Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gcc USE=fortran ... how many ebuilds needs fortran nowadays?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3821
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:40 am    Post subject: gcc USE=fortran ... how many ebuilds needs fortran nowadays? Reply with quote

I was looking at my Geode GX1 machine and while it was taking days on end to rebuild gcc, I noticed it was building gfortran...

Fortran on an embedded box?

I ended up having to set USE=-fortran and hope that it will save come compile time.

But here I wonder, how often is gfortran used? Is there a way to tell all the packages that require gcc with USE=fortran enabled? Is it enough to have the default USE=fortran?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7662
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends on your profession. It's used (to me) a surprising amount for scientific computing still. I doubt there's a single ebuild that depends on the fortran USE flag other than gcc itself. But embedded? Nothing for sure.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mostly scientific apps, compilers and supporting tools.

Code:
# grep -r fortran /usr/portage/ | grep IUSE | cut -d ':' -f 1 | grep 'ebuild$' | cut -d\/ -f 4,5 | uniq | sort

dev-lang/path64
dev-perl/PDL
sci-astronomy/wcslib
sci-libs/acml
sci-libs/amd
sci-libs/arprec
sci-libs/cfitsio
sci-libs/fftw
sci-libs/getdata
sci-libs/gpp4
sci-libs/grib_api
sci-libs/hdf
sci-libs/hdf5
sci-libs/hypre
sci-libs/lis
sci-libs/mkl
sci-libs/netcdf
sci-libs/plplot
sci-libs/qd
sci-visualization/grace
sys-cluster/mpe2
sys-cluster/mpich2
sys-cluster/mvapich2
sys-cluster/openmpi
sys-devel/gcc
sys-devel/gcc-apple
virtual/mpi


There may be deps in some eclasses, too.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3821
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only wonder because somehow USE=fortran is default somehow, and most systems really don't ever use gfortran... so why is it a default USE? I suppose it's good to have if you do need it but most people don't?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it's a remnant of the drobbins days, when everything was turned on by default.

Until recently, 'gnustep' was enabled by default.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3726

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have been disabling gccs fortran use for many years now but, as others mentioned already, its really up to your usage.
I for example have no sci-* packages installed apart from those depending on libreoffice, and those do not requiere fortran.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pardon me eccerr0r... I just cannot resist trolling :

"Real Programmers do List Processing in Fortran.
Real Programmers do String Manipulation in Fortran.
Real Programmers do Accounting (if they do it at all) in Fortran.
Real Programmers do Artificial Intelligence programs in Fortran.

If you can't do it in Fortran, do it in assembly language. If you can't do it in assembly language, it isn't worth doing.
"

1983 !... A great moment in the history of programming indeed.
Well... that was when JRG was young of course... :wink:
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7662
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL. True (the crack about my age, I mean.)

My father-in-law is a scientist: a mathematician and theoretical ecologist. I help him from time to time with his Fortran code but I haven't written it for my own benefit in over 30 years. :wink:

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LiamOS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 56
Location: Kerry/Dublin, Ireland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm studying physics at the moment and Fortran is occasionally used, particularly in weather simulations for some reason. It doesn't concern me too much, and I set USE="-fortran" when feasible.

The first time I ever saw Fortran code I actually thought it was some kind of joke. :oops:
_________________
CFLAGS=" -O999999"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LiamOS wrote:
The first time I ever saw Fortran code I actually thought it was some kind of joke. :oops:
----------
CFLAGS=" -O999999"

F(C)FLAGS=${CFLAGS}
This is... *not* a joke ! :D
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3821
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I hope the default is changed. While I'm not saying that Fortran's value as a language is diminished by this, it's installing something that most people would not use.

I have the same comment about the LUA interpreter that sometimes gets installed as well as TCL but there are some programs that use them once in a while then go away...

Hmm...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7662
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I agree with you. I had fortran off for ages until I had to work with my father-in-law. You probably know this but all you have to do is
Code:
USE="-fortran" emerge -uDNvp --with-bdeps=y world
to see if you would be affected. If only the compilers are shown to rebuild, then you're safe.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1640

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Last time I tried it, turning off fortran did not decrease the compile time in any noticeable way, so I just leave it on.
_________________
“And even in authoritarian countries, information networks are helping people discover new facts and making governments more accountable.”– Hillary Clinton, Jan. 21, 2010
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3821
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I don't think the total build time would be that much lower, but it would be slightly lower and use slightly less disk space...

Not that much space but if you have a < 2GB disk, every MB counts...

-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1481482 Dec 7 14:31 libgfortran.a
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 781368 Dec 7 14:30 libgfortran.so.3.0.0*
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum