Understanding how to fix things in an ebuild
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
matop
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:34 pm    Post subject: Understanding how to fix things in an ebuild Reply with quote

I'm relatively new to gentoo. It's work but I feel like I understand my system significantly better and have a much tighter system.
I know what I've added and have just what I need. Of course that's only because the ebuild creators have done a good job putting in dependencies and everything.

Which brings me to the problem I ran into yesterday.

I was trying to check out the Midori browser and it relies on the webkit-gtk toolkit.

Unfortunately it has a dependency on webkit-gtk-1.8.3-r200 which has a bug in that it won't build successfully in the sandbox (I had to look up what the sandbox was). It turns out there is already a webkit-gtk-1.8.3-r300 which doesn't have that problem, but the midori ebuild still points to r200.

What's the gentoo way for getting this fixed.

- Report a bug against the midori ebuild? indicating it should use a later webkit-gtk library?
- Use an overlay (never done that - not sure how to even select one)
- Fix it myself (could be fun, but I'm not sure where to start - would I create an overlay - where are the package definitions - any good introduction on fixing issues like this?)

Thanks for any insight.
SamuliSuominen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is significant difference between -r200 and -r300:

Quote:

-r200 is SLOT="2" and is using GTK+ 2.x
-r300 is SLOT="3" and is using GTK+ 3.x

So www-client/midori will require SLOT="2" when building with USE="deprecated" and SLOT="3" with USE="-deprecated"