code:

./GLFramework
./GLFramework/Utils
./GLFramework/Logger
./GLFramework/Physics
./GLFramework/Math
./GLFramework/Image
./GLFramework/Model
./GLFramework/XWindow
./Test
./Test/XKeyboard
./Test/DataFileFormats
./Test/DataFileFormats/ModelMD5
./Test/DataFileFormats/ModelWHM
./Test/DataFileFormats/ModelMOD
./Test/DataFileBase

But now, I have a dilemma. The model loader in the test, also uses the logger, to show data file loading errors, etc etc. And as such, I've began wondering. How should I organize this?