Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
i dont know about modules to install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
enricotognoni
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:30 am    Post subject: i dont know about modules to install Reply with quote

im compiling kernel right now, next step is to list all available modules and then i dont know what to do about nano -w /etc/conf.d/modules is genkernel all enough? I dont have special hardware, usb key, hd external, mobile internet key, wireless mouse, do i have to know something about, or to install something necessary?

ciao & thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1491

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can ignore that. Chances are you will not need to auto load any modules. The system is great about loading the needed modules by itself. If it misses any, you will get a clue, ie no sound or something.

EDIT: From what I understand, that step is a bit of a legacy thing. The system did not used to be as good at knowing which modules to load.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

enricotognoni,

No need to worry about it. In-tree kernel modules will load.

If you should later decide to install virtualbox, then you would have to add its modules to /etc/conf.d/modules :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4122
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
You can ignore that. Chances are you will not need to auto load any modules. The system is great about loading the needed modules by itself. If it misses any, you will get a clue, ie no sound or something.

EDIT: From what I understand, that step is a bit of a legacy thing. The system did not used to be as good at knowing which modules to load.


basically. unless you dont use udev
udev should be hotplugging modules as needed nowadays
if you dont use udev, you still need that. But, most everyone uses udev
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 4217

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are several things which do not load automatically since they are not associated to a particular hardware or kernel call (IIRC some pptp, iptables stuff, some special filesystems (aufs, squashfs?), of course things like zram if compiled as a module etc).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roravun
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Sep 2012
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mv,

I thought iptables related modules are loaded by /sbin/iptables itself, upon issuing particular command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ottre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've noticed that when you insert a CD the kernel can't tell if it's a read-only CD-R (and should load sr_mod) or a read-write CD-RW (and should load sr_mod + sg).

Most other hardware-related modules are loaded for you automatically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 4217

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

roravun wrote:
I thought iptables related modules are loaded by /sbin/iptables itself, upon issuing particular command.

Maybe for some, but not for the majority of commands: You just get an error message from iptables.
As a related issue, cryptsetup also just gives an error if the required encryption algorithm is only an unloaded module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum