Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] HD4850 + Mesa3D do not works
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:50 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] HD4850 + Mesa3D do not works Reply with quote

I'm using Gentoo(kernel 3.6.5). Before it i was using Debian Sid.
3D acceleration don't work for me(neither in Debian, neither in Gentoo). 2D works fine.
So, i tried to manage something:
At driconf Image Quality section not so much settings: http://i.imgur.com/jJGd0.png. I saw that there should be S3TC and more 3D settings.
xorg.conf: http://pastebin.com/LNr8KLH6 (it is a hybrid for now, i don't think that there is a problem with it)
3D apps such wine games do not work(but works fine with fglrx). And for example linux Cogs(from linux steam) works too slow.
And here is the glxinfo output: http://pastebin.com/gQfvkMF4
I'm a bit confused about second section of glxinfo as it says Slow everywhere.
Hope to see help here. Thank you.


Last edited by BiFkun on Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2278
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your driver is functioning as expected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Your driver is functioning as expected.

Hmmm, why is it as expected? Or you saying that there is no 3D acceleration in mesa gallium drivers for my videocard?
Why driconf haven't some settings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4915

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try without xorg.conf, the foss driver doesn't like it much.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
try without xorg.conf, the foss driver doesn't like it much.

Same results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4915

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what is the fps you get when you run glxgears?

please paste your dmesg and kernel config
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FFS, glxgears is not a benchmark!

[quote=BiFkun]Hmmm, why is it as expected?[/quote]
It simply is. The driver is set up correctly. If stuff doesn't work, you'll need to provide more info than "it doesn't work". What exactly happens? There must be some sort of output that says what's going on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4915

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
FFS, glxgears is not a benchmark!

[quote=BiFkun]Hmmm, why is it as expected?

It simply is. The driver is set up correctly. If stuff doesn't work, you'll need to provide more info than "it doesn't work". What exactly happens? There must be some sort of output that says what's going on.[/quote]

that is correct but according to the fps rate it is possible to see if he is using somehow sw rendering.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
that is correct but according to the fps rate it is possible to see if he is using somehow sw rendering.

No it's not. It'll show 60fps, because vsync is on by default. We already know hw rendering is active from the glxinfo output.

There's one possibility why wine wouldn't work on a correctly set up driver - a 64bit install missing 32bit mesa. But that's unlikely, because wine depends on emul-linux-x86-opengl, so 32bit mesa should be there. This gives me an idea though:

@BiFkun, post the output of "eselect opengl list" and "eselect mesa list"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4915

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
that is correct but according to the fps rate it is possible to see if he is using somehow sw rendering.

No it's not. It'll show 60fps, because vsync is on by default. We already know hw rendering is active from the glxinfo output.

There's one possibility why wine wouldn't work on a correctly set up driver - a 64bit install missing 32bit mesa. But that's unlikely, because wine depends on emul-linux-x86-opengl, so 32bit mesa should be there. This gives me an idea though:

@BiFkun, post the output of "eselect opengl list" and "eselect mesa list"


on my system, it shows significant lower fps when it is set to sw.
but I'm not going to argue with you.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
Gusar wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
that is correct but according to the fps rate it is possible to see if he is using somehow sw rendering.

No it's not. It'll show 60fps, because vsync is on by default. We already know hw rendering is active from the glxinfo output.

There's one possibility why wine wouldn't work on a correctly set up driver - a 64bit install missing 32bit mesa. But that's unlikely, because wine depends on emul-linux-x86-opengl, so 32bit mesa should be there. This gives me an idea though:

@BiFkun, post the output of "eselect opengl list" and "eselect mesa list"


on my system, it shows significant lower fps when it is set to sw.
but I'm not going to argue with you.

Thanks for replies. Here is requested outputs.
Quote:
bif-kun@Gentoo Linux ~ $ glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
302 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.207 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.992 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.994 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.994 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.994 FPS

dmesg: http://pastebin.com/0DUFPi9B
Actually second half of it is an NCQ problem with my second WD drive. I don't have much time now to rebuild kernel with this blacklisted NCQ.
Quote:
bif-kun@Gentoo Linux ~ $ eselect opengl list
Available OpenGL implementations:
[1] xorg-x11 *

Quote:
bif-kun@Gentoo Linux ~ $ eselect mesa list
64bit i915 (Intel 915, 945)
64bit i965 (Intel 965, G/Q3x, G/Q4x)
64bit r300 (Radeon R300-R500)
[1] gallium *
64bit r600 (Radeon R600-R700, Evergreen, Northern Islands)
[1] gallium *
64bit sw (Software renderer)
[1] classic
[2] gallium *
32bit i915 (Intel 915, 945)
[1] classic
[2] gallium *
32bit i965 (Intel 965, G/Q3x, G/Q4x)
[1] classic *
32bit r300 (Radeon R300-R500)
[1] gallium *
32bit r600 (Radeon R600-R700, Evergreen, Northern Islands)
[1] gallium *
32bit sw (Software renderer)
[1] classic
[2] gallium *
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems everyone is a bit confused of this problem.
Maybe i should write a bugreport to developers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2642
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like I said in an earlier post, you need to provide more info about what's wrong with those games. "It doesn't work" is not a useful bug report, we don't have crystal balls. The driver is set up correctly, the problem must be elsewhere. But we can't know what's wrong, unless you provide some output from the non-working stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
Like I said in an earlier post, you need to provide more info about what's wrong with those games. "It doesn't work" is not a useful bug report, we don't have crystal balls. The driver is set up correctly, the problem must be elsewhere. But we can't know what's wrong, unless you provide some output from the non-working stuff.

I understand what you mean, but i don't know what output would be useful.
In previous posts was requested some outputs and i posted them.
I know that this problem is not OS related, because, as i said at first post, same problem was in Debian before.
Maybe some suggestions what outputs to post?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Up. I'm still stuck.
I'm trying to find any clues why driconf haven't much settings.

Maybe someone can help with useful output? Some commands/programs/env.vars/etc.
Also tried to install HIBs Dungeon Defenders to test 3D output and got this unresolved problem:
http://forums.trendyent.com/showthread.php?88074-Linux-Version-FAQ&p=747312&viewfull=1#post747312
Quote:
Try using other graphics hardware.

:(
I don't think that the actual problem is in my hardware, but...

I forgot to mension here...
Quote:
USE="mmx sse sse2 sse3 X -gnome -gtk kde qt4 alsa pulseaudio hal kdeenablefinal ffmpeg oscar nsplugin"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange is going on. Installed Team Fortress 2 from Linux Steam and it is works!
But it have horrible fps rate...
Stupid reason, but maybe i don't have 32bit mesa?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you have this?

media-libs/libtxc_dxtn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

_______0 wrote:
do you have this?

media-libs/libtxc_dxtn

Yup.
Seems it is not problem with S3TC itself, cause, as i said, TF2 works and haven't any complaints about driver, just have horrible fps. Same with Cogs.
It is problem with something else... And now i really don't have any clues what it could be.
Also another side of a problem.
KDEs Kubrick don't have any graphics, but mouse controls work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unbeliveable, but i finally got some results.

I installed FireBurn Overlay without llvm(this problem, patch don't solve it, python2 installed).
And results are really interesting.
TF2 now have true FPS, but with artefacts.
GTA SA and MTA SA works as well, as with fglrx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiFkun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mark this thread as solved.
All other in-game artefacts and problems, i think, driver-related.

But driconf still haven't any settings.

What solved this problem: Installing FireBurn's Radeon 32bit Overlay(without llvm because of the compilation errors posted above).
How to turn off llvm compilation:
Simply add minus before llvm flag in mesa-32bit-9999.ebuild from overlay directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FireBurn
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 165
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Out of interest does the whole overlay now work for you - llvm and all?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 412
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BiFkun wrote:
What solved this problem: Installing FireBurn's Radeon 32bit Overlay(without llvm because of the compilation errors posted above).
How to turn off llvm compilation:
Simply add minus before llvm flag in mesa-32bit-9999.ebuild from overlay directory.

I can confirm that from the FireBurn overlay you can now build mesa-32bit-9999 with the llvm USE flag enabled, without this issue anymore.

Good Luck..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum