Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel panic on boot - Im missing something
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
creativetux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 2:57 pm    Post subject: Kernel panic on boot - Im missing something Reply with quote

Hey!

I'm coming back to Gentoo from Ubuntu. I'm putting a Gentoo install on slightly older hardware and I'm getting this error on bootup

VFS: Cannot open root device "sda3" or unknown-block(8,3): error -6

Please append a correct root= boot option; here are the available partitions

0b00 some umbers sr0 driver: sr
0800 some numbers sda driver: sd

From googling and searching forums, I've come to the conclusion this is because it doesn't understand the filesystem?

I've got sda3 as EXT3 and sda1 and EXT2 and sda2 in between is my swap basically as per the install guide.

My .config is here: http://pastebin.com/U5qfdQti

lspci:
Code:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE/PE DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE/PE Host-to-AGP Bridge (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 82)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL (ICH4/ICH4-L) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DB (ICH4) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV200 QW [Radeon 7500]
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
02:05.0 RAID bus controller: HighPoint Technologies, Inc. HPT374 (rev 07)
02:05.1 RAID bus controller: HighPoint Technologies, Inc. HPT374 (rev 07)
02:06.0 USB controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 50)
02:06.1 USB controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 50)
02:06.2 USB controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 51)
02:07.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB23 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)



Grub section is:
Code:
title Gentoo Linux 3.5.7
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-3.5.7-gentoo root=/dev/sda3


Obviously I'm missing something, used to be real good at this, but must of got lazy in Ubuntu land ;)

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvaterlaus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 146
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in your kernel config, you have enabled one pata and one sata controller. are these the correct ones? suspiciously, your lspci output shows somewhat of an ide controller. please check on [1], if you have the appropriate controller enabled. you must provide your lspci -n output on this site.
if you still have troubles with your kernel, check out pappy's kernel seeds [2].



[1]http://kmuto.jp/debian/hcl/
[2]http://kernel-seeds.org/working.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creativetux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Yeah there is an ICH4 (ATA_PIIX) something which I have the CD rom connected to and the HPT (PATA_HPT37X) controller which I have the HDD connected it. The motherboard is an Abit IT7 Max 2. A great board from years gone by by.

I've checked your links and those modules are loaded, I'm thinking its more file system detection rather than devices because its showing the device just not accepting the partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

creativetux,

Try adding rootfstype=ext3 to your grub kernel line
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creativetux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope adding rootfstype resulted in exactly the same error message
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6420
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there only one drive in or attached, including usb and/or flash?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creativetux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
is there only one drive in or attached, including usb and/or flash?


Yep, the mobo doesn't support USB booting, so only got CD drive which is empty and the HDD at sda. I'm convinced its detecting the drive, just not able to see the partition despite having all the ext2 and 3 enabled in the kernel config. :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 500

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as far as I remember, if kernel modules missing it should be (0,0).
the most likely reason of non-zero first digit (eight) is kernel can't access specified filesystem.
unfortunately I can't remember where I read these error codes...

in my case I have had (0,0) - kernel module for JMicron sata driver was missing.
_________________
Intel Core i3-2120 / 4Gb RAM / 250Gb HDD / NVidia GeForce-550Ti
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6420
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

your config looks right. boot cd, ssh, what ever, and fsck all partitions. fdisk -l , any extra or missing partitions? are the partitions and file systems newly made from a current livecd?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creativetux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

creaker wrote:
as far as I remember, if kernel modules missing it should be (0,0).
the most likely reason of non-zero first digit (eight) is kernel can't access specified filesystem.
unfortunately I can't remember where I read these error codes...

in my case I have had (0,0) - kernel module for JMicron sata driver was missing.


Yeah Im just re-partitioning now incase I messed up in fdisk without noticing. :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creativetux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
your config looks right. boot cd, ssh, what ever, and fsck all partitions. fdisk -l , any extra or missing partitions? are the partitions and file systems newly made from a current livecd?


Yeah I used Gentoo minimal, and created them all with fdisk /dev/sda
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6420
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rather than fdisk -l, run parted -l which provides more information.
Your symptoms do suggest root is not on sda3 or sda3 file system can't be read.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 4141

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your setup fail at first step of NeddySeagoon safety list of option to boot :)
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7186510.html#7186510
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creativetux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Little update,

It seems I might have some hardware issue. Ubuntu Server installs and boots no problem, but then after a while crashes. And I also tried Mint 14 which installs and then does exactly the same as Gentoo, cannot find the root filesystem.

Thanks for all your help people, looks like I'm going shopping for some parts :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum