Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved]Can´t boot with YABOOT. Where is the fault?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:57 pm    Post subject: [solved]Can´t boot with YABOOT. Where is the fault? Reply with quote

Hello.

Ich newly installed Gentoo on my PowerMac Dual G4@1,83GHz. The only problem I got is with Yaboot.
As I rebooted my System, the Computer shows me the little "mac-face" on screen an spring to boot cdrom. So I have made something wrong on my yaboot.conf I guess.
I am able to boot Mac OS X manually by pressing Key OPTION on my Keyboard. But no way to boot Gentoo. No Yaboot-Function work at the moment here.

yaboot.conf
Code:
boot=/dev/hdb4
device=/pci@f4000000/ata-6@d/disk@1:
partition=5
root=/dev/hdb6
timeout=30
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot

image=/kernel-3.5.7-gentoo
        label=Linux
        read-only

macosx=/dev/hda3


/etc/fstab
Code:
/dev/hdb5               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime  1 2
/dev/hdb6               /               ext3            noatime         0 1
/dev/hdb2               none            swap            sw              0 0

/dev/vg_system/home     /home           reiserfs        defaults        0 0
/dev/vg_system/tmp      /tmp            ext3            defaults        0 0
/dev/vg_system/usr      /usr            ext3            defaults        0 0
/dev/vg_system/var      /var            ext3            defaults        0 0

/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,ro       0 0


mac-fdisk -l
Code:
/dev/hda
        #                    type name                  length   base      ( size )  system
/dev/hda1     Apple_partition_map Apple                     63 @ 1         ( 31.5k)  Partition map
/dev/hda2              Apple_Free Extra                 262144 @ 64        (128.0M)  Free space
/dev/hda3               Apple_HFS Untitled           267068536 @ 262208    (127.3G)  HFS
/dev/hda4              Apple_Boot Booter                262144 @ 267330744 (128.0M)  Unknown
/dev/hda5              Apple_HFSX Untitled           217611400 @ 267592888 (103.8G)  Unknown
/dev/hda6              Apple_Boot Booter                262144 @ 485204288 (128.0M)  Unknown
/dev/hda7              Apple_HFSX Untitled           171451416 @ 485466432 ( 81.8G)  Unknown
/dev/hda8              Apple_Boot Booter                262144 @ 656917848 (128.0M)  Unknown
/dev/hda9              Apple_HFSX Untitled           124242760 @ 657179992 ( 59.2G)  Unknown
/dev/hda10             Apple_Free Extra                     16 @ 781422752 (  8.0k)  Free space

Block size=512, Number of Blocks=781422768
DeviceType=0x0, DeviceId=0x0

/dev/hdb
        #                    type name                  length   base      ( size )  system
/dev/hdb1     Apple_partition_map Apple                     63 @ 1         ( 31.5k)  Partition map
/dev/hdb2         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap                 5273438 @ 31817435  (  2.5G)  Linux swap
/dev/hdb3               Apple_HFS Untitled            31260304 @ 262208    ( 14.9G)  HFS
/dev/hdb4         Apple_Bootstrap untitled                1954 @ 31522512  (977.0k)  NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hdb5         Apple_Bootstrap boot                  292969 @ 31524466  (143.1M)  NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hdb6         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root                21484376 @ 37090873  ( 10.2G)  Linux native
/dev/hdb7               Linux_LVM lvm                 97726190 @ 58575249  ( 46.6G)  Unknown
/dev/hdb8              Apple_Free Extra                 262144 @ 64        (128.0M)  Free space
/dev/hdb9              Apple_Free Extra                     49 @ 156301439 ( 24.5k)  Free space

Block size=512, Number of Blocks=156301488
DeviceType=0x0, DeviceId=0x0


So, where is my fault? I don´t understand it anymore. I have not much experience with yaboot.

Greets from Germany
Sewulba
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul


Last edited by sewulba on Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 901

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is your kernel in /boot?

Code:
image=/kernel-3.5.7-gentoo


Code:
image=/boot/kernel-3.5.7-gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help. But it has no affect to my Problem.
The system still jumps direct into CD Boot.
:oops:
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 901

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While chroot-ed, try running

Code:
mkofboot -v t
ybin -v
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try it later.
Seems my yaboot.conf to be okay? Any fault there?

Greets Sewulba
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blob999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
Location: NATO area

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

your bootkernel does still use old ide drivers? With new pata drivers, all the disks are now seen as scsi, so what used to be hda will now be sda, and the cdrom will be sr0.
_________________
LinuxPPC user!
my blog: http://linuxpowerpc.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sda and sdb don´t work here.
see it:
Code:
livecd / # ybin -v
ybin: /dev/sdb4: No such file or directory


hdb4 seems to be right.

Code:
mkofboot -v t
ybin -v

That was already made from me. That was not the fault.
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello community.

I am now working again around 2 hours with yaboot. Is´s not getting better.
I seems to me, that yaboot don´t start. I don´t see the screen with the choice for Linux or MacOS X. The system still jumps directly to boot CD-Rom.

Greets Sewulba
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blob999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
Location: NATO area

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw, you missed the ofboot= line .
_________________
LinuxPPC user!
my blog: http://linuxpowerpc.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the ofboot in. No effect!
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Community.

Here is the yaboot.conf that works under my machine with Debian 7.0.

yaboot.conf
Code:
## yaboot.conf generated by debian-installer
##
## run: "man yaboot.conf" for details. Do not make changes until you have!!
## see also: /usr/share/doc/yaboot/examples for example configurations.
##
## For a dual-boot menu, add one or more of:
## bsd=/dev/hdaX, macos=/dev/hdaY, macosx=/dev/hdaZ

boot="/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_ST380021A_3HV336PZ-part4"
device=/pci@f4000000/ata-6@d/@1
partition=5
root="UUID=43734cb4-0b79-4a85-83bd-1626775cace4"
timeout=100
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
enablecdboot
macosx="/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_ST3400620A_5QH08YCP-part3"

image=/vmlinux
   label=Linux
   read-only
   initrd=/initrd.img

image=/vmlinux.old
   label=old
   read-only
   initrd=/initrd.img.old


Unfortunately this yaboot.config don´t work under Gentoo. Because /dev/disk/by-id/ is empty on my System.
I read that there is it possible to use hd:X instead of /dev/hdb. So what is the right hd:X for /dev/hdb4?

Greets Sewulba :wink:
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello.

No further ideas?
Noone has the information how it works with hd:X for the second Harddisk?

Greets Sewulba
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yaboot starts, but only, when I go in OpenFirmware and then give the commando
Code:
boot ultra1:4,yaboot
.

So: What is my fault? Why Yaboot isn´t start automatically?

Greets Sewulba
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now the problems solving! 8)

After I realized under OpenFirware, that my Gentoo-System is addressed by the "openfirmware-device" ULTRA1, I simply added the following to my yaboot.conf:

Code:
ofboot=ultra1:4


So my complete yaboot.conf is now this:

Code:
boot=/dev/hdb4
device=/pci@f4000000/ata-6@d/@1
ofboot=ultra1:4
partition=5
root=/dev/hdb6
timeout=100
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
enablecdboot
macosx=/dev/hda3

image=/kernel-3.5.7-gentoo
        label=Linux
        read-only


And yes. It work absolutely fine. I can´t believe it. It works.
If someone has problems with yaboot. Call me directly. Mostly I can help now!

Greets from Germany
Sewulba 8O
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blob999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
Location: NATO area

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blob999 wrote:
btw, you missed the ofboot= line .


just fyi...
_________________
LinuxPPC user!
my blog: http://linuxpowerpc.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

blob999 wrote:
blob999 wrote:
btw, you missed the ofboot= line .


just fyi...


:P

Yeah, that´s right. But ofboot don´t work mit /dev/hdbX like I tried before. That you have to know. :wink:
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blob999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
Location: NATO area

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hdX or sdY are Linux name conventions instead ofboot (as his own name) needs OpenFirmware name devices or alias.
_________________
LinuxPPC user!
my blog: http://linuxpowerpc.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 492
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That´s absolutely correct. That was my fault by that way.
:wink:
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum