Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Native Steam client and source game engine
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mir3x
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had similar problem, I reinstalled it at least 2 times, later it worked ( I had to remove in root and user all files .steam dir in $home and in .local/share/Steam dir - also in $home), somehow it started working as normal user ( later I haven't tried running it as root at all )
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
V10lator
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mir3x wrote:
I had similar problem, I reinstalled it at least 2 times

The problem is whenever I reinstall it misses a lot of files.

By copying the whole content from root over to the user it starts but at every restart it downloads the same update again. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

V10lator - when u copied files from root, have u changed permissions and owner, right? if yes, then I have no idea whats wrong, but looks like file permissions
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
V10lator
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mir3x wrote:
V10lator - when u copied files from root, have u changed permissions and owner, right?

Yes. And I copied write, read and execute rights with them.

But after a lot of copying & removing with very weird errors in between I finally got it working. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mageta
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 34
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hah, that's somehow new.
I just installed it, downloaded dungeons of dredmor and it actually ran without any more fiddling around. :D

Great!

Edit: Same for Trine 2 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luciano
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2004
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:52 pm    Post subject: Valve requesting feedback on steam installer Reply with quote

Valve is requesting feedback on the steam installer, for better integration to non-Ubuntu systems. Perhaps someone with a good knowledge of portage could make an intelligent contribution to their discussion:

http://steamcommunity.com/app/221410/discussions/0/846939854324291029/

The issue seems to be that the installer is self-updating, so the main question is how to handle external dependencies for all the different package management systems out there...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chocrates
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2007
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

empanyc wrote:
Chocrates: you can take a look into /var/lib/layman/$repo/ to check if the ebuild is there and layman is working properly. If yes, then your portage config is maybe wrong.

Sorry I'm so late to the game, but thanks! You were right.

When I setup Layman I didn't quite understand it (still don't) and didnt make the entry in /etc/make.conf.

All better now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasufell
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Valve requesting feedback on steam installer Reply with quote

luciano wrote:
so the main question is how to handle external dependencies for all the different package management systems out there...

write a proper README.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spacelike
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Sep 2011
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would it be possible to have the ebuild give "pulseaudio" as an optional USE flag?
AFAIK there is not a single thing that works with pulse that doesn't also work without it. That includes the steam client, TF2, serious sam 3, and killing floor that I've tested.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasufell
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spacelike wrote:
Would it be possible to have the ebuild give "pulseaudio" as an optional USE flag?
AFAIK there is not a single thing that works with pulse that doesn't also work without it. That includes the steam client, TF2, serious sam 3, and killing floor that I've tested.

dump the ebuild and use a @set

that way you are not forced by anything silly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desti²
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since the yesterday update I always got an X window with

Couldn't start bootstrap and couldn't reinstall from /usr/lib/steam/bootstraplinux_ubuntu12_32.tar.xz.


Obviously, I installed it to /usr/local , changed all the hardcoded pathes in the steam scripts, but still pops up the same message every time.
_________________
Linux Users Everywhere @ climateprediction.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasufell
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desti² wrote:
Since the yesterday update I always got an X window with

Couldn't start bootst and couldn't reinstall from /usr/lib/steam/bootstraplinux_ubuntu12_32.tar.xz.


Obviously, I installed it to /usr/local , changed all the hardcoded pathes in the steam scripts, but still pops up the same message every time.

yeah, they changed the steam.sh script

also see https://github.com/ValveSoftware/steam-for-linux/issues/623

which would allow you to set/export STEAMBOOTSTRAPARCHIVE variable to point to any location where the boostrap tarball might be (but that patch is useless if you apply it manually, because steam.sh is refetched every time you connect)

as a workaround just make a symlink of your bootstrap tarball to /usr/lib/steam/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1259
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:16 pm    Post subject: Trine 2, no sound? Reply with quote

I could have missed something simple, but after looking at the wiki, reading this thread, and trying to run Trine 2, I can't get any audio? I use Pulseaudio, must I perhaps disable it for Trine to work? I see several people have reported that Trine works well, so I'm surprised that it didn't work for me. :)

There's a seemingly relevant post over here http://frozenbyte.com/board/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=4366&p=19116#p19116
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try starting Steam with this command and see if it helps:

Code:
SDL_AUDIODRIVER=pulse steam

_________________
Gentoo Gaming Videos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1259
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hyper_Eye wrote:
Try starting Steam with this command and see if it helps:

Code:
SDL_AUDIODRIVER=pulse steam


Thanks, no dice unfortunately. I also tried running Trine 2 more directly with
Code:
SDL_AUDIODRIVER=pulse LD_LIBRARY_PATH=./lib/lib32 nohup ./bin/trine2_linux_launcher_32bit
thinking that maybe the environment variable could get lost in steam somewhere, but that didn't help either.

After running manually I find that the game creates a nohup.out file.
Code:
$ cat nohup.out
[S_API FAIL] SteamAPI_Init() failed; SteamAPI_IsSteamRunning() failed.
[S_API FAIL] SteamAPI_Init() failed; unable to locate a running instance of Steam, or a local steamclient.dll.
AL lib: pulseaudio.c:331: PulseAudio returned minreq > tlength/2; expect break up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah the game won't run without being launched from Steam I believe. I do know that the SDL_AUDIODRIVER variable gets passed on from steam (likely because a fork/exec is ultimately used to kick off applications and that copies the environment.) I am using it to force my audio driver to ALSA as I use a pure ALSA system with a hardware mixing card.
_________________
Gentoo Gaming Videos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1259
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hyper_Eye wrote:
Yeah the game won't run without being launched from Steam I believe.

Actually the game does start, to my surprise as well, given the error message. I just meant it didn't help with the audio though. I might try to get rid of PA to see if that works around it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today Half-Life (Goldsrc version) was added to the Linux game library. It is mostly working great for me. The only issue I have is that the game require pulseaudio for sound effects and my system is pure ALSA with a hardware mixing card. As someone who has no interest in pulseaudio I hope this doesn't become a trend.
_________________
Gentoo Gaming Videos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whig
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 970
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got TF2 to work on a system that doesn't use pulse audio. I didn't edit the ebuild to remove the requirement for the package, so pulse is installed just not configured.

exported, some may not be needed

LANG=C
LOCALE=C
LC_NUMERIC=POSIX
SDL_AUDIODRIVER=alsa

Steam-Settings-Voice, detect, change device, set alsa default

Because steam ran pulse in a previous process I simply rebooted to get rid of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no issues with audio in TF2. This is limited to Half-Life so I'm assuming they currently only support pulseaudio in Goldsrc. In the console log I can see a failure to connect to pulse server other than the one Steam usually issues.
_________________
Gentoo Gaming Videos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kriz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jan 2003
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hyper_Eye wrote:
Today Half-Life (Goldsrc version) was added to the Linux game library. It is mostly working great for me. The only issue I have is that the game require pulseaudio for sound effects and my system is pure ALSA with a hardware mixing card. As someone who has no interest in pulseaudio I hope this doesn't become a trend.


check this:

Code:

cd /*/*/*/SteamApps/common/Half-Life/
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:. ./hl_linux -game valve

_________________
There is nothing in the desert... and no man needs nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EDIT: Just updated Steam and now this is no longer necessary.

That worked. It works with Counter-Strike as well. Is the library path not being set correctly by Steam for these games or what?

BTW... if you want to try Counter-Strike:

1) In the Library change the filter from "Linux Games" to "All Games"
2) Go into the Counter-Strike properties
3) Under the beta tab select the SteamPipe beta. This will make the game show up in the Linux list.
4) Install Counter-Strike
5) In a shell: cd YOUR_STEAM_PATH/SteamApps/common/Counter-Strike; LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:. ./hl_linux -game cstrike
_________________
Gentoo Gaming Videos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Counter-Strike is now available without selecting a beta channel and it can be launched from within Steam.
_________________
Gentoo Gaming Videos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kriz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jan 2003
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its great to see Linux-Gaming came from darkness into the light.
Valve and Steam have to be the first step of many.
But HL and CS second after TF2?...... Jesus, please port the Source-Engine-Games as soon as possible.
_________________
There is nothing in the desert... and no man needs nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anyc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe they were easier to port as they use OpenGL. Never thought that they would port those old games and that I would ever play them again. :D Thx valve!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 8 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum