Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome 3.6 - Applications grid shows nothing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BlackBelt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 369
Location: Messina/Pisa

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:47 pm    Post subject: Gnome 3.6 - Applications grid shows nothing Reply with quote

Yesterday I emerged gnome 3.6. I notice two different things against the 3.2. The list of my favourite applications not longer works and the applications grid button shows nothing. Anyone experienced this kind of behaviour?
_________________
"Sulla strada per l'inferno c'e' sempre un sacco di gente,
ma è comunque una via che si percorre in solitudine."

Charles Bukowski
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
megaflow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2005
Posts: 59
Location: Maasmechelen

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do u use the default theme? I got this issue when using a differently theme ,but from gnome 3.0 to gnome 3.2
_________________
----------------------------
Dell System XPS L702X/0XN71K,Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2720QM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackBelt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 369
Location: Messina/Pisa

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes I do....
_________________
"Sulla strada per l'inferno c'e' sempre un sacco di gente,
ma è comunque una via che si percorre in solitudine."

Charles Bukowski
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UB|K
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 May 2004
Posts: 786
Location: Villeurbanne, France

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I experienced a similar issue and found it was caused by previous custom menu entries I made with 'alacarte'.
alacarte wasn't running anymore and was giving the error:
Code:
ValueError: can not load menu tree 'gnome-applications.menu'

I did clean both folders (backed-up not deleted):
Code:
~/.config/menus/
~/.local/share/applications/

and I got my applications back.
Hope this help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackBelt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 369
Location: Messina/Pisa

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UB|K wrote:
Hi,
I experienced a similar issue and found it was caused by previous custom menu entries I made with 'alacarte'.
alacarte wasn't running anymore and was giving the error:
Code:
ValueError: can not load menu tree 'gnome-applications.menu'

I did clean both folders (backed-up not deleted):
Code:
~/.config/menus/
~/.local/share/applications/

and I got my applications back.
Hope this help...


thanks for the the tip, but it does not work for me
_________________
"Sulla strada per l'inferno c'e' sempre un sacco di gente,
ma è comunque una via che si percorre in solitudine."

Charles Bukowski
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum