Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
hdmi radeon
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
syn0ptik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:36 am    Post subject: hdmi radeon Reply with quote

hello,
my laptop supports hdmi output on ati HD5730. But how switching the output video signal?
radeontool says
Code:
cannot find ctrl region
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4916

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:47 pm    Post subject: Re: hdmi radeon Reply with quote

syn0ptik wrote:
hello,
my laptop supports hdmi output on ati HD5730. But how switching the output video signal?
radeontool says
Code:
cannot find ctrl region


what driver?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamesholden
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

What kind of Driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syn0ptik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use kms and linux kernel 2.6.38
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4916

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syn0ptik wrote:
I use kms and linux kernel 2.6.38


upgrade your kernel, your card's HDMI isn't supported in that version.
go atleast 3.2.0
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syn0ptik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seriously, it supported only by cards
CHIP_R200
CHIP_R600
CHIP_RS300
CHIP_RS400
CHIP_RS480
CHIP_RS600
CHIP_RS690
CHIP_RS740
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4916

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syn0ptik wrote:
Seriously, it supported only by cards
CHIP_R200
CHIP_R600
CHIP_RS300
CHIP_RS400
CHIP_RS480
CHIP_RS600
CHIP_RS690
CHIP_RS740

your card is an r8xx chip, this is supported under the r7xx chip, as you can see from your own print, r7xx is not in the list.

beside that, your kernel is obsolete and I find no reason why someone will stay with that kernel version unless it is production server which is not your case from the question you are asking.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 2458

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

syn0ptik wrote:
Seriously, it supported only by cards
CHIP_R200
CHIP_R600
CHIP_RS300
CHIP_RS400
CHIP_RS480
CHIP_RS600
CHIP_RS690
CHIP_RS740


How do you find these designators? What query?

I have a motherboard with embedded graphics - I believe HD4200, and I believe that is covered by the r600 driver. But I don't believe I've ever seen names as fine-grained as you show, nor do I know the query which would return such. To be fair, I should really look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log more carefully, but I don't believe I've seen names like that, there. (With the CHIP_ prefix, in particular.)
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syn0ptik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
How do you find these designators? What query?

hehe, that I search in kernel drivers linux-2.6.38/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_encoders.c
atleaste it for 2.6.38, not use pf-versions, still...

been in think purchase geode\atom- board with hdmi, sadnes so it couldn't be supported.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4916

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syn0ptik wrote:
Code:
How do you find these designators? What query?

hehe, that I search in kernel drivers linux-2.6.38/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_encoders.c
atleaste it for 2.6.38, not use pf-versions, still...

been in think purchase geode\atom- board with hdmi, sadnes so it couldn't be supported.


why not upgrading you kernel then?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syn0ptik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lazy, may be after vdr testing. Actually I want connect itx box with plasma display. Or even in sadness happening with hdmi, use vga.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31835
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syn0ptik,

So ... you would buy a Ferrari and only drive to the corner shop?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4916

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

syn0ptik wrote:
lazy, may be after vdr testing. Actually I want connect itx box with plasma display. Or even in sadness happening with hdmi, use vga.


Duh! :facepalm:

I have nothing to add to this topic anymore.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syn0ptik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle, wait, whenever you take list of chipset assigned to video card?
I chose itx board based on hd6310, what core it based?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4916

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syn0ptik wrote:
DaggyStyle, wait, whenever you take list of chipset assigned to video card?
I chose itx board based on hd6310, what core it based?


please post the output of lspci.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syn0ptik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but I keep it only for hd5730...
Code:
 lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 68c0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4916

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syn0ptik wrote:
but I keep it only for hd5730...
Code:
 lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 68c0


run update-pciids and post the output again
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syn0ptik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here.
Code:
lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Madison [Mobility Radeon HD 5000 Series]

and
Code:

9802  Wrestler [Radeon HD 6310]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4916

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syn0ptik wrote:
here.
Code:
lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Madison [Mobility Radeon HD 5000 Series]

and
Code:

9802  Wrestler [Radeon HD 6310]


you have two gpus?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syn0ptik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Madison - I use, there one GPU.
Wrestler - decided purchase. I guess there one gpu too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4916

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syn0ptik wrote:
Madison - I use, there one GPU.
Wrestler - decided purchase. I guess there one gpu too.


how many gpus you have currently on your system?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syn0ptik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One gpu on all video cards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2303
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
syn0ptik wrote:
Madison - I use, there one GPU.
Wrestler - decided purchase. I guess there one gpu too.


how many gpus you have currently on your system?

"Wrestler" is the codename for embedded graphics on AMD E-350/450 APUs. So, two GPUs (a 6310 and a discrete 5730 - seems odd that such a system would have a "downgrade" to the previous gen installed separately).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4916

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, please pastebin your current kernel .config
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum