Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bind setup with DHCP on Hub
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
paulj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 338
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:09 pm    Post subject: Bind setup with DHCP on Hub Reply with quote

Happy Christmas!

I have a question about bind/named configuration on my LAN:

Network Configuration:
Code:

                                          \|/
                                           |
+---------+        +--------+         +--------+
|         |        |        |         |        |
| Main PC |--------| Switch |---------| BT Hub |--------> BT Infinity
|         |        |        |         | (DHCP) |
+---------+        +--------+         +--------+
                     | | |              | | |
                   Other devices      Other PCs
                   (eg Beaglebone)    and printer

Other devices connect wirelessly through the hub.

All devices have dynamic addresses, with the exception of
the main PC and the printer. The main PC holds the local copy
of the portage tree, and also serves downloaded packages
through http-replicator.

The intermediate switch is used to increase the number of ports
available, and I use it to play with a beaglebone, or to connect my
laptop through cable.

I recently set up an IPv6 tunnel (through SIXXT), and in order to get
full IPv6 dns functionality, I set up bind on my PC as a IPv6 aware name
server, but only for the main PC - the remaining computers access
name server functions through the hub (which has the DHCP server
running on it). This means the other PCs can access each other by name:
- eg: ssh root@pc2

This also worked on my main PC until I setup bind. How do I set up a
rule so that queries for local devices defaults to the name server on
the hub (which can translate name to IPv4 address, and all other
outgoing requests go through bind running on the main PC.

Thanks!

For non UK readers: BT = British Telecom (ISP) and BT Infinity is their fibre service
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 338
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll phrase this question differently, as I don't appear to have had much success the first time around!

I want to use the DNS setup on my main PC to handle ipv6 requests, but for ipv4 requests, I want to be able to continue to use the router. Is there a way to setup the configuration on the main pc to enable this to happen?

Thanks!

PS: I have ordered a copy of the "DNS and Bind" book - I will post any information here for others when I work this out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum