Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]which hdware is more important to save compile time?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
double_crane
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Dec 2011
Posts: 86
Location: JiangSu,China

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:37 am    Post subject: [Solved]which hdware is more important to save compile time? Reply with quote

I've been gentoo desktop user for more than one year.
I'm planning to buy a better PC to substitute my present one which has been used for near 4 years.
of course install gentoo file system.

My question is
higher CPU , larger MM, or fast SSD (use as /var/portage/compile directory)
or any others factors,,
which helps more ?to save compile time..
take money into consideration too...
thank you


Last edited by double_crane on Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32110
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

double_crane,

Its all a bit of a balancing act. With 16G RAM, you can build everything in RAM. /var/tmp/portage goes into tmpfs, so an SSD does not help with builds.
With only 4G RAM you can build most things in RAM. Firefox and LibreOffice come to mind.

CFLAGS can help speed build times. The higher your -Ox the longer the optimisation takes. -O2 is a good trade off.

CPU wise, its difficult to be exact too. Some packages will only use a single core as they break with parallel make. Most will use all the cores you have.

A SSD helps with code loading times but its a small improvement compared to CPU and RAM.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
double_crane
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Dec 2011
Posts: 86
Location: JiangSu,China

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for you reply

as you suggest , mount memorydisk at /var/tmp/portage ,
It's a good idea . I didn't try it before.

I'm wondering if I make a ramdisk , at /var/tmp/portage ,for instance,2G size ramdisk.
when compile small software, it's OK;
but when it comes to libreoffice or firefox,the ramdisk is not large enough.
So , Will these large softwares change to compile in harddisk autoly ,
otherwise it give a error message , cancel the compile process?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 4296

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bail out on error.

as you use your ram as harddisk, when running out of ram, you get an out of space error.
not like using harddisk for ram (swap) when you run out of ram you use your harddisk to not get out of memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forrestfunk81
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Feb 2006
Posts: 412
Location: münchen.de

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can configure which packages should be compiled using the ramdisk and which ones should be compiled using a hard disk directory. For more details take a look at this wiki page.
_________________
# cd /pub/
# more beer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32110
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forrestfunk81,

You can change the size of /dev/shmfs on the fly, it defaults to 50% of RAM.
Also /dev/shmfs can be swapped if you get it wrong.

There is no need to use a ramdisk for /var/tmp/portage any longer.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forrestfunk81
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Feb 2006
Posts: 412
Location: münchen.de

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
There is no need to use a ramdisk for /var/tmp/portage any longer.


Oh yes, sorry. I mixed ramdisk and tmpfs. The wikipage is tmpfs.
_________________
# cd /pub/
# more beer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum