Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DHCP Configured as a router not a host
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 778
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:00 am    Post subject: DHCP Configured as a router not a host Reply with quote

Hello,

I recently noticed this message when dhcp starts. Network works, though, so I'm not too concerned. But I'd like to know what causes this and if I can get rid of it. It'd also be interesting to know what it actually does (being configured as a router instead of a host), if anyone has the time to explain it.

Thanks.
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 9049

PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post the exact message, as well as some context around it. Also, what DHCP client are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 778
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using dhcpcd
Code:

 * Bringing up interface eth0
 *   dhcpcd ...
 *     Running dhcpcd ...
dhcpcd[3084]: version 5.6.2 starting
dhcpcd[3084]: all: configured as a router, not a host
dhcpcd[3084]: eth0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[3084]: eth0: carrier acquired
dhcpcd[3084]: eth0: rebinding lease of IP
dhcpcd[3084]: eth0: acknowledged  IP from other IP
dhcpcd[3084]: eth0: checking for IP
dhcpcd[3084]: eth0: leased IP for 604800 seconds
 *     received address IP

Where IP are IP addresses. They're local so I could've disclosed them, probably. I'm not sure of it though, that's why I didn't.
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RosenSama
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you figure this out? I'm seeing it too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jannis
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Germany / Bavaria / Aschaffenburg

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here, any news or explanation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6452
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhcpcd-5.6 features IPv6 support for sending an RS and processing an RA.
By default it does this to process RDNSS and DNSSL options in the RA and leaving any address or routing config to the kernel as before.

The message you are seeing is because, as far as IPv6 is concerned, your system has returned a non zero value for /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/all/forwarding
Thinking about it, the test itself could be bogus because it assumes that proc entry exists.
To all having this message, could you post the output of this please?

Code:

cat /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/all/forwarding
echo $?

_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Ask for dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt System Tray Network tool) to be added to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jannis
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Germany / Bavaria / Aschaffenburg

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I'm concerned you'll have to wait until next week, this is when I'll have access to the box again. All I can say that I have IPv6 not even supported in the kernel so I assume that proc entry should not exist on that box
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 2713
Location: Hamburg/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have IPv6 in my kernel :
Code:
tfoerste@n22 ~ $ cat /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/all/forwarding
cat: /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/all/forwarding: No such file or directory
tfoerste@n22 ~ $ echo $?
1
and was wondering about that message too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6452
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is something I haven't considered to be truthful.
I'll put out a better error in future versions.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Ask for dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt System Tray Network tool) to be added to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 2713
Location: Hamburg/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
That is something I haven't considered to be truthful.
Well even if I run into more and more troubles during the the test phase of emerge b/c packages expect ipv6 I don't see a value for me of compiling in a technique into the kernel for which I don't have a use case here at home within near future. (And in addition my firewall script contains 325 lines currently, I fear a reasonable amount of them I'd have to clone for ipv6 too)
UberLord wrote:
I'll put out a better error in future versions.
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leonixyz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Sep 2012
Posts: 76
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, i (could) have the same problem, but in addiction can't connect to wireless network...
I'm very novice to Gentoo, and to Linux too, thus please excuse my ignorance.
When I "startx" and open the "wicd-client", I get some errors about the d-bus first, and then about the wicd daemon. After I restart the wicd daemon, my wicd-client works good displaying the wireless networks around me.
I try then to connect to my network (wicd settings encryption and passphrase are ok): while attempting to connect, by reading the messages on the bottom of the wicd GUI, it seems working... but at the end I'm not connected, and the message displayed is "Done connecting", and not "Connected to Vodafone-leonixyz 192.168.1.125", like happens on this other distro.
Before changing dhcpcd.conf, I had a little problem during boot, my dhcpcd was waiting for something and I couldn't log in until dhcpcd timed out. I solved this by adding the last line in dhcpcd.conf.

Code:
cat /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/all/forwarding

no "ipv6" folder in /proc/sys/net/

Code:
echo $?

output is "130"


Here are some (hopefully) useful info:

here is /var/log/wicd/wicd.log
http://paste.ubuntu.com/1415630/

here is the tail of /var/log/syslog
http://paste.ubuntu.com/1415635/

here is a cut of /usr/src/linux/.config
http://paste.ubuntu.com/1415638/

here is /etc/dhcpcd.conf
http://paste.ubuntu.com/1415643/

and finally "emerge --info"
http://paste.ubuntu.com/1415644/

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6452
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Start a new thread about that network connectivity issue please - it has nothing todo with dhcpcd, it's just co-incidence you have the same error.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Ask for dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt System Tray Network tool) to be added to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6452
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To everyone with the dhcpcd message "all: configured as a router, not a host" please try the patch at this URL:
http://roy.marples.name/cgi-bin/gitweb.cgi?p=dhcpcd.git;a=patch;h=abfadc85c99ca41a7fb0dfda52f1aa79a22dab8c
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Ask for dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt System Tray Network tool) to be added to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 2713
Location: Hamburg/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
To everyone with the dhcpcd message "all: configured as a router, not a host" please try the patch at this URL:
http://roy.marples.name/cgi-bin/gitweb.cgi?p=dhcpcd.git;a=patch;h=abfadc85c99ca41a7fb0dfda52f1aa79a22dab8c
Code:
INIT: Entering runlevel: 3
 * Bringing up interface eth0
 *   dhcp ...
 *     Running dhcpcd ...
dhcpcd[1053]: version 5.6.2 starting
dhcpcd[1053]: ipv6_open: Address family not supported by protocol
dhcpcd[1053]: eth0: rebinding lease of 192.168.0.22
dhcpcd[1053]: eth0: acknowledged 192.168.0.22 from 192.168.0.254
dhcpcd[1053]: eth0: checking for 192.168.0.22
dhcpcd[1053]: eth0: leased 192.168.0.22 for infinity
dhcpcd[1053]: forked to background, child pid 1080
 [ ok ]
 *     received address 192.168.0.22/16
 [ ok ]
BTW the ebuild seems to ignore epatch_user(), or ? :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6452
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect!

As ipv6 cannot (currently) be compiled out of dhcpcd you can add noipv6rs to /etc/dhcpcd.conf to stop it trying for ipv6 support.
You could have done that anyway, but I wanted a better error to be reported before me telling ;)

Quote:
BTW the ebuild seems to ignore epatch_user(), or ?


I don't use Gentoo, so can't comment on that, sorry.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Ask for dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt System Tray Network tool) to be added to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7835
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's up to the ebuild author to call epatch_user; some do, some don't.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 2713
Location: Hamburg/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
It's up to the ebuild author to call epatch_user; some do, some don't.

- John
Ah - interesting. I thought that EAPI=4 would automatically add that feature to an ebuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum