Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Radeon Power Saving (on startup as well)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
olek
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Oct 2011
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:55 am    Post subject: Radeon Power Saving (on startup as well) Reply with quote

Hi!
Made another short tutorial, to have some nice power saving set automatically on bootup for radeon.
Feedback appreciated :)
http://oleeekchoff.blogspot.com/2012/01/radeon-power-saving-on-startup-as-well.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1085

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use app-laptop/laptop-mode-tools for the same purpose. If my laptop is on ac power it uses "dynpm", if it is on batteries then it switches to "profile". You can adjust what profile to use.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 297
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keenblade wrote:
I use app-laptop/laptop-mode-tools for the same purpose. If my laptop is on ac power it uses "dynpm", if it is on batteries then it switches to "profile". You can adjust what profile to use.


Hello, I just migrate from fglrx to radeon. Now I am trying to use laptop-mode-tools to control it. I wrote a script file and move them in the directory "batt-start, batt-stop, lm-ac-start, lm-ac-stop"
but laptop_mode can't run the file on account of permission issue. Could you tell me how to fix it please? Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
olek
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Oct 2011
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have these scripts the permission to be executed?
You can do this with
Code:
chmod +x YOURSCRIPT

.
_________________
https://cosmofox.net/gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 297
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="olek"]Have these scripts the permission to be executed?
You can do this with
Code:
chmod +x YOURSCRIPT

.[/quote

It's root permission. but no x. maybe that. I will try
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 297
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes. you are right. problem solved Thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum