Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE: screen un-lock dialogue remanent on screen
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
acarstoiu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:19 am    Post subject: KDE: screen un-lock dialogue remanent on screen Reply with quote

Hello all.

After I unlock a KDE session, the small borderless window that collected the user's password remains on screen, on all desktops, above all other windows. This happens since KDE 4.9.0 (I'm now on 4.9.1) and only when the screen has been locked for at least 12 hours or so. Or maybe it's just the date change that triggers this behaviour.

Does anyone have the same problem :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fr3eatlast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 41
Location: Marquette, MI

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had the same problem with KDE 4.9.1, but it is only after my laptop has been locked for several hours. I didn't have the problem with 4.9.0 but I'm not sure what the exact reason for the problem is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acarstoiu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you please list everything you've installed together with KDE 4.9.1? Using genlop or anything similar.
Your statement makes me think the culprit is not KDE itself, but some supporting library, like mesa-8.1_rc1_pre20120814. My video driver is xf86-video-intel-2.20.6.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fr3eatlast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 41
Location: Marquette, MI

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I installed KDE I used the kde-meta package so I have all of the packages that are associated with that.

Code:
* dependency graph for kde-base/kde-meta-4.9.1
 `--  kde-base/kde-meta-4.9.1  ~amd64
   `--  kde-base/kate-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kate-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdeadmin-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdeadmin-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdeartwork-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdeartwork-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdebase-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdebase-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdeedu-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdeedu-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdegames-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdegames-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdegraphics-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdegraphics-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdemultimedia-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdemultimedia-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdenetwork-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdenetwork-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdeplasma-addons-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdeplasma-addons-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdetoys-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdetoys-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdeutils-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdeutils-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdeaccessibility-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdeaccessibility-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kde-l10n-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kde-l10n-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdebindings-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdebindings-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdesdk-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdesdk-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdewebdev-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdewebdev-meta-4.9.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
   `--  kde-base/kdepim-meta-4.9.1  (>=kde-base/kdepim-meta-4.4.11.1) ~amd64  [aqua=]
[ kde-base/kde-meta-4.9.1 stats: packages (19), max depth (1) ]


The version of mesa that I have installed is mesa-9_pre20120831-r1:0 and my video driver is xf86-video-intel-2.20.7. It is also probable worth noting that I also have the kde use flag enabled on a global scale.

If you are looking for any other information, let me know and I can list it here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acarstoiu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please run
Code:
genlop kdeutils mesa xf86-video-intel

and get back with the output? (assuming you have installed genlop)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fr3eatlast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 41
Location: Marquette, MI

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the output of genlop kdeutils mesa xf86-video-intel

Code:

!!! Error: no merge found for 'kdeutils'
 * media-libs/mesa

     Mon Aug 20 11:39:22 2012 >>> media-libs/mesa-8.1_rc1_pre20120814
     Sat Sep  1 23:30:40 2012 >>> media-libs/mesa-9_pre20120831
     Tue Sep  4 06:10:29 2012 >>> media-libs/mesa-9_pre20120831
     Wed Sep  5 08:42:26 2012 >>> media-libs/mesa-9_pre20120831
     Wed Sep  5 20:47:36 2012 >>> media-libs/mesa-9_pre20120831
     Thu Sep  6 00:08:14 2012 >>> media-libs/mesa-9_pre20120831-r1
     Fri Sep  7 03:07:23 2012 >>> media-libs/mesa-9_pre20120831-r1
 * x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel

     Sat Sep  1 23:32:14 2012 >>> x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel-2.20.5
     Sun Sep  2 21:32:08 2012 >>> x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel-2.20.6
     Tue Sep  4 06:56:12 2012 >>> x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel-2.20.6
     Tue Sep 11 09:10:35 2012 >>> x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel-2.20.7
     Tue Sep 11 23:31:05 2012 >>> x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel-2.20.7


Let me know if you need any other information
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acarstoiu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn, I wrote kdeutils but I meant kdelibs...
Last question, I promise :) : what is the output of
Code:
genlop kdelibs

Thank you for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fr3eatlast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 41
Location: Marquette, MI

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its no problem :)

Here is the output of genlop kdelibs
Code:
 * kde-base/kdelibs

     Mon Sep  3 06:33:13 2012 >>> kde-base/kdelibs-4.9.0
     Wed Sep  5 00:12:49 2012 >>> kde-base/kdelibs-4.9.1


If you need anything else just let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stens
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Location: France (originated from Hungary)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I have this problem as well, I guess since 4.9.0.
The 'dialog window' do disappear for me if I suspend the desktop effects (ALT+SHIFT+F12) and re-enable them (ALT+SHIFT+F12).
My uneducated guess is that this issue is in the composition engine of KDE, but I know nothing about Window managers ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acarstoiu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's good to know that there's a workaround, other than re-starting one's session :(
Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nasaiya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 May 2007
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this problem as well... doesn't happen every time but it does happen a lot. So far my workaround is to
Code:
kquitapp kwin && kstart kwin
but that's an annoying thing to do every time you unlock.
Also I have not had ANY similar issues with any other dialogs or screen artifacts whatsoever -- only the unlock dialog.

I've got kde 4.9.1 at the moment but have had this problem since some version prior I'm not sure which. I kept hoping it would stop eventually after an upgrade but it never did.

I've got mesa-8.0.4-r1 and use the nvidia binary drivers (304.51).

I'm happy to test or provide any further information if anyone has any brilliant ideas...
_________________
If it ain't broke - fix it till it is!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X-Drum
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Aug 2003
Posts: 2517
Location: ('Modica','Trieste','Ferrara') Italy

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nasaiya wrote:
I have this problem as well... doesn't happen every time but it does happen a lot. So far my workaround is to
[..]
Also I have not had ANY similar issues with any other dialogs or screen artifacts whatsoever -- only the unlock dialog.


Hi, same issue here with a 32bit gentoo using nvidia binary driver 295.71 and composite manager on.

I'm not able to reproduce this problem since it happens randomly,
btw thanks for your solution it worked like a charm.

It seems to be a known issue (at least on kde bugtracker) maybe related to the composite manager:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=306186

In another (duplicated report) someone suggested an alternative solution but i didn't tested it:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=308116#c1
_________________
"...There are two sort of lies, lies and benchmarks..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rich0
Developer
Developer


Joined: 15 Sep 2002
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like the issue is closed upstream. If you don't want to wait for 4.10, you can download a patch from there, or use this one:
http://dev.gentoo.org/~rich0/fixlock-a0aacdae.patch

Just stick that file in /etc/portage/patches/kde-base/kwin/ and emerge -1 kwin.

Boy is that portage feature handy...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum