Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how to get the error messages out of my laptop to the forum?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 342
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:51 pm    Post subject: how to get the error messages out of my laptop to the forum? Reply with quote

Looks silly question, but I'm trying to get Gentoo on my new Lenovo Thinkpad E530. So far it isn't working out very well.

I wiped the disks and following the guide I'm at the point of installing GRUB. But the emerge fails. Now I cannot see how to get the info out of the laptop on the net as the laptop. No way to cut-paste between the laptop and the desktop I'm afraid. Also I never managed to pipe the emerge output to a file.

Problem seems to be autoconf:

* The specific snippet of code:
* die "Failed Running $1 !";

Any ideas?

Must say this is the hardest Gentoo install I ever had. Normally they work straigth through the handbook.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7888
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a working network connection? If so, use wgetpaste. Get it from Portage. Inside your chroot, just
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
After that, you can use wgetpaste to paste a log file to the internet. You get back a simple short URL that you can copy down by hand and post to the Forums for help. :)

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 999 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 342
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, good to know.

But it appeared to be a stupid user error. Forgot to add grub to the use variables. Now I added it it emerges. :oops:

But it still doesn't boot :(
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum