Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved]how to make multiple display with radeon driver
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pd1986
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:58 pm    Post subject: [solved]how to make multiple display with radeon driver Reply with quote

Hello, I just migrate from fglrx to radeon. Now I am trying to show two stretched display with my laptop and my TV via hdmi.

I just consulted the guide here. http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/X.Org/Dual_Monitors
But I still have some questions.

The following configuration context is from the guide that I mentioned. My question is:

In the section "Monitor", do I need to replace Identifier name by the right name of my screen and my TV? if yes, where I could find the exact name of my laptop screen and my TV.
The same question baffles me too about identifier for the card in the section "device" and for the "screen" in the section "screen"

Thanks a lot in advanced.


Code:
Section "Monitor"
  Identifier     "Monitor0"
  Option         "Primary"    "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
  Identifier     "Monitor1"
  Option         "RightOf" "Monitor0"
  Option         "Primary"    "False"
EndSection

Section "Device"
  Identifier     "Card"
  Driver         "nouveau"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
  Identifier          "Screen"
  Device              "Card"
  Monitor             "Monitor0"
  DefaultDepth       24
  SubSection "Display"
    Modes           "1280x1024"
    Virtual          2560 1024
  EndSubSection
EndSection


Last edited by pd1986 on Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2643
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That wiki page is a mess. Really. The config you quoted is completely wrong, it can't work. What you need is something like this:
Code:
Section "Monitor"
  Identifier "LVDS1"
  Option     "Primary" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
  Identifier "HDMI1"
  Option     "RightOf" "LVDS1"
EndSection


This assumes that the laptop display is LVDS1 and the tv is HDMI1. Also, that the laptop display is primary and the tv screen will be to the right of it. To figure out what names the laptop and tv have, emerge x11-apps/xrandr and run it, you'll get output similar to this:
Code:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 600, maximum 32767 x 32767
LVDS1 connected 1024x600+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 195mm x 113mm
   1024x600       60.0*+
   800x600        60.3     56.2 
   640x480        59.9 
VGA1 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
   1360x768       60.0 +
   1280x720       60.0 
   1024x768       60.0 
   800x600        60.3 
   640x480        60.0     59.9 
   720x400        70.1 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
That wiki page is a mess. Really. The config you quoted is completely wrong, it can't work. What you need is something like this:
Code:
Section "Monitor"
  Identifier "LVDS1"
  Option     "Primary" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
  Identifier "HDMI1"
  Option     "RightOf" "LVDS1"
EndSection


This assumes that the laptop display is LVDS1 and the tv is HDMI1. Also, that the laptop display is primary and the tv screen will be to the right of it. To figure out what names the laptop and tv have, emerge x11-apps/xrandr and run it, you'll get output similar to this:
Code:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 600, maximum 32767 x 32767
LVDS1 connected 1024x600+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 195mm x 113mm
   1024x600       60.0*+
   800x600        60.3     56.2 
   640x480        59.9 
VGA1 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
   1360x768       60.0 +
   1280x720       60.0 
   1024x768       60.0 
   800x600        60.3 
   640x480        60.0     59.9 
   720x400        70.1 


Is LVDS1 the only one possible name for the laptop or maybe the name of identifier doesn't matter at all?

I remembered that when I use fglrx, the name of my tv doesn't like this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still can't get multi-display. But it does seperate the virtual desktop by two in workspace manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2643
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pd1986 wrote:
Is LVDS1 the only one possible name for the laptop or maybe the name of identifier doesn't matter at all?

The Identifier is the output name. xrandr will tell you the names of your outputs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4956

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

not sure what de are you using but if is kde, have you tried to see what the screen resolution applet in system settings allows you to do?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
not sure what de are you using but if is kde, have you tried to see what the screen resolution applet in system settings allows you to do?


I am using xfce4.10. By default, it can detect my TV and can display my desktop. but the laptop desktop covers the TV and they use the same screen. I would like they use two screen seperately just like under Windows and when I move my mouse to the right, it can enter to the TV desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still don't get what I want. Where is the problem?

Here is what I did.

I created the configuration file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-monitor.conf
Here is the context:

Code:
 1 Section "Monitor"
 2         Identifier      "LVDS"
 3         Option          "Primary" "true"
 4 EndSection
 5
 6 Section "Monitor"
 7         Identifier      "HDMI-0"
 8         Option          "Rightof" "LVDS"
 9 EndSection
10
11 Section "Device"
12         Identifier      "Mobility Radeon HD 4500/5100 Series"
13         Driver          "radeon"
14 EndSection
15
16 Section "Screen"
17         Identifier      "Screen0"
18         Device          "Mobility Radeon HD 4500/5100 Series"
19         Monitor         "LVDS"
20         SubSection      "Display"
21                 Modes   "1280x800"
22         #       Virtual 3200 1880
23         EndSubSection
24 EndSection
25
26 Section "Screen"
27         Identifier      "Screen1"
28         Device          "Mobility Radeon HD 4500/5100 Series"
29         Monitor         "HDMI-0"
30         SubSection      "Display"
31                 Modes   "1920x1080"
32         #       ViewPort        1280 0
33         EndSubSection
34 EndSection
35


LVDS and HDMI-0 are the names I got from xrandr, as followed

Code:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 800, maximum 8192 x 8192
LVDS connected 1280x800+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 286mm x 179mm
   1280x800       59.9*+
   1280x720       59.9 
   1152x768       59.8 
   1024x768       59.9 
   800x600        59.9 
   848x480        59.7 
   720x480        59.7 
   640x480        59.4 
VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DisplayPort-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 connected 1280x800+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 478mm x 268mm
   1280x800       74.9*+   59.9 
   1366x768       59.8 +
......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2643
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All you need are the two Monitor sections, remove the rest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
All you need are the two Monitor sections, remove the rest.


I did that too. that doesn't work.

Code:
 1 Section "Monitor"
 2         Identifier      "LVDS"
 3         Option          "Primary" "true"
 4 EndSection
 5
 6 Section "Monitor"
 7         Identifier      "HDMI-0"
 8         Option          "Rightof" "LVDS"
 9 EndSection
10
11


I am wondering if the xfce4 configuration will override the xorg configuration?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2643
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No idea if xfce interferes, it's possible.

When X is running, open a terminal and run this:
Code:
xrandr --output LVDS --auto --primary --output HDMI-0 --auto --right-of LVDS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
No idea if xfce interferes, it's possible.

When X is running, open a terminal and run this:
Code:
xrandr --output LVDS --auto --primary --output HDMI-0 --auto --right-of LVDS


returns nothing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

confirmed, XFCE overrides the configuration. because, I also installed awesome in my laptop. I ran awesome and dual monitor works fine.
Now, I am wondering what I need do to make it work in xfce
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4956

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this might help? http://askubuntu.com/questions/62681/how-do-i-setup-dual-monitors-in-xfce
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
No idea if xfce interferes, it's possible.

When X is running, open a terminal and run this:
Code:
xrandr --output LVDS --auto --primary --output HDMI-0 --auto --right-of LVDS


I am sorry, this command works too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pd1986
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
this might help? http://askubuntu.com/questions/62681/how-do-i-setup-dual-monitors-in-xfce


Thank you very much. Problem solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum