ucarp or keepalived
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Vieri
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 8:35 pm    Post subject: ucarp or keepalived Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm new to both ucarp and keepalived and am unsure which is the most "supported". I see that the latest ucarp release was in 2010 while the continued development of keepalived seems to be more active.
In any case, all I'm looking for is a simple way to move a floating IP address alias within 3 LAN servers. I think keepalived supports specifying custom scripts to perform "health checks". Can ucarp do the same? How does ucarp determine if a node has failed? Does it do more then an ICMP check?

Before digging into each software configuration files, does anyone have a quick comparison between the two solutions?
Any other suggestions (except Heartbeat because I think it does too much for what I actually need)?

Thanks,

Vieri
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not able to properly compare the two solutions because I don't know enough about keepalived. However, I can comment on ucarp as it is something I use in production. I encountered ucarp when the need arose to migrate two firewalls running in an active/backup configuration from FreeBSD to Linux. I chose ucarp for two reasons. Firstly, its implementation is straightforward. Secondly, it is the closest approximation of CARP - as implemented in BSD. The protocol itself is similar to Cisco's VRRP protocol. It works by sending out periodic advertisement messages via multicast.

Setting up ucarp is quite easy. To employ ucarp usefully, it should be spawned with parameters that describe:
  • The VHID (a unique integer for the virtual server)
  • The real IP address of the interface to which ucarp must bind
  • The (shared) virtual IP address
  • A pre-shared key (password)