Help newb MySQL user
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
brent_weaver
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:40 pm    Post subject: Help newb MySQL user Reply with quote

Hey there! I am totally new to MySQL and am looking to store file sizes in the database. So like I would have a file /db/live/CACHE.DAT and I track it's growth and would like to store this in a database. There will be multiple servers I will be storing in this mysql db. I am a TOTAL newbie at and have no idea where to start. This really a design question on the most efficient way to store this data.

Any advice is welcome. Thanks!
lxg
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why do you need a relational database for this? If you just want to create a list of entries, create a cronjob which runs stat -c%s /db/live/CACHE.DAT >> filesize.log on a regular basis.

If you really want to use MySQL, you'll need a client application or script which retrieves the file size, connects to the DB and inserts a new file size entry. This can be done in almost any programming language … Bash, PHP, Python, Java, C – you name it.

Could you elaborate a bit on your use case, especially what you want to do with the sizes list later?
brent_weaver
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lxg - Thank you for your valuable time!

Basically I want to use MySQL so we can query the db for date ranges to see the growth pattern. I am currently storing this data is a flat text file but I would like to make it more robust in functionality.

Hope this is helpful!
lxg
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see.