Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
evince doesn't list all my printers [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
justin_brody
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:51 pm    Post subject: evince doesn't list all my printers [solved] Reply with quote

Hello,

After a recent update to my system, evince doesn't seem to see all my printers anymore. Here's my printcap:
Code:

# cat /etc/printcap
# This file was automatically generated by cupsd(8) from the
# /etc/cups/printers.conf file.  All changes to this file
# will be lost.
HL2270DW|HL2270DW:rm=maya:rp=HL2270DW:
HP_Color_LaserJet_3800|HP Color LaserJet 3800:rm=maya:rp=HP_Color_LaserJet_3800:
KM-bizhub|Konica Minolta Bizhub:rm=maya:rp=KM-bizhub:
Virtual_PDF_Printer|Virtual PDF Printer:rm=maya:rp=Virtual_PDF_Printer

but when I go to print in evince it only has options for "print to file" and "print to LPR". For what it's worth, the printers are fine in the CUPS web interface and show up when I use acroread.

I'm guessing that this is some kind of gnome config thing. Can anyone point me in the right direction?


Last edited by justin_brody on Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrepetto
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here. It doesn't occur only in evince, but also in other applications (firefox, thunderbird, gedit, ...).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justin_brody
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah - I didn't notice that but I am seeing the same behaviour. I notice that it doesn't happen in konqueror, which makes me think even more strongly that it's a gnome thing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justin_brody
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

o.k. -- apparently there's a "cups" use flag that I hadn't noticed before.

adding it to the USE in make.conf and running
Code:

emerge -NuD world


or even
Code:

emerge -NuD libgnomeprint

seems to do the trick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum