Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Graphic card Ati radeon HD7850 and X
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 11:24 pm    Post subject: Graphic card Ati radeon HD7850 and X Reply with quote

Hello, I built new pc with ati HD7850 and I have problem to configure X. Procedure was that I put to make.conf VIDEO_CARDS="fglrx" and then emerge xorg-x11. Next I started Xorg -configure but it fail with message "No devices to configure". Fglrx module looks that works good. Is any settings in kernel which i should use?Thanks for help! i7-3820,ga-x79-ud3, kernel-3.6.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6648
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you
Code:
emerge linux-firmware

did you run
Code:
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
aticonfig --initial

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4941

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
did you
Code:
emerge linux-firmware

did you run
Code:
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
aticonfig --initial


afaik linux-firmware contains the fw for the foss driver, Fglrx should run regardless if it is installed or not.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:02 am    Post subject: still not work Reply with quote

I tried emerge linux-firmware, but it did not help.
I put lsmod and fglrx was showed but in column "used by" is 0 (i think it should not be). Next I put dmesg and I found ATi radeon 7800 ..etc.... which is ok.


Last edited by philipo on Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4941

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you ran aticonfig --initial as DONAHUE suggested? if so, make sure X uses the resulting file and if so, please post the content of /var/log/Xorg.0.log
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, and when I startx I got blank screen computer freeze. Now I am at work -xorg.log can send later.

I check kernel and try reinstall ati-drivers per http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Fglrx#Installing...I will see...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I little play with this but without results :(
my Xorg.0.log:
Code:
(WW) Open ACPI failed (var/run/acpid.socket) (no such file or directory)
(WW) Falling back to old probe method for fglrx
(WW) fglrx: No matching device section for instance (BusID PCI :0@1:0:1)
(WW) fglrx(0) Board is unkown third party board, chipset is supported
(WW) fglrx(0) Option "VendorName" is not used
(WW) fglrx(0) Option "ModelName" is not used
(WW) Warning, couldn§t open module evdev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
(WW) Open ACPI failed (var/run/acpid.socket) (no such file or directory)

ACPID resolved I started with /etc/init.d/acpid start and then put "rc-update add acpid boot"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6648
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge wgetpaste
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
aticonfig --initial |  wgetpaste
wgetpaste /etc/X11/xorg.conf
startx | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
lspci -k |wgetpaste
emerge --info | wgetpaste
emerge -s ati-drivers xorg-server | wgetpaste
and post url's returned here
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:D, do not know how, but I resolved it.
I disabled
Code:
Device Drivers  --->
   Graphics support  --->
      < > Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)  --->

in kernel, then remerge ati-drivers and xorg-drivers, started acpi and emerge twm xclock and xterm. Thank you for help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6648
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fglrx provides its own DRM, good work
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but keyboard and mouse did not work :(. I try again generate xorg.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not able generate xorg.conf with Xorg -configure
Every time a I got "No devices to configure. Configuration failed"..it is same as at the beginning...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6648
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't even try this:
Quote:
I am not able generate xorg.conf with Xorg -configure
Every time a I got "No devices to configure. Configuration failed"..it is same as at the beginning...
Code:
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
aticonfig --initial
is for your needs even if Xorg --configure worked.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Don't even try this:
Quote:
I am not able generate xorg.conf with Xorg -configure
Every time a I got "No devices to configure. Configuration failed"..it is same as at the beginning...
Code:
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
aticonfig --initial
is for your needs even if Xorg --configure worked.

But aticonfig --initial generate only for monitor and graphic card I need add keyboard, mouse etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6648
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -1 xf86-input-evdev
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
wgetpaste /etc/portage/make.conf
and posting the url's returned would help analysis
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Code:
emerge -1 xf86-input-evdev

Great! It works.
I think, it was mistake that I do not put X to USE in make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, X working now...I will continue on KDE desktop. Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6648
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you might want to
Code:
eselect profile list
and select a profile that matches your intended use like desktop or desktop/kde or .. then emerge -uND world; a useful profile incorporates a good basic set of USE flags.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philipo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
you might want to
Code:
eselect profile list
and select a profile that matches your intended use like desktop or desktop/kde or .. then emerge -uND world; a useful profile incorporates a good basic set of USE flags.

I selected "5" with KDE when installing base system, I try do emerge -uND world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum